Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder

Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
6
from 22 customer reviews
15 out of 22(68%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Review 1 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Good for the money
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
17 August 2010.
We just moved into a house with a hugely overgrown garden. All the stuff we cut off would have filled my estate car perhaps 6 times, so we bought this chipper.
We don't have lots of money to spend so we chose this one, the cheapest. I was expecting it to be a bit dodgy, and jam quite a lot. In actual fact, it worked smoothly and so far we've used it continuously for one hour, and it didn't jam even once.
The hole in the top isn't huge (4cm at its widest) so it's not for tree trunks, but it has easily coped with everything we've thrown at it (up to 2cm diameter).
If you are just wanting to clean up normal garden waste, small tree and shrub sticks, then this is for you.
30 of 32 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Great quality for the price!!!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
30 March 2014.
For the money paid it has certainly paid for itself, shreds anything you put in as long as you don't force too much in at once. Certainly recommend as it saved numerous trips to the local recycle centre.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Spend more time unblocking than shredding
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
19 November 2013.
Very poor, keeps clogging, and designed so that ejection shute is small and clogs easily. Then when opened up (not an easy task in itself) very difficult to clear as the shute reduces in size as the front is opened! Also lots of nooks and crevices to collect the waste and make it difficult to re-close.
Wish I had never bought it, but had it too long to get a refund.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Cheap and I efficient
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
08 March 2013.
Only used once. Think it was faulty. Replaced next day with known brand. Very disappointed. Have used shredders for years.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Excellent product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 May 2012.
We recently moved into a new house and the garden is shall we say some what overgrown,after 4 tip runs we decided to buy a shredder,we thought this one was a good price but a bit concerned that at the price it might not be up to the job but we were completely wrong, it is amazing it chewed up everything we threw at it including as it says on the box branches up to 40mm and it's only about as loud as a lawn mower, we bought it and thought when we have finished with it we could sell it on but after using it it's going nowhere apart from in my shed, I have already told my mother to buy one for her garden.
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Shreddingly good
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
12 April 2011.
First it is not as loud as I expected, just don't stand behind by the motor. Also is is light, a lot lighter then some I've looked at. It will chop away at branches and turn them into a lot smaller pile of chips. Don't put anything too big in and don't over load. Slow and steady is the way. Don't put damp leaves in it, in fact don't put leaves at all unless they are on the branch, it's a shreader not a bleander and there is no point. It is not great at leaves or realy small stuff. Tiny twigs will get through with little damage but it will turn a twisted bundle into a shreaded pile, but once again don't overload. The proder is long enough just keep feeding in push, feed, push, don't force it let the machine do the work. Do wear gloves and long sleves. Watch when feeding because it will kick back a little. When you have finished open up and clean out as there will be some stuff caught inside. For a small garden this is just the job at a great price.
35 of 37 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Good but noisy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
21 March 2011.
Good for the money. It really is very noisy so wearing ear plugs advisable. Does not like leaves so much better for branches that have had most of the green stuff removed.
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
very poor worker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
19 March 2011.
the item is not that good, chews up to 40mm but smaller stems and leafs just clog it up, and with the paddle that comes with it, its not long enough to push them to the blades, so you have too keep opening the machine to clear it, then start again.
15 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Hawkins Dad ,
Argyll
Take care!
Posted 01 November 2012
I want to obtian some new blades for my Powerbase Impact Shredder so Homebase put me in touch with their supplier a company called Solent Toolshey informed me that Powerbase do not import any spare parts so if I want the blades I must send photographs of them together with detailed dimensions so they could try to "match them" with other makes. This machine does work as other reviews say, but if you expect to have this shredder for a long time, consider the available back-up
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
very good quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
01 December 2010.
Purchased this product in october to clear the remnants of a budlier bush pruned earlier in the month, branch sizes between 1 and 4 cm, the machine coped well, converting them into a fine mulch which was easily disposd under the hedge,.saved me a packet in transportation costs to the local dump,
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Not a good buy...
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
07 November 2010.
I recently moved house and our new garden was well overgrown with much rubbish to clear. I believed that this would help to reduce the waste into manageable size for compost and to take to the dump. Unfortunately it was a mistake. While it shredded dry straight sticks, even quite hard and tick ones, it could not cope with the brambles and fresh rubbish and l doubt it will be used much in the future. Fortunately it was cheap but l would rather have saved the money.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Simply effective
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
03 November 2010.
Easy to put together, easy to use and does exactly what it says you can do. When you do have a bockage its easy and safe to clear.
I am so pleased I made this purchase and have already saved many hours of work chopping up branches into small pieces for the recycling bin. In addition I have plenty of mulch to hand.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
great piece of kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
03 November 2010.
Bought this for a specific job and it coped very well. Chippings were small enough to go in the compost bin. All round great value and very useable bit of kit
Review 13 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Brilliant
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
16 October 2010.
For the money it is brilliant, better than shredders twice the price. Do as the instructions say and leave the branches to dry otherwise it'll clog but so do all the others. Easy to unclog just unplug it first. I am very happy with my new shedder.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Good product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
08 October 2010.
Bought as I was removing a hedge, coped OK with branches up to 2" thick (although very loud!) This was the cheapest shredder I could find it works well, sugest preparing branches by removing side shoots and putting those through by the handful.
Review 15 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
dissapointed
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
07 October 2010.
Very dissapointed with the shredder. When turned on it makes a terrible noise and this is before I put anything in to shred. Very soft leaves were fine, but when I put rose bush trigs in it was a job to push them in and had to cut them up with secateurs to get them to shred, which seemed to defeat the whole purpose. Was hoping to clear a lot of my shrubs, but fear it will take a very long time.
Review 16 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Not up to the job!
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
07 October 2010.
Bought this product to shred the cuttings from a privet hedge in the garden. Despite following the instructions to the letter (feed branches in from the right) the blades became blunt and ineffective within a couple of hours useage. The helpline phonenumber at the bottom of the instruction manual was unobtainable so I returned the product to Homebase, who gave me a full refund. Therefore I cannot recommend this product.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Very Good
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 October 2010.
This was very easy to use., an excellent product. The shredding of branches very fine
Review 18 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Excellent for the money
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
06 October 2010.
Considering what else is out there this shedder is brilliant at the price, just let the wood dry out before shedding it as it'll clog with green wood but so will the others. Easy to unclogg if it does foul.
Review 19 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Location: UK
Great shredder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
03 September 2010.
Excellant value for money, cut through the thick branches well and made perfect soil covering and compost fooder
Review 20 for Powerbase 2400 Impact Electric Shredder
Better than expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
26 August 2010.
This shredder is much better than I expected it to be much to my delight. It is also very easy to access the blades to thoroughly clean after use. Very good garden tool.
1 2 next>>