Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L

Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
from 17 customer reviews
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
Review 1 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
Do not buy
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
29 March 2013.
Paint done a great job on the walls but impossible to clean off the roller or hands without half an hour of scrubbing, and using Jif, vanish and Persil.
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 April 2012.
good quality,covering power and very good price
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
underated undercoat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
02 February 2012.
This undercoat is excellent value for money, priced affordable for diy and trade use. very good stuff for the cost, i will have more of this.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
good quality
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
01 February 2012.
Nearly as good as the leading brands, would recommend
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
NOT All-Purpose
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
01 February 2012.
Didn't realise until we had the undercoat on and went to clean the paint-brushes that this is an OIL-BASED paint. Not water soluable, and if you use it on walls, you could end up with a nasty replastering bill. We bought it instore and assumed that "All-Purpose" meant it could be used for any undercoating. Doesn't say oil on the front of the tin. It might be a great undercoat for painting exterior wood or metal, but the name is so misleading and almost cost me a small fortune in wall repair.
9 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
Great Quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
29 October 2011.
Great coverage,good product
Review 7 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
Good start to a great finish
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2011.
Wanted a good but cheap undercoat for facia boards on house, This was perfect for the job. and good coverage, This one tin did the job with lots to spare.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
excellent so simple
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
14 July 2011.
used a different brand the last time i painted because it was a bit cheaper,what a waste of money.i have already purchased this as it is a much better paint all together.highly recommended
Review 9 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
undercoat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
This is a good quality product - good value for the money and easy to use. Good results.
Review 10 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
as expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
07 May 2011.
This is very good considering it is the value range.
Review 11 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
Value All Purpose Undercoat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 May 2011.
Excellent value. Great coverage and easy to use. Would recommend
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
17 April 2011.
As a landlord I find no better paint for my houses.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
Location: UNITED KINGDOM
good quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
03 December 2010.
Good coverage and blocked out well.
Review 14 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
fair
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
06 November 2010.
found very runny and very strong smelling
Review 15 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
As expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
03 November 2010.
To pinch another firm's slogan - it does what it says on the can! It is drippy in places but with careful application the coverage is fine - a good value for money product
Review 16 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
excellent
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
06 October 2010.
It was good quality for the price charged
Review 17 for Value All Purpose Undercoat - Pure Brilliant White - 2.5L
Excellent quality and value
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
02 September 2010.
We searched high and low for an oil based undercoat and Homebase came to our rescue.
Unbelieveable value and excellent quality.
We have been redecorating and were struggling to get rid of heavy staining from the previous tenants cigarette smoke (12 years or so), sugar soap only got rid of some (we used a whole bottle on one wall - not cost effective), all in one well known cleaning sprays had little effect (we obviously weren't putting enough of our own Muscle into to the effort).
Homebase's Value All Purpose Undercoat however, has sealed in the stains perfectly giving a clean bright even surface for even the lightest coloured emulsion, saving us both time and money.
It went on easily and the brushes cleaned up well using turpentine.
Amazing - our rooms were tranformed from nicotine teracotta overnight to beautiful light and bright neutrals!! We're no longer ashamed to have guests pop round.
I would like to give this product a 10 star rating, but 5 is the highest.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.