Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm

Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Average Customer Rating:
4.539 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
from 89 customer reviews
84 out of 89(94%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Review 1 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Disappointed
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
26 November 2014.
Described as brass but actually a brushed brass colour. Impossible to assemble single handed and the top was slightly dented but otherwise okay.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Attractive and bright.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
20 November 2014.
It was easy to assemble. Looks very attractive and does just what we wanted. The reading lamp is a bonus.
Review 3 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Good once I got one to work
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
10 October 2014.
I already had one of these lamps and wanted another. Bought the lamp and put it together but it would not work at all. Took it back to store and got replacement. Once built only the top light worked the lower one would only come on if I fiddled about with switch and then it went off whenever I let go of the switch. I returned to the store and got another replacement. This one worked. I wanted this lamp otherwise I would have asked for a refund. I have no complaint with service I received from shop staff who were very good and apologised for my inconvenience.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Pretty Good
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
20 August 2014.
Nice colour and attractive design. "Father" provides plenty of illumination in our room and the "child" useful for reading but the arm is not as flexible as I would have liked. The dimming feature is excellent at creating just the right ambience in a room. My only real criticism is that the lamp is not as stable as it should be, even on a flat laminate wood floor.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 March 2013.
I brought this lamp in th sale . It is really nice and solid goes in my room just right. I love have the dimmer controls on it so that I can just have the amount of light I need. Excellent value for money
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Good quality, good value
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
07 March 2013.
A lovely bright light for reading when turned up high and with the small lamp very good for close work. It is an elegant addition to any living room. However, where once we would have found it easy to assemble we have now reached the age where we need help! Fortunately our son had it up and running in under half an hour.
Review 7 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Hey Good Looking.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 March 2013.
I found this item in Homebase Sale at half the price I have seen friends pay for them. So imagine my delight when they fitted in to the spot I had visualized for it.
Very nicely finished, Brushed Brass and sturdily made. Easy to construct a very good addition to my lounge.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 March 2013.
great lights extra dimmer works well value for money.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Disappointed
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
06 March 2013.
I had to replace my original Father and Child lamp as it stopped working after I bent the reading ("Child") lamp towards me but I'd had it about 5 years so not too bothered. Changed the bulb but no joy. Bought this one and after some self assembly realised the reason the upright stems were lopsided was because one was longer than the other! This made the lamp unstable and after much fiddling around returned it to the shop for a refund. Poor quality control to produce a defective lamp like this so won't buy another. Disappointed.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: newbie ,
glasgow
Posted 03 June 2014
I know this review is over a year old but perhaps you did not fully screw in the stems in fully?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Good
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
06 March 2013.
Spread of light good.Hope I can get replacement bulbs
The lights were difficult to put together Two people had a struggle
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
OK ish
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
06 March 2013.
The lamp looks good and was sold at 40 % discount but when on it has a low buzzing sound which becomes annoying. Not really good enough is it !
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Brilliant
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 March 2013.
My daughter bought a Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp in brushed chrome. We saw one in a rented cottage in October and wanted one but assumed it would be too expensive. My daughter told us the price and we immediately went and bought one, but in brass to better match our decor.
The lamp is extremely versatile. The larger lamp and the smaller lamp have the same facility to be dimmed and operated independently. It is good to use the larger lamp, dimmed, as background light and the smaller lamp bright, focused for reading. Both lights operated together on the bright setting is enough to light a room.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
As expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 March 2013.
It's a lamp. It's a very useful lamp. It fits in with our decor and we are very pleased with it.
Review 14 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 March 2013.
like the brass effect and the fact you can dim both the main light and reading light. doesn't take up a lot of space and is not imposing in a smallish room.
Review 15 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
As expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 March 2013.
The lamp performs well and dims as described,so far has worked well and looks good.
Review 16 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
disappointing
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
I exchanged one I bought earlier as it buzzed when at low light. Unfortunately the new one is no better so presume it must be a common fault
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Love this lamp
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 November 2012.
I like everything about this lamp, it is fantastic quality, its very heavy and looks expensive.The dimmer switches mean you can set the brightness to suit your needs and when turned up there is no need for additional lighting in the room. The rich,neutral brass colour means it will match in with any colour scheme. The cable is generously long so you dont have to stand the lamp beside a socket. Overall a very good buy and a very happy customer!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Good quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 November 2012.
Nice lamb with a matt finish
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Very good for the price
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
07 November 2012.
I liked very much the spread of light from this lamp. Its colour fits in with almost any decor.
Review 20 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
as expected
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
07 November 2012.
assembly presented no real problem and the overall appearance is nice.Not as stable as we'd hoped but as it's tucked away behind a chair that doesn't give cause for concern but be aware if you have lively pets or children. The reading light is good with plenty of possible adjustment.Flies which got trapped in the upper light were difficult to remove,we had to use tweezers!! all in all pleased with it.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>