Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Hippo HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm

Ideal for larger DIY or trade projects such as bathroom refurbs, general building and DIY waste. Flat-packed and holds up to 1.5 tonnes of waste. Approximately 13.5 wheelbarrows. HIPPO aim to collect within 5 working days and collection costs £109.99 with over 90% of waste recycled. Buy it, fill it and then its gone. Just fill your HIPPO MEGABAG with your waste, then call to book and pay for your collection direct from site. Material: 100% polypropylene. Dimensions: (W)900, (D)700, (L)1800mm.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
from 13 customer reviews
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm
Review 1 for HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm
Hippobag
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
16 August 2010.
The Hippobag is a very good item. It is a lot cheaper than hiring a skip and allows you to fill the bag at your leisure.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm
Very Useful
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
18 August 2015.
I use the bag to manage garden waste. It fits perfectly in my estate car when the seats are folded down. What I found was that the bag does not like to be dragged along concrete or uneven ground, the bottom of the bag is now torn badly only after 3 trips to the waste recycling centre. Granted it's not designed for it, but I thought worth a mention.
Review 3 for HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm
excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
Help very much with my garden removals, could not of done it with out the hippo bag.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 April 2012.
It is robust and economic compared with a skip for medium size needs. The collection service is simple to organise and on the three occassions I have used it efficient and timely.
Review 5 for HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm
PERFECT FOR THE JOB
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
01 February 2012.
I USED THIS FOR THE DIY WASTE FROM A BATHROOM REFURB, DOES EAXCTLY WHAT IT IS SUPPOSED TO DO AND IT DID NOT TAKE UP AS MUCH ROOM AS A SKIP IN MY GARDEN
Review 6 for HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm
Good Quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
01 February 2012.
The bag was great, however when we realised the size of the task we hired a skip. We have kept the bag to use in the future to transport items to and from the tip. The bag is good quality and the instructions for collection seemed very simple, I would recoomend only getting one if you are planning to put relatively light stuff in it. We were taking top soil off and although it is a big bag we would have been very restricted on the amount we could put in it due to the weight. Great for things like old kitchen cupboards and plastic baths. One thing to remember is to put it in the place that it is going to be collected from before you start filling it.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm
Very Good
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
03 November 2011.
The Hippo Bag was very strong and perfectly suitable for large items. Excellent quality and would buy again!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm
Easy to use
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2011.
Easy to use and collected with ease and at the promised time. Excellent for house moves.
Review 9 for HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm
As expected very good quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2011.
It is very strong. Bought to use when trimming the conifer trees in the garden. I only thing I would change is the size. I bought the biggest and they are big which made it a little difficult to get out of the car at the tip. The smaller size would have been better for my purpose.
Review 10 for HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm
Brilliant
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 April 2011.
The Hippo Bag is a fab alternative to hiring a skip (cheaper too), easier than going to the tip if you don't have a large car.
I used mine to clear my garage and loft, the larger one fits a bath, you can get loads in.
Buy one in your local DIY store, fill it, phone (or fill in a form online), pay and the next day they come along and take it away.
Easy Peasy!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm
More flexible than a skip
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 October 2010.
Bought a few of these bags to clear 4 tonnes of garden waste. You aren't tied to getting them collected at a set point so if your clearance takes longer than expected it doesn't matter, whereas a skip would. The collection was very simple and all the bags were taken early one morning.
Review 12 for HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm
Big Old Bag
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 October 2010.
Well, I needed to move stuff in my nice big estate car and take it to the dump without getting my car messed up.
This is ideal as its long!
It fits well into my vehicle, keeps it relatively clean, is strong and reusable. Also if I do my back in, which ofetn hapens when heavy lifting, I can simply call them up and get them to take it for me ( costs but hey, I would only do this if I couldnt do it myself.
Decent price, Pretty yellow!
Review 13 for HIPPO MEGABAG 1.5cb yrd 180cm x 90cm x 70cm
Very Good
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
01 September 2010.
This skip bag is great value, I managed to fit all of my garden waste and concrete as well as old garden furniture.
They also picked up the skip promptly with no hassle.
I have used these bags twice now in both sizes and will be using again as it is more than 50% cheaper than the household skip I had been quoted .