Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L

Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
Average Customer Rating:
4.218 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(225 Reviews) 225
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (225 reviews)
5 stars
126
4 stars
62
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 star
19
from 225 customer reviews
198 out of 225(88%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
Review 1 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
Value for money
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
21 September 2011.
Needed an all purpose compost and this fitted the bill, quality and quantity just what I was looking for for topping up my tubs and and general planting of winter bedding plants.
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
Good cropping
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
17 August 2010.
Worked well as compost in potato barrels.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
Best Value
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
15 April 2013.
Although priced slightly more than the competitors, this is by far the best quality and does actually contain compost and not lots of other rubbish. The only down size is the weight of the bags, had them loaded by a member of staff but struggled to get them out of the car and had to shuffle them along the ground to get them down the garden. Will be going back for more to fill my raisesd veggie beds
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
Worse than expected
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
10 April 2013.
Course waste material of uncertain origin which had not been fully composted. Contained fungi which grew throughout the product when used in a seed germinator.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: gardener ,
Basingstoke
Posted 05 November 2014
It's general purpose compost, use a seed starting mix for seeds, pre sterilised or sterilise it yourself
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
Good compost
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 April 2013.
Good quality earthy compost ,excellent value for money easy to handle my bulbs are growing well in this medium no problems experienced.
Review 6 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
as expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 April 2013.
as expected, its only compost
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 April 2013.
My hanging baskets look fantastic
All I can say is that this product is brown gold
Review 8 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
Good Product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
08 March 2013.
A excellent product for filling window boxes and patio tubs ideal for bulbs and young plants.
easy to carry and at a reasonable price
Review 9 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
As good as the last time
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 March 2013.
Easy to handle and a good supplement to use with other Homebase products for pots and hanging baskets.
Review 10 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
Excellent Quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 March 2013.
Good quality and good value
Review 11 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
14 January 2013.
This proved a suitable topping-up mixture to cap-off 8 tons of top soil. This will prove an excellent base for my daffodill bulbs due to surface any time now.
Review 12 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
Bought to pot up some bulbs in large containers, they are starting to poke through, so they are happy with the compost. It was a large bale, and the people in Homebase were very helpful helping me get it to my car. Thank you.
Review 13 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
GOOD QUALITY
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
A FULL 120 Ltr OF COMPOST SUITABLE FOR MOST PURPOSES
Review 14 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
As expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
12 November 2012.
Good sized bag for a great price
Review 15 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
value for money
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
09 November 2012.
good multi product discount
Review 16 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
Homebase Multi Purpose Compost
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
08 November 2012.
Bought this not really looking at the lable to carefully .
The compost is very coarse and fibrous being made from wood it would appear. No good for small seed sowing, which the instructions confirms. Seems to dry out very quickly. Although I am using it I have had better quality composts. Good for soil improvement.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
good quality
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
08 November 2012.
Good quality compost at a good price
Review 18 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
very good quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
03 October 2012.
have used this compost before and have found it to be excellent quality and value for money have used competitors brand but found this to be alot better.
Review 19 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
As expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
01 August 2012.
Did the job. Good price. What else can I say?
Review 20 for Homebase Multi-Purpose Compost - 120L
My sunflowers and roses thank you
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
01 August 2012.
Since getting a new bed to grow in my sunflowers and roses have been having a whale of time and are growing like mad. They say thank you very much for your excellent quality soil.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>