Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L

Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
from 14 customer reviews
12 out of 14(86%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
Review 1 for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
Excelent product.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
21 September 2011.
This was recommended by a neighbour and does a superb job, leaving a beautiful finish .
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
cheaper than new tarmac
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 April 2013.
I have painted by drive with thompsons on alternate years, for the last 6 years. When I moved in I thought we needed a new drive, but a few patch repairs and Thompsons drive seal have saved me a few quid.
Make sure to wet the surface before painting - otherwise it will not spread well.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
Not what I expected!
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
14 June 2012.
The reviews I read on this Drive Seal sounded positive which is why I purchased it but I wouldn't recommend it. It's very streaky and did not cover properly, the grey tarmac underneath still shows through. I also found it very difficult to apply as you have to constantly push down on the roller. It will make your arms and legs ache.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
appalling waste of time and money
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
09 May 2012.
I used 5 tins of this, some areas of my drive had 4 coats. Initially it was a bit patchy but I thought it would settle ok. Now it has tracks all over it from the vehicle tyres, just driving over it takes it off. It had 3 days to dry before being driven on so it was not a case of not having enough drying time. Given the amount of time I spent preparing the surface, the time spent actually applying it and the money spent on the product I am very very unhappy but how do you take something back when it's been applied? Total waste of time and money, don't bother.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
new drive?
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
30 November 2011.
I use drive seal once a year and it not only protects the drive but makes it look new. My drive is 33years old and still looks good.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
Great product - spreads well and looks great
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
30 November 2011.
My neighbours thought I had had a new drive laid, loooks really good and the more coats you put in the more "rubberly" and better the finish looks.
Dried quickly but needs elbow grease to fill an old drive but the end result is fantastic.
Need more paint than you initially think.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
Great coverage
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
19 November 2011.
This product revitalises an old tarmac drive.
Water-based, it is easy to clean whatever you use to apply it. I used a brush for the edges near the lawn and a "Roller on a Pole" for the main area.
Two coats is usually enough and leave for 48 hours before putting the car on it.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
excellent finish
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
17 November 2011.
Have used this a few times, great results, great finish.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
good
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 October 2011.
Excellent stuff makes drives look like new
Review 10 for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
new drive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
Just done my drive with Thompson quick drying drive seal, it looks fantastic, just like it did when new tarmac was put down. Have had plenty of comments from passers by, as to how good it looks. No doubt the estate will follow suit as my opposite neighbours did theirs a week later.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
Excellent product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
Used this product to cover our large driveway as it had a lot of oil marks etc on. Everyone commented on how lovely our new drive looked as they all thought we had had it re tarmaced. Definately recommend this to give your dull drive a much needed boost and a lot cheaper than re tarmacing.
Review 12 for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
Excellent Product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2010.
It's like having a new drive , i would recomend this to anyone. The only down side was that it did not go down to well with the roller so i had to brush it on but did not take much longer.
Review 13 for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
Excellent Quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
01 September 2010.
Have used this before and quality is excellent.
Is also easy to apply and doesn't smell.
Passers by think that we have had driveway re-tarmacced!
Review 14 for Thompsons Quick Drying Drive Seal - Black - 5L
EXCELLENT
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
12 August 2010.
Drive paint very good, easy to clean up afterwards.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.