Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags

HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
from 81 customer reviews
76 out of 81(94%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Review 1 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
fantastic product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
23 February 2014.
Beautiful colour - very pleased with the slate with a good mixture of small and large pieces. I will be going back to get some more!
Romford store very helpful with loading of the bags into the car.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
just perfect
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
29 April 2013.
lovely product , which has been put around plants including our japanese maple the colours contrast well. We have decided to cover some more of the planted area as it has transformed the garden and looks great against the stainlees steel water feature. Staff at farlington branch very helpful
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 April 2013.
Good colour. Large pieces of slate which look very good around the rockery. Excellent product.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Pretty and practical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 March 2013.
Used this as an attractive flooring to the bunnies outside shelter. It kept their toes warm and dry when the rest of their run was covered in snow. Obviously drained well and lent a pretty hue to the shelter.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Excellent quality and price
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 January 2013.
It is hard to find good quality larger size plum slate at all, but particularly in smaller quantities/ convenient size bags. I had called many other retailers without success and was delighted to find this product. Although my local store had run out, I sourced some supplies at your store in Romford and found your staff to be extremely helpful - a colleague helped me to the car with several bags in a trolley and also loaded them into the boot for me. I also then on another occasion needed some more and found the same level of service at your branch in Norwich.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
19 November 2012.
Needed an in-fill for a rockery/waterfall - this proved very good as the colour - blended well with the other 'slate' rocks..
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Gorgeous colour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
03 October 2012.
Good quality,
The colour would be more obvious after washes,
Bought 5 bags in total to fill up around patio.
Very satisfied
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
As expected
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
03 October 2012.
Convenient, shame they don't do the finer grade any more. The Maxi is a bit large for dressing plant pots really.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Good value
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
07 September 2012.
A bag does not cover a large area, so you probably need to buy several bags for even a small patch. The colour is good and is looks very nice in a flower bed
Review 10 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Not as expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
06 September 2012.
Good quality, reasonable price, but as the new chips were much larger than the ones I owned, I had to gather some of the original smaller ones to one side and dispose of the new larger ones under the shrubs where they were hdden. Then I filled the gaps with some of the original ones. Just that it made more work for us.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Excellent quality, great product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2012.
An excellent product, great quality and very reasonably priced, I have bought 9 bags!! Works out alot cheaper than a huge bag!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
does what it says on the bag
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2012.
Nice plum coloured slate chippings - looking a treat on a large bed in the garden awaiting new vegetable planters to go on top.
Review 13 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
lots of slate
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2012.
just what was needed for the job.
Review 14 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Plumb Slate
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
12 August 2012.
Excellent product and all uniform sizes .A little expensive for the amount but overall very good looking slates for the small job.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Plum Slate!!!
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
01 August 2012.
Bags do not go nearly as far as you would expect (or as i expected) but apart from that. Look really good and sophisticated
Review 16 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Good stuff
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
25 July 2012.
The colour as depicted in the photo is a bit wrong. they do look like this when wet but when dry they are a spotty grey, which is not unpleasant. and i am perfectly satisfied.
The slates are of a nice size and not too much dust and broken bits and look very nice. it is a shame that Homebase do not give the weight of a Maxi Bag for comparison purposes.
I also received 6 bags for the price of 5 which was not advertised anywhere.
On the whole very satisfied
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Steve ,
melksham
question
Posted 07 June 2014
hi there. do the maxi bags have the weight printed on them? or do you mean there was no weight on the bag as well as the website?
thanks
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 July 2012.
Does the job exactly as it is designed to do.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Reasonable for the price
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
12 May 2012.
The colour is far from the "deep purple-plum" colour shown, unless the stones are wet. I have washed them over several times, but they just aren't that bright a colour - still very nice though.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
as expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
04 April 2012.
manageable bags - this was a top up
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HB Plum Slate Grade 40 Maxi Bags
Turtles like it.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
01 February 2012.
I bought a bag of this slate to put in my turtle tank. Turtles seem to like it. Nice colour as well.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>