Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L

Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
Average Customer Rating:
3.682 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
12
from 63 customer reviews
48 out of 63(76%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
Review 1 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
Disappointed
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByBubbles .
10 April 2013.
Sadly disappointed with the quality, very thin and more like an undercoat. If painting new wood believe it would be suitable but not for old 1950's door-frames and skirting.
Review 2 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
Really does wat it says on the tin
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRembrandt .
10 April 2013.
Have tried "quick drying" gloss before & it never was. This however, was touch dry in just over an hour & had completely dried just over 2 hours after painting. Good coverage & brilliant white. Excellent job.
Review 3 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
Fast Painting
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBalti .
06 March 2013.
Excellent for fast painting. Got 2 coats on a hall, which included 6 doors and 2 radiators, easily in 1 day. Wash brushes in water. Excellent bright white. Good on radiators too. Finnish is quite acceptable but not as smooth as an oil based gloss.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
poor quality
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bysam .
06 March 2013.
paint may be quick drying, but the finish is very poor. will not be purchasing again.
Review 5 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
Rubbish
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByScunnered .
06 March 2013.
Too expensive for the quality.
Okay for skirtings but dries too quick when painting doors or panels causing edges.
Also not hardwearing, scrapes off with the slightest touch.
Review 6 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
good
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous .
26 February 2013.
Easy to use and clean up after as you can wash brushes with water and don't have to use white spirit.
Slightly thinner than oil based gloss but still good
Review 7 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
not impressed
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byme .
20 January 2013.
dries very quickly and the smell wasn't too bad but i had to apply a few coats as it wasn't covering very well kind of like it was sepatating as if i was painting on top of oil...
i wouldn't buy again
Review 8 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
Excellent Qulity
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymgb .
09 January 2013.
This is extremley good product I picked it up by accident but its beter than the branded paints lovely gloss quick drying covers onto new wood what more could you ask for 10/10 I will not use anything else now
Review 9 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybusy lady .
09 January 2013.
paint covered well and caused very little odour
Review 10 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
Pleasantly suprised
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysparky .
09 January 2013.
This product does it all and is almost ouderless.I highly endorse,
Review 11 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
A new way to paint internal woodwork
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByStellie .
09 January 2013.
This product was recommended to me by a friend. The paint is a water soluble gloss paint, which means it dries really quickly and brushes rinse out in water. The finished paintwork looks really good with an almost eggshell high satin finish rather than gloss. Coverage is excellent. This is a breakthrough in painting skirting and door frames.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
good quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytambo .
09 January 2013.
good coverage ,but use a good semi-expensive range of brushes
Review 13 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
A Superb Paint - IT STAYS WHITE!!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysquarepeg .
16 November 2012.
I am 60 years old and have been painting for at least 40 of these! My house has 10 panelled doors which are white. Oil based paints are now naff; I have tried them all and by the time I get half way round the first door is YELLOW. Found this product by internet recommendation - and it is BRILLIANT... You have got to forget all the old rules about putting on thin coats - get a good Harris type brush - load the paint on thick and apply in bold strokes - seriously whack it on!!
You might need a second touch up sometimes and the finish is not as silky looking as conventional gloss but it is WHITE and it stays WHITE. Ignore all the negative comment about this paint - get it and try it......
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
Like putting on Glue
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByMaryF .
07 November 2012.
Contacted store and Manf to see if batch was faulty made such a messs like using glue had to throw in bin
Review 15 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
Dose what it says on the tin
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByOdd job rick .
07 November 2012.
Eases on and no smell and brushes wash out in water and looks great
Review 16 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
NOT V GOOD
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByDIRTYLILTRUCKA .
05 September 2012.
Sadly the old saying is true.... "you get what you pay for" and i did. Not the best by a long shot. left it to dry for 2 days but it still peeled off when i put decorating tape on it to do the walls.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
awful
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bydiy'er .
29 July 2012.
i bought this as it was the cheapest and sounded good on the tin, big mistake, once touch dry it looked like a big blister then started peeling off it was like the a burst baloon had stuck itself to my doors! so had take it all of and start again so ended up costing me alot more than if i had just paid the extra few pounds for the brand one i was going to get! i would never recomend this 'gloss' its not even glossy!!!! very unhappy with this product!
Review 18 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
Poor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByA.L.B .
18 July 2012.
Its like painting with water it's that thin but looks thicker when applying. . It even peels off when using low tac masking tape so you have to paint the architrave or object again. Would not recommend spend the extra couple of quid on Dulux and do the job in 1-2 coats and not 3 then have to do it again because it's peeled off.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Emma ,
Oxfordshire
Gone yellow
Posted 20 July 2012
After a few months has gone yellow. Very thin coverage too even with a couple of coats.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
best ever
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjazza .
05 July 2012.
no smell of paint quick dry and easy to apply
Review 20 for Homebase Pure Brilliant White - Quick Drying Gloss Paint - 2.5L
Just as expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydancebabe .
04 July 2012.
Good coverage, nice bright white colour.
1 2 3 4 next>>