Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m

Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Average Customer Rating:
3.883 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
11
from 60 customer reviews
47 out of 60(78%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Review 1 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
As expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
27 February 2014.
I have single glazed windows which were full of condensation and could always feel the cold.
I used this and it did exactly what it said. It was easy to fit and I can no longer feel the draught and no longer have to mop up all the water from the condensation every day. Brilliant and cheap product.
Obviously, will have to remove the film once the weather is better and buy again but will definitely be doing this until I can afford double glazing!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Nasty looking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
07 February 2014.
This just looks like a cheap polythene sheet over your window. The blurb says "just heat with a hairdryer and the creases will disappear like magic!" Definitely no magic results. This wrinkled sheet is clearly noticeable from both inside and outside of the window. If you don't worry about what the rest of your family or your neighbours think of you then maybe this product is for you! I have no idea how affective it is keeping out the cold since I tore it down after one day because it was so nasty looking.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Geoff ,
Notting Hill, London
It really does work
Posted 07 October 2014
Hi Dave,
I respectfully submit that when you affixed the sheeting to to the double-sided adhesive tape, that you didn't do it flat enough.
If you do it evenly to start with, then the result after the hairdryer is nearly perfect and can't be seen from inside or out.
I would try it again.
Geoff
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Frustration!
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
21 January 2014.
The idea is good, but the product seems not to have been tested in the real world. Some issue:
1 The film is packed with adhesive tape to which it sticks. Even when removed from the box it leaves adhesive in the box so if re-used for storage it sticks again resulting in wasted film. Why not put the tape between the instruction sheet.
2. The double-sided tape has more adhesion to the non-stick backing than normal gloss paint, even when prepared as instructed.
3. The non-stick backing tape is hard to remove from the double-sided sticky tape. I found a cross-cut then nick it with a knife works sometimes.
4. On the outside of the box the instructions look easy - beware the full set inside is much longer.
5. Using a hair dryer does make the film taut, but by the next day it is floppy and creased again. Repeating the process gives the same result.
6. Spreading across too large a window results in too much tension and the film pulls off the sticky tape - in my case 1.67m.
7. Most edges on the sticky tape end up with pulls after a few days, i.e. the film seems to expand over the tape.
8. Trimming off with a sharp knife as described results in a cut in the paint work and you would need a much steadier hand than mine to cut cleanly without a straight edge - as shown.
Having said that, I have ended up with windows with more insulation, but defininately 'seasonal' because it looks awful. Perhaps my standards are too high.I do not look forward to reapplying it next winter!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Geoff ,
Notting Hill, London
Practice makes perfect
Posted 07 October 2014
Hi Numpty,
There is no question that there is a knack to doing this. I lived in a place with 8 large sash windows, and after I'd done a few I got very good at it.
The main tip I would give you based on your issues, is that once you have got it all up, FIRST use the hairdryer on the edges, where the adhesive tape is applied. The heat seems to help the tape adhere to both window frame and the film.
I've never seen a well-fixed sheet come undone after only a day. In fact, a few have lasted more than a season, depending on how the window opened.
Geoff
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Rubbish tape
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
23 November 2013.
I purchased two packs of this product.
The first pack had a branded adhesive tape and performed well. The film has stayed tight even after a few weeks.
The second pack had an un- branded tape.
With this pack the film went slack within a few hours.
After re- heating ti tighten film the film pulled sideways from the tape.
Both packs were installed in identical fashion on the same substrate.
Caution :- if you buy this product check the tape and discard any pack with the un-branded tape
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Cheap but effective
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
16 November 2013.
Use this every year as I'm in a rented flat with terrible windows and need something cheap and temporary, but effective.
It does get easier with practise, only took about 10 minutes this year.
Read the instructions and follow them exactly, don't be tempted to take short-cuts or improvise - it generally doesn't work.
Put the film up carefully (make sure the correct side is facing out) and readjust as necessary until it is reasonably taut across the window - may need two people for a big window.
I usually keep it fitted for about 4 months and re-heat it with the hairdryer two of three times over that period - it only takes a minute to remove the wrinkles.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Fantastic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 March 2013.
Well recommend, definately made a difference, have a very draughty window in my front bedroom window and it has helped imensely till I can afford new windows.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Nickwil ,
Holyhead Anglesey
mrs williams
Posted 13 March 2013
We bought this for our caravan windows. We were not sure on opening it if it would work,as it looked rather thin. But it was great. very strong. and it does a wonderful job.Much warmer now. We even covered an opening window,just until weather gets warmer.and no condensation ! GREAT.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
lifesaver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
06 March 2013.
this item was recommended by one one of your staff
and is a cheapexcellentlifesaver
would recommend it to everyone
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Better than expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
22 January 2013.
I bought this with an open mind. We have a listed building with single glazing throughout, didn't even know you still got this.
With large windows through out we needed three packs and then a bit of patience and peace to do the job. Give yourself time and don't rush it. Sharp scissors, Stanley knife, measuring tape and a long piece of wood help!
