Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Cuprinol Cuprinol Garden Shades - Black Ash - 1L

Cuprinol Garden Shades are a range of fade-resistant colours which gives wood beautiful long-lasting colour. Effects and finish: Matt Additional information: Colour: Black ash. Number of coats recommended: 2 to 3. Coverage when painted: 1L covers 8 sq m of smooth planed wood and 2 sq m of rough sawn wood. Coverage when sprayed: 1L covers up to 6-8 sq m of smooth planed wood and 4 sq m of rough sawn wood. Interior exterior usage: Suitable for exterior use Usage: For use on garden furniture and decking Drying time: Touch dry in 1 hour Time to recoat: 4 hours Protection: Gives a weatherproof protection to all exterior garden wood including garden furniture and decking
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
from 9 customer reviews
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Cuprinol Garden Shades - Black Ash - 1L
Review 1 for Cuprinol Garden Shades - Black Ash - 1L
Dose what it say on on the can!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
18 August 2015.
I think this product is great! A little went a long way, great colour, and vey quick drying.
Review 2 for Cuprinol Garden Shades - Black Ash - 1L
Very good quality.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
02 August 2015.
This is the first time I have used this product and found it very good. The dry time was very quick, went on very well, colour was true to what was on the can, and a small can goes a very long way. Excellent product will buy it again and I have!
Review 3 for Cuprinol Garden Shades - Black Ash - 1L
Good colour and coverage
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 May 2012.
Used on trellis style fencing in garden. Product covered well without causing a lot of spay and drips. Has given a really good matt colour that shows up the colours of the flowers wonderfully.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuprinol Garden Shades - Black Ash - 1L
perfect for the job
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 April 2012.
A great product - perfect
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cuprinol Garden Shades - Black Ash - 1L
Better than the rest
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
17 November 2011.
having tried many different treatments for garden furniture, I could immediately tell this one is different. Better coverage, consistent colour and has not bleached after a summer under the sun. I've now treated all my garden woodwork with the same product.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cuprinol Garden Shades - Black Ash - 1L
Excellent Product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
19 September 2011.
Easy to use product, covers well, even old discoloured wood. A second coat produces an excellent 'as new' effect. easy to clean up and final surface appears not to deteriorate in sun or rain. Will use again for sure.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuprinol Garden Shades - Black Ash - 1L
As expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2011.
I bought this woodstain to revive the external appearance of the hardwood conservatory I iherited when I bought the house. It was a good colour match and only needed one coat. I would buy it again.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuprinol Garden Shades - Black Ash - 1L
Easy to apply and good coverage
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
22 July 2011.
I thought I'd got the wrong colour when I first opened this as it is dark grey in the tin and when first applied. However, it dries to a nice satin black and is very easy to apply. My dried out wooden gate, that had been stained black 5 years ago but had become rather tatty, was looking good as new after only one coat, the Shades product covering bare wood just as well as the old stain. Well recommended.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cuprinol Garden Shades - Black Ash - 1L
excellent !!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 September 2009.
cuprinol is obviously 1 of the best fence paints on the market, i have used the black ash n its amazin how it has transformed my dull lookin garden into an array of colour makin flowers n plants stand out better, totally recommended for a good change !!
A little pricey in this colour if you have lots of fencing to cover but worth every penny for the end result !
3 of 3 found this review helpful.