Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ

Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
Average Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
from 23 customer reviews
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
Review 1 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
very good
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
10 July 2012.
We had been looking for a large charcoal bbq for ages, and then we say the lovodrum. Excellent quality and really cheap. Highly recommend this to everyone.
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
excellent bbq
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 July 2012.
bought this as a replacement and apart from the weather which has curtailed my cooking when i have used it i have been very impressed, nice and solid and plenty of room for big family like mine.
enjoy....
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
Excellent Value
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 July 2012.
A great BBQ, easy to assemble and then provides ample cooking space.
Generates lots of heat , and had a very long cooking time.
Fantastic
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
top class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 May 2012.
excellent size for parties very nice to look at and folding side shelves make it easy to store . everyone has commented on it. the price was great compared to some barbecues.only downside were instructions stated wrong bolts to be used in one part of the construction. but soon figured it out !
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Spoons ,
Newmarket
Top value
Posted 12 May 2012
BBQ was simple to construct 40 mins and it was ready to use. Can imagine it will be a pain to clean the spent chacoal but will make up a tray so I can lift it out.
Cooking area is massive. I cook outside as much as possible even in the winter. Really looking forward to using this one. A very sturdy well priced BBQ. Recommend this to anyone.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
Brilliant BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 April 2012.
Straightforward to put together, very strong, and easily opens up into a double BBQ when needed - the flip-up shelves are also sturdily built so an overall 10/10 from me.
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
great buy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
13 October 2011.
I love this bbq as its a great size and can hold so much. I used it for a 21st birthday party and catered for about 40 people with ease.
The only downside is getting the briquettes out after use as it's quite deep and fiddlely cleaning it.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: queen ,
Surrey
cleaning
Posted 29 May 2014
use a clean dustpan and brush to sweep up excess after taking out the foil used as a liner on the base of the bbq..makes life easy..it does for me haha ;)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
good sizzler
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
23 July 2011.
Had a rather large BBQ party recently found this performed perfectly with excellent results. would recommend this if you like charcoal and sometimes have 8 + guests
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
BBQ SUCCESS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
15 July 2011.
Having to provide a BBQ session for over 350 guests the Lovo Drum BBQ was more than efficient to cope with the task. With both drums blazing it kept up with the demand. In preparing the equipment it was easy to understand how to put together even for such a pooy DIY guy like myself. The design has made it easy to store and hoperfully whoever decides to take on the job next year of preparing over 350 burgers they wll find the Lovo more than capable of withstanding the task
Well done Home Base for finding such a useful piece of equipment
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
excellent value of money and quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
i have already used my BBQ drum more than 10 times. i am very pleased with the quality.
with this product BBQ is very easy and at a time you can BBQ up to 12 full chickens. which is grate.
ideal for people who love to do BBQ parties.
will definatley recommend this BBQ drum to every one.
Review 10 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
Solid easy to build BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
This is a good value charcoal BBQ, which is easy to put together. Does exactly what it says on the box.
Review 11 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
Great BBQ
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
We purchased this in the sale and it is superb and was a great buy and cooked food for lots of people all at the same time, so not hours of standing over the hot coals!
Only minor problem was that the bars gor so hot on teh lower grill insidew the drum that the metal glowed orange and is now a bit mis-shapen, but that was probably our fault!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
Good value
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
Relatively easy to assemble, took about 40 mins and once assembled very easy to use, sturdy with huge cooking space if you decide to use both halves very good value for money
Review 13 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
Just the job!
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
Used this at every opportunity since we got it and it's just right for a family meal yet plenty big enough for a large gathering if we use both sides. Useful shelves too and easy to wheel into position.
Review 14 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
sxcellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 June 2011.
This B.B.Q is excellent quality and well made. The food taste excellent., and when you have a large group of people to cook for, you have the other side of the drum to let down and use.
We found the side trays excellent for placing our utensils on. Also the front tray covers the health and safety of being too near the burning ambers or if the food should splat out any hot fats. It has certainly added class to our new B.B.Q patio landscaped into the bottom of our garden. Roll on more really hot days and B.B.Q's
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Anonymous ,
bring on the sunshine
Posted 25 June 2011
I bought this bbq today and cant wait to use it, I can't believe the size of the cooking area. Ours is slightly different to the picture in that it doesn't have the shelf at the front, not that that would have put me off!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
As good as they come!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
31 May 2011.
Ticks all the boxes, an earlier review is spot on with the instructions (point 8) but use your common sense and it's simple, both sides used at the weekend and it fed plenty...cleaning was a pain but aren't they all??
Recommend hands down, especially if your expecting a large number of guests
Review 16 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
Sturdier than expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
07 May 2011.
...on assembly. Haven't used it yet.
As an earlier reviewer alluded to, the instructions at point 8 are wrong. It tells you to use m5*60 shoulder bolts for attaching the lid-brace, but you've already used those.
It actually means to use the M5*13 bolts (with the unthreaded bit on).
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
Great BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
14 April 2011.
Bought this as we started to have lovely sunny weather in April. Very sturdy BBQ and ample storage for buns, condiments etc. I loved the fact it actually doubled out so if you were cooking for the 5 thousand like i was - there was plenty of room for food.
Plus its great as you can wheel it around.
Easy to assemble.
Great buy.
21 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
Excellent product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
27 June 2010.
I bought this bbq for a get together with a group of friends to watch the England Germany Game (next time boys). Me and my mate were able to set it up within the best part of an hour. The instructions were very clear and well labelled. The BBQ was excellent, and sturdy. It cooked the foor well. I woulod definately recommend to a friend,
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
Great for parties
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
11 June 2010.
using both sides, its absolutely massive. Instructions not too bad, easier with two people (neighbours did comment that the weekend would be over before we got it up though!). Two issues - the ash is a nightmare to remove, the designs with buckets underneath are easier; and the side vents don't work - they loosen everytime you turn them. Otherwise it would have been 5*.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lovo Oil Drum Charcoal BBQ
Great BBQ
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 June 2010.
This is a well constructed BBQ; it feels sturdy when assembled and isn't tricky to put together. The ability to cook on both sides is a great feature when having more than a few friends over and is again well designed. The wheels make it easy to move around and it isn't heavy. All in all a well thought out, robust and flexible BBQ.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>