Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Decorative stones & chippings or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Homebase Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum

Plum Slate Chippings create distinctive pathways, garden features, border decorations and container dressings with their striking purple colour tone. Also suitable for use in garden ponds (wash before use) Material: Slate Features: Fish friendly - suitable for use in garden ponds, striking purple colour tone, available to buy in store Includes: 1 Maxi Bag Plum Slate Colour: Plum Effects and finish: Angular shaped Slate chippings in varying sizes (maximum 40mm) Coverage (per pack): 1 maxi bag covers approx. 0.3 sqm at 50mm deep Ground preparation: Always ensure correct preparation of the area prior to laying decorative stones. Weed control fabric is available to buy in store. See relevant guide for details. Fitting information: First measure the area you wish to cover, choose the type of aggregate that best suits your project, then calculate the number of bags you will need using our helpful calculator. See relevant usage guide and calculator tool for details. Care instructions: To maintain the natural appearance of decorative stones occasional maintenance may be required. Remove leaves, dirt or debris using a gentle brush and rinse with clean water. Usage restrictions: Suitable for paths, container dressing, border decoration, pot topping and aquatic use. Not suitable for driveways. Landscaping products can be hazardous when lifting. Always take the necessary precautions to avoid injury to yourself and others. Also available in: Bulk Bag (106289) Part of the Decorative Stones & Chippings collection. Additional information: Natural products may be subject to colour variation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.584 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
from 89 customer reviews
84 out of 89(94%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Review 1 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Great product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
19 May 2016.
Very nice colour and easy to put down would like a size between the maxi bag and ton bag would have like to have known it was 3 for 2 when we went but checked on Internet and found out myself
Review 2 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Good colour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
19 May 2016.
Generous sized slate pieces and very little dust
Review 3 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
29 April 2016.
I liked and recommended both my neighbours also buy this slate so that the front of our houses could all look absolutely fantastic . thank you so much for such a great price great service as I had a young lad to come and help lift the slate into my car well pleased .
Review 4 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Superior quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
20 April 2016.
Really pleased with my purchase - looks really good instead of standard pebbles/stones. Need a few more bags of these slates though to finish off the area I am covering.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Value for money
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 April 2016.
As this is on a 3 for 2 offer it is great value. It has covered the area required and makes it into a lovely feature.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Excellent value
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 April 2016.
Good value especially on the 3 for 2 offer
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Beautiful slate
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
20 August 2015.
Bought this to go around the edge of our slabbed path, on the front garden. The pieces of slate were larger than I expected, which makes it easier to put them down and means they stay in place more than smaller slate.
The colour is lovely; you need to wash the slate before putting it in place. Easiest way I found to do this was filling a plant pot with the slate and running it under the outside tap.
This product is a really nice finishing touch for gardens and gives a stylish looking finish. Wouldn't hesitate to buy again.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Really good quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
14 October 2014.
I chose this product as a covering on top of weed suppressant membrane. Effective and smart, colourful appearance, making the chosen area look really good.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
fantastic product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
23 February 2014.
Beautiful colour - very pleased with the slate with a good mixture of small and large pieces. I will be going back to get some more!
Romford store very helpful with loading of the bags into the car.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
just perfect
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
29 April 2013.
lovely product , which has been put around plants including our japanese maple the colours contrast well. We have decided to cover some more of the planted area as it has transformed the garden and looks great against the stainlees steel water feature. Staff at farlington branch very helpful
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 April 2013.
Good colour. Large pieces of slate which look very good around the rockery. Excellent product.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Pretty and practical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 March 2013.
Used this as an attractive flooring to the bunnies outside shelter. It kept their toes warm and dry when the rest of their run was covered in snow. Obviously drained well and lent a pretty hue to the shelter.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Excellent quality and price
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 January 2013.
It is hard to find good quality larger size plum slate at all, but particularly in smaller quantities/ convenient size bags. I had called many other retailers without success and was delighted to find this product. Although my local store had run out, I sourced some supplies at your store in Romford and found your staff to be extremely helpful - a colleague helped me to the car with several bags in a trolley and also loaded them into the boot for me. I also then on another occasion needed some more and found the same level of service at your branch in Norwich.
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
19 November 2012.
Needed an in-fill for a rockery/waterfall - this proved very good as the colour - blended well with the other 'slate' rocks..
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Gorgeous colour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
03 October 2012.
Good quality,
The colour would be more obvious after washes,
Bought 5 bags in total to fill up around patio.
Very satisfied
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
As expected
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
03 October 2012.
Convenient, shame they don't do the finer grade any more. The Maxi is a bit large for dressing plant pots really.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Good value
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
07 September 2012.
A bag does not cover a large area, so you probably need to buy several bags for even a small patch. The colour is good and is looks very nice in a flower bed
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Not as expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
06 September 2012.
Good quality, reasonable price, but as the new chips were much larger than the ones I owned, I had to gather some of the original smaller ones to one side and dispose of the new larger ones under the shrubs where they were hdden. Then I filled the gaps with some of the original ones. Just that it made more work for us.
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
Excellent quality, great product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2012.
An excellent product, great quality and very reasonably priced, I have bought 9 bags!! Works out alot cheaper than a huge bag!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brett Slate 40mm Maxi Bag - Plum
does what it says on the bag
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2012.
Nice plum coloured slate chippings - looking a treat on a large bed in the garden awaiting new vegetable planters to go on top.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>