Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L

Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
Average Customer Rating:
4.659 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
from 44 customer reviews
43 out of 44(98%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
Review 1 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
rubbish item
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
13 April 2013.
I put 4 coats on new timber, left it for a week and then had light shower, the stuff rans off faster then I put it on, drying time is a joke, I rang supplier and was told by tech staff, it takes at least a week to dry, no good for smooth timber, total waste of money, shop else where, would call it ducksback only if the duck was plastic
1 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: lumpie52 ,
Manchester
Wrong product for new timber
Posted 04 June 2013
In response to Brian Scotland's "Rubbish item" review, I can only state that this product is not intended for new, smooth timber. Put it on rough sawn wood such as a shed or garden fence and you'll find it easy to apply and long-lasting. The shed and fence panels in my garden are testimony to that. Maybe Brian needed something along the lines of Cuprinol Ultra Tough Decking Stain or Cuprinol Garden Furniture Restorer? (And no, I don't work for Cuprinol or any of their outlets or even in related trades, I'm just a DIY buff!)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 April 2013.
Superb,easy to apply and looks good too. Water just runs off . Totally rejuvenated our run down shed.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
as expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 November 2012.
this timbercare is great it covers in one, going to paint the other shed next year,The one we have just done looks like a new shed and so does the fence. shame the weather changed befor we could get a coat of paint on it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
Excellent qualtity
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
03 October 2012.
This is an excellent product, although it looks expensive, is is very cost effective.
5years service
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
11 September 2012.
As we had already used this colour previously we wanted the same again but as it proved to be so popular that we needed to call a couple of times before being able to purchase the product but the wait was worth it.
Review 6 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
"Excellent quality"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
25 August 2012.
I bought 60 litres when it was on special offer, tried painting the fence with a brush but it was taking too long to complete 1 panel. I bought a heavy duty paint sprayer and completed the 40 panels very quickly. The fence now looks superb in its rich Harvest Brown colour.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
Great product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
01 August 2012.
Having never painted a fence ever I researched a few products before deciding on this. The directions were easy to follow. The tin covered 8 fence panels using a brush and covered well. The was a little left over but not quite enough to coat my trellis but no worries there :) Pros? Does exactly what it should do. Easy to use. Only needs doing every 5 years. Cons? Expensive but well worth it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 8 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
OK
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
05 July 2012.
Easy to use - covers well, but does not last anywhere near like things used to do !
Review 9 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
Ducksback - great fence paint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 July 2012.
This is not the cheapest fence protection but is well worth the premium over less expensive paints. The paint goes on easily by brush and coverage is excellent on bare untreated wood. The fence that I painted last year with Ducksback still looks very fresh compared to the parts that I treated with ordinary Timbercare which already look tired and in need of touch-ups. This paint is highly recommended.
Review 10 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
Very good quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 July 2012.
Bought this on a "buy one get second half price" offer and found it to be a very good paint. I've applied one layer and then, after 2 days, a second one, just as it says on the tin. Next day it was raining heavilly but, providing the paint has already curred, you shouldn't have any problems. Overall an excellent product.
Review 11 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
Fantastic Result
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 July 2012.
I am not going to lie this was not the easiest product to apply however it has given a fantastic result and has really stood up to the last few months of heavy rain.
I would definately recommend spending the extra money for this product.
Review 12 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
Excellent Cover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
15 March 2012.
We up-graded from ordinary Cuprinol which we
have used in the past to find we got a lot better
cover and only needed one coat so i would
recommend Ducksback to everbody. Thanks for
the Brilliant service.Didgyman
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
Brill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
17 November 2011.
I bought this product as a product previously used was no longer stocked. Brilliant product, easy to apply, dried quickly and all our fences, etc now look fantastic.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
Cuprinol Ducksback
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
17 November 2011.
I bought this paint to cover a five year old fence that had been untreated since new. The Cuprinol paint went on easily with a brush and one coat did a very good job, no second coat was required (although it was recommended on the tin). Considering that the wood was bare to begin with, coverage was excellent. I spent a little more money that usual on this paint because I have had poor results with other cheaper brands and I was not disappointed, the results are more than worth the additional outlay.
Review 15 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
So far so good
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
17 November 2011.
Applies easily, though subsequent coats need to go on shortly after each other or the water repellant formulation will prevent adhesion. Two coats at least needed to obliterate a different colour underneath. Easy to clean the brush, under the tap. Applied 3 months ago in late Summer and still looking as new despite much rain. Whether it lives up to the 5 year promise, who knows.
Review 16 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
16 November 2011.
Easy to apply and dries quickly.
Review 17 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
as expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 November 2011.
I painted my fence with this 4 years ago and have just repainted it. It lasts well ,doesn't fade in the sun as much as other paints and water does seem to run off it. It also comes off your skin easily.
Review 18 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
Fence paint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
01 October 2011.
Excellent product and I'd recommend this product over any others that I've used
Review 19 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
Excellent durability
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
20 September 2011.
Does what it says on the tin - long lasting and good coverage. Thoroughly recommended- don't go for the cheaper options!
Review 20 for Cuprinol Ducksback Timbercare - Harvest Brown - 5L
as expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
20 September 2011.
Did what it said on the tin, easy to use and not too runny.
1 2 3 next>>