What a difference, the condensation has disappeared from the windows and you can actually stand in front of them without feeling the usual Icy blast. I intend to leave this on for as long as possible especially over a couple of windows I have that don't open.
In-expensive and well worth it's money.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Does the job
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
Sophisticated cling film and double sided sticky tape but actually has a dramatic effect where there is single glazing only.
Enough provided for a large set of windows.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: b. rodrigues ,
epsom
Ms Rodrigues
Posted 13 October 2013
Hello there
Could you please confirm whether the film can be applied directly to the glass panes.
I live in a Grade 2 listed building with crittall windows(18 panes) the condensation is horrendous.
Please help
Thanks in advance
B. Rodrigues (pensioner)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Easy to fit - works well
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
I didn't believe this would be of any use to me as we have a very large picture window which collects a bucket full of condensation every day.
The product, with a bit of care and following the instructions to the letter, was very easy to fit and after 6 weeks in use I would reckon it was worth every penny paid. We now have no condensation and the room feels warmer (though not much).
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Golly!!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
To my great surprise, this stuff works really well!!
Instructions mad, of course, but the end result was brilliant and there was lots of material.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
I use this product each winter on my back door as it is single pane glass.
It makes a huge difference to the room temperature.
Review 13 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Dissapointed
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
On opening the product, the adhesive strip was stuck to the sides of the box and the window film, making it awkward to get it clean to work on. On the instructions it said attach the top of the film to the top sticky strip then stretch and attach to the bottom,
this made it difficult to attach the sides.
Using a hair drier as instructed did get rid of the creases and made the film taunt but after a week or so the film loosened up.
Review 14 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
works with modification
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
bought this for my outside summerhouse art room, but despite sticking it down as instructed it started peeling off the wood frames (as must have been too rough?) so had to go over the edges with some duct tape to hold it down.
that said i have REALLY noticed a difference in the temperature so it does work well and you can barely see the actual film.
managed to apply it quite easily myself... just dont put film down on carpet (it picks up fluff easily) nor put the hairdryer too close (my young son 'helped' me and burnt a hole in it!)
it also may not have enough sticky tape if you have several smaller windows, as the perimeter of frames is obviously larger than a few larger windows.
Review 15 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Excellent, but it, cheap too!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
11 November 2012.
Meaning to get double glazing at some point,but this is a great interim solution. I am absolutely NOT a DIY-er but struggle to see how this cannot be fitted by anyone with a bit of patience. I did it with a 4 and 1 year old tugging at my leg wanting to play. it can be done easily. You can see how to do it on YouTube if you need help folks. A huge difference to heat levels in our hall. If the government wants us to cut energy usage and are struggling on how to tackle the utilities constantly putting our bills up they could do a lot worse than send this to every household. Best of luck, chez
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Drop in quality
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
09 November 2012.
Have bought this product after running out of the one I bought last year. As it was same brand, I was expecting the same quality and was quite sure it would work ok. Could not have been more wrong.
The glazing looked good once I finished work and was almost invisible. I put it in 3 different rooms. However, after 2-3 days, the film lost the tension and curled back up. It started to look awful. I suspect that this is due to poor quality of the tape. The window in the 3rd room, I did with my own normal double sided tape and it worked ok. However, this means I'll have to re-do the whole 4 windows and have wasted a lot of time and film. The tape provided was also poorly cut and was stuck to the film so some of the film was wasted because of that as well. Knowing that this product is ridiculously expensive for what it is - tape plus a sheet of plastic film, I feel cheated and very dissatisfied.
Review 17 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Rips and tears
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
04 November 2012.
What a horrible product. Two tries, two tears through middle when taping the film up. Will be returning in rubbish bag.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Great job
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
23 October 2012.
Easy to fit but best with 2 pairs of hands to fit well. Roughly trim to within 6inch of right size. Make sure window frame is clean. Fit onto tape as tight as possible. Watch the magic with the hair dryer. Brilliant now no draughts. Just like new windows. Can't believe how clear the film is. Be careful not to scratch it. Also don't let pets and kids near it because they will puncture it easily. I am going to do all my windows for the winter. Cheap enough to replace every year.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
Brilliant
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
08 August 2012.
Best thing since sliced bread! cannot believe i didn't buy this product earlier - it made an immediate difference to my living room and not to difficult to put up, also you can hardly see it until you prod it!
just be careful not to get the hairdryer too close or in on eplace for too long as it can easily burn a hole in the material.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stormguard Double-Glazing Film - 6 sq m
waste of money
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
16 July 2012.
This has a number of flaws:
1.this is very very fiddly to put on the windows
2.diffiult to cut to right size
3.difficult to stick on & once you do, it doesn't it is almost impossible to get it right & there's lots of wrinkles
4. once you heat it with hairdryer, it just looks like you have stuck on a piece of plastic on your wondows & frankly I doubt it makes much difference.
terrible product
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>