Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Interior emulsion paint or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Home of Colour Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L

Home of Colour Matt Emulsion is a high quality emulsion creating a non-reflective finish which is ideal for hiding minor marks and imperfections. Colour: Neutral Size: 5L Coverage (per litre): 12sq m Coverage per tin: 60sq m Effects and finish: Matt Usage: Walls and ceilings Suitable surfaces: Multi surface Number of coats recommended: 2 Drying time: Touch dry in 1 - 2 hours Time to recoat: 4 hours Interior exterior usage: Suitable for interior use Coverage disclaimer: Coverage is dependent on the kind of surface being painted and should be used as a guide only
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
from 56 customer reviews
50 out of 56(89%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
Review 1 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
as expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
19 May 2016.
Good product, a pale neutral colour to freshen up and lighten my hall, going on well.
Review 2 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
good paint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
19 August 2015.
Bought this paint in Matt and silk lovely colour and covers well
Review 3 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
Great colour .. same as the colour on the tin
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
18 August 2015.
Great colour exactly the same as the colour of the tin
Review 4 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
Lovely colour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
22 May 2015.
First of all I hate magnolia and was looking for an off white that wasn't too cold in tone. This colour is lovely, really creamy and goes very well with all my duck egg accessories. Doesn't cover quite as well as the more expensive brands but it's such a lovely colour, a great price and drys so well that I've bought 2 more tins to do other rooms. It was delivered the day after I placed my order.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Collins ,
Liskeard
M. Collins
Posted 31 July 2015
i couldn't agree more - this Homebase contemporary paint is better than its rivals. Such a fab colour!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
excellent value
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
11 October 2014.
The paint goes on really well and it looks brilliant got it in my living room and it brightens up the place but doesn't look too white
Review 6 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
fantastic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 November 2014.
Thick paint, dries in no time. Normally i buy the more expensive brand but this time chose own brand as the colour suited my needs better. I am glad i did. Super easy to apply and covered a huge area. Plenty left for any touch ups. Very happy. Oh and you can dab, wipe over if you happen to have a spill or kiddies fingerprints.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
patchy
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
13 November 2014.
I don't like giving bad reviews but have to be honest it's the worst paint I have ever used, no matter what I tried it dried patchy.I have used lots of different paints over the years but none as bad as this, the duck egg blue was exactly the same
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
beautiful
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 October 2014.
Easy to apply, slightly off white colour but looks good.
Review 9 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
Best paint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 October 2014.
Always use Homebase duracoat matt emulsion, the colour choice of the moment is contempory. It's a great paint that covers everything., wood, plaster, radiators etc
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: DIYHexbert ,
London
Contemporary colour blend is a bit dodgy.
Posted 24 February 2015
Homebase' Contemporary Duracoat Matt Emulsion is certainly a quality paint in terms of coverage, ease of application and durability. The only issue - and unfortunately quite a large issue - is the colour. On first appearance the colour suggests itself to be a light cream and ivory blend, but in certain lights (particularly hazy natural light) the tone appears to have a slightly apple green hue, which is a genuine issue if the paint has been chosen because of it's neutral tonal palette. A great shame as otherwise it is a fantastic emulsion.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
not good
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
19 August 2014.
not very good quality, wont bother again
Review 11 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
Lovely all round colour
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
19 November 2013.
I love the colour of this paint and we have used it throughout the bungalow . With contrasting walls .my one complaint is the smell. It is really strong and I had a terrible headache after we used it . It is the first time we have used the duracoat we have used the contemporary Matt emulsion before , but wanted something more washable .
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
dont buy
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
23 October 2013.
bought this paint as the price was good! product is terrible. painted my cream walls 3 times and they are still not covered. just going back to homebase to get my money back.losing the will to carry on decorating
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
Good coverage
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 April 2013.
Good quality + excelent coverage & the price was good too
 
My Product Recommendations
Arthouse Vintage Bernwood Wallpaper - Red
5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 14 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
paint
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
had to buy 5 ltrs of matt to cover the satin paint as it did not cover, what a waste of money.
Review 15 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
Excellent - does what it says
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
22 February 2013.
I have used every paint brand going. I would say this entire range of Duracoat lasts far longer than the main leading brands including so called Endurance or extra tough ranges. I have used it everywhere in my house in different neutral shades. It's fabulous, I scrub it and wash it a great deal. Year after year it looks as good as the day I painted it on. The only time I change it is when I fancy a different colour! Highly recommended for all busy households with kids. Two coats required for the full colour coverage. Do stir often - I do his before loading my tray again as it can thicken up slightly. Easy water clean up on all tools.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
Good Quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
This paint went on well & looks great, just the right tone i wanted...
Review 17 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
It's paint.
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
It's emusion. It covers walls quite nicely. End of story.
Review 18 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
so easy to use
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2012.
This is a quality emulsion and the colour is lovely. It went on very very easily and dried in super quick time with very little smell. We ended up using it through out the house as it is such a neutral colour, allowing our soft furnishings to stand out and seem much more vibrant. Would recommend it to anyone. Not just cream but Contemporary cream.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: stevdogvan ,
wakefield
keep away
Posted 23 March 2013
Not happy with this paint at all, ended up buying 15L as it took 4 coats just to cover trade magnolia paint
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
Very good
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
01 August 2012.
Easy to apply, slightly off white colour, says on tin can use on woodwork so have tried it - so far so good.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home of Colour Contemporary - Matt Emulsion Paint - 5L
Excellent Quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 July 2012.
Excellent product, will buy again
1 2 3 next>>