Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Floor lamps or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Homebase Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm

The Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp is an interesting addition to any room. Colour: Brass Dimensions: (H)179cm Material: Metal Features: Directional reading light with dimmer switch. Also available: Brushed Chrome (734260) Additional information: Maximum bulb wattage: 300W and 40W Material of base: Steel Diameter of base: 28cm Diameter of lamp: 28cm Bulb required: 230W Linear halogen and G9 bulb 40W (included). Length of cord: 180cm
Average Customer Rating:
4.549 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
26
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
from 102 customer reviews
96 out of 102(94%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Review 1 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
OK for lighting
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
26 May 2016.
Unfortunately as I was worried about putting this together (my husband is not able to help me) I asked for an assistant to put it together for me. It took both of us an hour and a quarter to achieve this.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
More refined than my last version.f
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
19 May 2016.
Fairly easy to assemble apart from the top lamp which had fiddly screws. All the tools needed were supplied. Instructions were clear.
Review 3 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Mayer father child lamp
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
08 March 2016.
Ordered 2 lamps for conservatory both good value however wouldn,t have arranged delivery if I, d known that it was self assembly although delivery was only cheap and was given a timeslot on day chosen which was very good as the delivery man did come within the allocated hour. Did not see anything in the online blurb to suggest it was self assembly so surprised to see the boxes would have been able to fit in the back of the car. Instructions not really clear but luckily my hubby was able to figure it out when connecting the 1st lamp and so 2nd lamp was then easy to do. Theres a dimmer switch etc which is good. Good light given out by both lights. Quite a firm lamp too.
Review 4 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Very good
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
13 January 2016.
The finished article is lovely but be aware that the putting together is not straightforward and took quite a bit of time.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Botes ,
Putney
Base
Posted 13 February 2016
Hi Laura,
Would you be able to tell me the height of the base? I am planning for the base to go under the sofa so I need to ensure is not too thick.
Thank you for your answer.
Monica
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 January 2016.
We love our lamp which lived up to expectations and is as described in the desription on your website.It was delivered swiftly which was amazing as it was so close to Xmas.BUT(and I have reported this to you in an earlier email) we had the lamp for about 4 days when the globe of the smaller light packed up.We were very disappointed.And we live in Paignton where it is very difficult to find specific items and we thought we would request from you a replacement bulb. You have our address so would it be possible to post us a new globe please?
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Just the job
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
24 October 2015.
This lamp is just what we needed and has finished of the room nicely. The dimmers are perfect to suit the occasion.
Review 7 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
very bright
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
17 September 2015.
Just want we wanted we can now see in the evening to read and write and looks really nice too. Took a while to put together but worth it
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 April 2015.
Loved the style and the over all look, the uplighter and reading light is perfect behind a sofa or chair
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Nice, useful lights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
15 March 2015.
I already had one of these and needed two more for my new living room. Easy enough to put together. Great light in the room.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Not expensive - it shows
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
09 March 2015.
Not easy to put together
Still wobbles
Even with a cheap product I would have expected the bulb to last longer than 6 days.
Next time I'll go for something more substantial
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Excellent in every respect.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 March 2015.
Everything worked perfectly in this purchase. I ordered it on-line for "click and collect", which went without a hitch. Then I had to put it together on my own, which I managed well in about half-an-hour. (An extra pair of hands would have made it a bit easier.) The instructions were very clear, and both lights worked immediately. The lamp looks great in situ, and both lights (with the dimmer switches) give great flexibility both for general light level in the room, and for reading. A success all round! And it was most reasonably priced, with a 20% discount on that particular day.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 March 2015.
Very good product and easy to assemble.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
03 March 2015.
Very good product. Fairly easy to assemble. Can provide a broad range of light levels. Would recommend.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Disappointed
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
26 November 2014.
Described as brass but actually a brushed brass colour. Impossible to assemble single handed and the top was slightly dented but otherwise okay.
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: TonyW ,
Hampshire
Posted 01 January 2016
Difficulty of assembly is obviously open to debate. I did ours in more or less 5 minutes - single handed.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Attractive and bright.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
20 November 2014.
It was easy to assemble. Looks very attractive and does just what we wanted. The reading lamp is a bonus.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Good once I got one to work
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
10 October 2014.
I already had one of these lamps and wanted another. Bought the lamp and put it together but it would not work at all. Took it back to store and got replacement. Once built only the top light worked the lower one would only come on if I fiddled about with switch and then it went off whenever I let go of the switch. I returned to the store and got another replacement. This one worked. I wanted this lamp otherwise I would have asked for a refund. I have no complaint with service I received from shop staff who were very good and apologised for my inconvenience.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Pretty Good
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
20 August 2014.
Nice colour and attractive design. "Father" provides plenty of illumination in our room and the "child" useful for reading but the arm is not as flexible as I would have liked. The dimming feature is excellent at creating just the right ambience in a room. My only real criticism is that the lamp is not as stable as it should be, even on a flat laminate wood floor.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 March 2013.
I brought this lamp in th sale . It is really nice and solid goes in my room just right. I love have the dimmer controls on it so that I can just have the amount of light I need. Excellent value for money
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Good quality, good value
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
07 March 2013.
A lovely bright light for reading when turned up high and with the small lamp very good for close work. It is an elegant addition to any living room. However, where once we would have found it easy to assemble we have now reached the age where we need help! Fortunately our son had it up and running in under half an hour.
Review 20 for Mayer Father and Child Floor Lamp - Brass - 179cm
Hey Good Looking.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 March 2013.
I found this item in Homebase Sale at half the price I have seen friends pay for them. So imagine my delight when they fitted in to the spot I had visualized for it.
Very nicely finished, Brushed Brass and sturdily made. Easy to construct a very good addition to my lounge.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>