Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L

Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
from 24 customer reviews
22 out of 24(92%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
Review 1 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
Did what it says on the tin.
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
10 October 2014.
Think if i was to use it again would try spraying it on, as the first coat tended to pick up the sand from between the blocks. Still satisfied with the result.
Review 2 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
not as good
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
08 June 2013.
used to reseal my block drive after 5 years
used 3.5 tins back then this time I have used 8 tins
it is much thinner than it used to be
it still seals the blocks really well but if you want to seal your joint sand you will need to apply it liberally as just using a roller it does not get it right into the joints
also keep the coats even and do not stop during application because if you do and overlap part of the previously finished surface you can see an overlap once dry.
on blocks you definitely need a minimum of 2 good coats
also I have had several oil patches over the years and this really does stop it getting right into the block I just cleaned with some autoglym intensive tar remover then rinsed with warm water and oil stains are gone
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
coverage
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
12 September 2012.
I have brought 8 cans as we have quite a large area of block paving that has been down about 6 years. Took ages to scrape the moss out ot the gaps using the corner of a hoe, and found that one can (5L) covers about 25 sq. metres first coat, and 27 sq. metres 2nd coat.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
A pleasure to use.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 September 2012.
This product was so easy to use. It applied quickly & economically using a sponge roller on a long handle. It dried quickly without tackiness. The natural stone pavings I used it on now have their natural markings enhanced and look better than new. Water is standing on the surface without sinking into the stone which I hope will stop or slow down any algae growth. The stones are not slippy when wet and remain 'sure' under foot. There is no sign of deterioration after a couple of months following application. However, you do need to be careful to avoid being splashed when you pour out the product from the tin as the first few 'gluggs' are powerful until some air gets into the can. I highly recommend this product.
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
great stuff
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2012.
this stuff is great works really well..does exactly what it says on the tin.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
Wonderful
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
01 August 2012.
Very easy to apply, good coverage, nice finish.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
An excellent product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
03 December 2011.
Used this product to seal my block paving after removing and cleaning all surface build-up and weeds. It was very easy to apply and enhanced the finish of the paving as well.
I used a paint roller and paint tray to apply, which made it a very quick process. Would say it smelled for a while but was well worth it for the overall effect. An excellent product.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
Does what is says on the tin!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
17 November 2011.
We really love this product, makes slabs look like brand new. Gives a waterproof cover and sheen on the patio, makes it much easier to keep clean.
There was a store promotion for a similar brand, which was a little misleading but we bought at the price it should have been and not at the promotion price, but we were still happy with the product despite not having it a reduced price.
Thank you.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Anonymous ,
Selby
Graham
Posted 04 September 2012
excellent product
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
very good product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
16 November 2011.
that's a very good seal, does very good job, covers big area for the price
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Karcher K2.120 1300W Pressure Washer
4.4 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
good quality buy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
16 November 2011.
Good quality, gave the paving a nice colour. Hopefully will last for a couple of years.
Review 11 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
does what is says
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 October 2011.
first coat soaks in so be prepared to get another tin as coverage low - put 3 coats on monoblock as don't want to be cleaning these again in a hurry and appears fine, shine dampened down and rainwater just runs off.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
patio
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
19 September 2011.
This product was a great succes,after having to clean a patch of oil of and then reseal it done a great job
Review 13 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
14 July 2011.
Goes on so easily, and really lasts
Review 14 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
Too Good!
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
01 June 2011.
Ok, used this on my new limestone flags, went on easy enough, dried well, looked mint. However.... a couple of days later it rained in the morning of what turned out to be a lovely day. The sealant resulted in the rain staying on my patio virtually all day. It's only 14m2, between house and lawn, a virtually flat piece of landscaping. I had to mop the water up, as I wanted my kid to play on the patio and I wanted to to get my deckchair out and read the paper. I ended up using brick acid to get the sealant off and this ruined the finish of my new patio. Beware! It REALLY does what it says on the tin.!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
Excellent, easy to use
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 April 2011.
Thompson's Block Paving Sealant, nothing better on the market, easy to use, and of course no nasty smell about it, does a perfect job, especially where oil drips are concerned, this is my third year of using, and will continue over the next few years.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
Excellent Product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 November 2010.
This sealant was easy to apply (I used a long-handled paint roller) and gave a smooth, even finish. I had cleaned the block paving first with a power washer. The coverage was better than expected and I only used one coat, as the blocks still had a thin covering of the previous sealant from 3 years before. There was no mess, the sealant dried quickly but wasn't at all sticky.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
Satisfactory
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
04 November 2010.
Have only just applied but appears OK. Time will tell
Review 18 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
Excellent Product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
09 October 2010.
As we had a large area to cover, we used a paint roller attached to a brush handle, (saves your back) and decanted the sealant into a paint tray. There has been some weed regrowth, but not as much as normal. Would recommend this product.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
Job done!
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
06 October 2010.
Cleaned Patio slabs then applied 2 coats, sealed. Rainwater now sits on top instead of soaking in.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thompsons Patio Block and Paving Seal - Clear - 5L
Location: UK
As Expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 October 2010.
Excellent Job done with Thompsons paving seal.
1 2 next>>