Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer

Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Average Customer Rating:
3.781 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
12
from 64 customer reviews
48 out of 64(75%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Review 1 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Better than expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPeyton .
16 February 2014.
I started painting my fence last year with a brush and only managed one panel. Having read the reviews I was reluctant to try the sprayer as I thought it would be a waste of money. However painting a panel a year at the rate I was going it would have taken me eight years so I went out and brought one. What a brilliant piece of kit! I did what one reviewer had suggested and used water at first before graduating to the real thing. As a result all fence panels now painted. It's a good idea to cover up anything nearby that you don't want covered with a fine layer of paint and using a brush helps to create a smooth finish. Very happy overall and although I was dreading cleaning the unit in the end it was in no way as difficult as I had anticipated.
16 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
WORKED GREAT
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bymowgli .
07 March 2013.
This fence sprayer made very light work of a large area of fencing panels. very quick, good coverage and very easy to use. Was well worth the money
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Appalling
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByBristol .
05 January 2013.
I read reviews of this item on a number of web sites. Most were uncomplimentary. Foolishly I ignored them and went with the 4 star Homebase assessment. When working it gave too strong a flow and was uneconomical.
However it blocked within 5 minutes,, after cleaning blocked again almost immediately and the same a third time. Junked it and went back to brush!i
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTommy Trucker .
12 September 2012.
My new fence sprayer is brilliant, it save's so much time
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Excellent appliance
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDorro .
10 September 2012.
The fence sirayer covers the fencing panels well with the appropriate fenceguard paint
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Poor with Shades
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bypainted lady .
24 August 2012.
One star is too many for this product when spraying Shades. Sprayed water brilliantly, Sprayed one panel with Shades, with spray jet around 30% of that for water. Then nozzle started 'globbing' and then a thick single spray. Tried to increase pressure by pumping handle. Had no effect (red marker visible). Took nozzle apart but could not clear it under a water tap. Tipped out Shades from container, filled with water and pumped up pressure. Cleared nozzle in less than a minute, sprayed water brilliantly!
Seems either Shades is too thick for this product or it needs a different nozzle design.
Homebase were great, gave me a full refund.
I've used a lot of product and ended up brushing my fence panels with Shades.
Thankfully I had all my decking protected and wore overalls with hood, gloves and mask. Decking protector looks like a car re-spray booth.
Shades is water soluble and cleans up with a light scrubbing.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: big bill ,
west midlands
mr
Posted 11 September 2012
What a useless gadget this is !!!!
The advert on the tv makes it look so simple....if only.
The paint came out in blobs and covered every area other than the one you want.....i tested with water first as recommended in the instructions....brilliant.....inserted the paint....what utter rubbish.
It was like trying to eat custard with chopsticks.
I reverted back to the my old trusty brush ,
buy this item at your own peril.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Location: Lancashire
First Class product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLunepilot .
22 July 2012.
Used the pump sprayer,and performed well. As previous posts handy to have a brush just to deal with the odd bit of overspray but this is not a problem,the paint will look patchy and have an odd colour to whats described but will dry perfectly.
For anyone who has not used this type of sprayer before fill with water to start with,and practice spraying on flags or similar surface.It will drip from nozzle for the first 2 minutes, but will then be ok.Make sure all joints are tight,and a bit of lubricant on the o ring seals helps, like silicone grease but not neccesary.
Cleaning couldnt be easier just fill with water and run through a few times,job done
16 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Rubbish
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByAnonymous .
04 July 2012.
I would not recommend this to my worst enemy. After spraying you have to go over it with a brush to even it out. Used it once and then put it in the dustbin
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Saves time
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMrPerky .
04 July 2012.
Paint sprayer - very quick and easy to use. Should have done this years ago. Price to real good too.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
so easy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysincers .
10 May 2012.
this made fence painting so quick and easy and much more fun than using a brush, my boyfriend was made up and loved using it! RESULT!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Its OK
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bygalileo .
10 May 2012.
Good to use, pain to clean.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Very poor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByIf1 .
09 May 2012.
very poor. Did not spray evenly. Would not recommend.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
quick
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byflstn .
09 May 2012.
a lot quicker and a better coverage than i thought it would be
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: RONNY ,
LONDON
MR
Posted 18 May 2012
This sprayer are good in doing the job that are design for but need a bit of know how about sprayng items in term of speed and distance whic are variable because of the decreasing pressure but the major problem is that once youbought one you have to use only the type of supplier paint because others vill not work and is also a messy job that is not worth doing-it so my advice is :stick with a brush it is much much better, cheaper and you can shop around and use various brand too.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
very pleased
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykent quilter .
06 April 2012.
I was almost put off buying because of adverse reviews but so glad I wasn't!
Bought the sprayer with 15% off. Following instructions was simple. Worked first time. Have finished one side of the garden quickly and effortlessly. Cleaning takes time but not difficult.
Delighted with my purchase..
Just pursuaded my neighbour to get one.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Does the job admirably
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybleeper24 .
04 April 2012.
Some users have rated this sprayer as unsatisfactory in performance !
.Providing all the connections between spray lance and the container are sufficiently secure , and if the sprayer is pumped to an adequate pressure , the performance is perfectly capable of an even and splatter free coverage of fence panels and garden sheds etc :
Time spent cleaning up after use is essential to ensure that the sprayer is thoroughly clean ..Yes..its a bit fiddly... but well worth it as the time saved struggling with a brush is far outweighed by the quick results from using the sprayer ! If you are spraying close to a conservatory or any other area where overspray is not wanted ..either choose a calm day to cut down spray drift...or buy a cheap pack of decorators covering film and temporarily cover nearby areas where you don' t want the spray to splash ! Overall a good buy and a great time saver !
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
rubbish
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byjules .
15 March 2012.
This pump sprayer is rubbish as the paint didn't stick to the panel - i had to brush it in which took longer to do ! considering taking it back
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Disappointing
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byjonso .
14 December 2011.
Instructions for use indicate a very simple and efficient product. In reality, even when excercising utmost care, the spray coverage is uneven particularly on non-flat surfaces. Cleaning the equipment after use is far too time consuming and also "messy". An extremely disappointing product which has now been consigned to the waste bin!
Review 18 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bybluenose .
16 November 2011.
does what it says on the box
Review 19 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
Easy to use
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHannahwanna .
14 November 2011.
Really easy to use product, setting up, using and cleaning after use.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cuprinol Fence Pump Sprayer
labour saving
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bysprayer .
10 November 2011.
Product quite good...clogs up occasionally and takes a time to clean out. Gives a good even coverage until clogging occurs. However, if you have a number of panels to spray, this will save you time and effort!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>