Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Gardening or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Homebase.

Slug Barrier Tape - 4m

The Slug Barrier Tape - 4m is an adhesive copper tape designed to protect pot plants from slugs and snails.Usage: A mild electric charge is created when a mollusc comes into contact with the tape and causes the slug or snail to retreat.Method of application: Apply round the pot onto a dry surface and overlap tape by 10mm.Contents: Organic.Quantity in pack: 4m.
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
from 11 customer reviews
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Slug Barrier Tape - 4m
Review 1 for Slug Barrier Tape - 4m
Brilliant
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 August 2010.
This really works. I use it around patio pots and vegetable raised beds. Don't worry about the bright colour - it soon goes darker and blends in.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Slug Barrier Tape - 4m
Excellent Product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
15 July 2011.
My garden is plagued with slugs and I didn't want to use slug pellets to protect my plants (I have a young child) so I thought I'd try this. I must admit I was not expecting much, but it was easy to apply and since using it a couple of months ago not one of my protected pots has suffered slug attacks. I would definitely recommend.
Review 3 for Slug Barrier Tape - 4m
mostly working
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
14 July 2011.
slugs and snails have still got past the tape, but not so many and they definetly dont like it much.
my marigolds have survived this year!
hard to wrap around a circular pot though!!
too creased up
Review 4 for Slug Barrier Tape - 4m
fair
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
14 July 2011.
Limited protection. Still does not outsmart all the little blighters.
Review 5 for Slug Barrier Tape - 4m
tricky to use but good product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
I have found this product tricky to use, the tape does not go on the pots smoothly and unless you are careful the tape will break. At a distance the tape looks fine on the pots, close they tape isnt smooth (and as only as straight as you can make it stick on!) however it is better than slug eaten plants and pellets in the plants.
it isnt the cheapest product i have seen to deter slugs, however all the copper tapes i have seen are a similar price, to make it go a bit further i have halved the width of the tape.
Review 6 for Slug Barrier Tape - 4m
very disappointed
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
Bought the barrier tape to protect my herbs which are planted in a large enamel planter. Followed the instructions to the word but this hasn't stopped any snails or slugs managing to get into the planter and eat most of my plants!!!
Review 7 for Slug Barrier Tape - 4m
very good
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
06 October 2010.
Very good at keeping slugs/snails out of my raised bed till the squirrels began to rip it off!
Review 8 for Slug Barrier Tape - 4m
Pesky slugs
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
02 September 2010.
This is a little tricky to stick on when the pot already has a plant in it, but I think it's working, and it's nice not to have to use chemicals.
Review 9 for Slug Barrier Tape - 4m
It really does work
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
11 August 2010.
This copper tape really does work as a barrier to slugs and snails - they just won't cross it. Applying it to new, clean, unfilled pots should be a doddle, the only problem I had was trying to apply it to pots that were already in use - it is really tricky to get it on tidily and is pretty good at cutting your fingers when you can't quite see what you are doing.
Then you just need to make sure your pots are not close to a wall as those pesky slugs are very good at doing a Chris Bonnington and climbing the wall and stretching across to any bit of plant in reach. Maybe I should put a run of Slug Barrier tape along the wall a few inches up!
Review 10 for Slug Barrier Tape - 4m
Hmmmm..?
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
05 August 2010.
This didn't work when i used it. In fact one time i found two snails having what appeared to be 'a chat' whilst both sat on the copper tape - i wasn't impressed.
Review 11 for Slug Barrier Tape - 4m
Does the job
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
05 August 2010.
Easy, permanent and chemical free way to keep the snails etc off our pots of herbs and veges. Just stick on and forget about it :)