Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Garden Power Tools or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Homebase.

Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W

The Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder is the ideal gardening companion to ensure everything stays tidy.Features: 40mm maximum branch cutting capacity.Usage: Suitable for shredding all garden waste such as branches, grass, and leaves.Type: Electric.Wattage: 2500W.Cutting system: Spiral cutting system.Weight: 28kg.Safety details: Large collection bin with integrated safety switch.Available for delivery to mainland UK and Northern Ireland.  Unfortunately we cannot deliver to the outlying islands.
Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
from 16 customer reviews
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
Review 1 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
fantastic product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 May 2011.
This replaced a "quality" brand named shredder bought just 4 years ago and the motor broke in 2 pieces. This is quieter, hasn't jammed yet, has useful on board collection to stop bits ending up on the lawn. It's better all round and was cheaper!
Review 2 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
Good Tool
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
03 May 2011.
After reading the reviews on this site, I went ahead and bought this tool to shred my garden bushes and branches from my conifer trees. Just to say, I am not an expert gardener by any stretch of the imagination.
I found that I had to regularly remove the box to level the contents, as you'd expect, because it all comes out into the collecting box at one point and this creates a concentrated pile below the blades. If you notice the blades getting clogged up with green stuff at the input point, it's a good indication that the box contents need to be levelled, or emptied.
It states that it can handle upto 40mm diameter, but I had a few 'jams' when I tried this. It probably depends on the type of tree/bush you're shredding. After my third jam, (second day of usage) the On/Off switch had a problem (machine would only work when I kept my finger on the On switch), which meant I had to return it to Homebase in exchange for a new replacement. No quibble from Homebase by the way.
Since then I have been careful about the size of branches I put in - maybe 30mm max and I have not had a jam. If the branches are particularly long it might be advisable to cut them shorter before putting in, but not compulsory - I imagine it would reduce the number of times you need to level the box contents, that's all.
Yes, the red wheel covers do come off as you're moving it around but if it bothers you, I suppose you could glue them on at strategic points so that you can still remove them if you really wanted to - can't think why you would remove them though.
All in all, I'm pleased with the performance. It is fairly quiet. I would recommend this. Treat it properly and you should enjoy having a tool that takes away all that manual cutting and chopping.
Review 3 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
great product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 February 2011.
this machine is execellent value very efficent, a large collection box and very quiet, only one minor flaw is the red plastic wheels trims keep falling off, this product is as good as the more expensive brands at virtually half the price very pleased with it
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: henryv111 ,
se london.kent.
sovereign electric chainsaw scs2000
Posted 27 March 2011
purchased from homebase crayford kent approx 2 years ago.now unable to get any info/spr prts,eg chain.nothing on line.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
Brilliantt machine
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 November 2010.
I have had shredders before but this is brilliant and so compact - shame it does not fold down in to the box, but even so it just chomps its way through all the garden waste.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
Brilliant!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
25 October 2010.
Absolutely brilliant, took it home, put it together, switched it on and used it continuously for three days. Cleared a garden full of branches from a very large eucalyptus tree, all bagged up to go in the car to the tip. Even used it on a Sunday and I live next to a church, the loudest noise is the motor running.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
11 October 2010.
Really does the job intended for and quiet to use.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
Very pleased
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 October 2010.
Much better than I expected, quiet, and extremely sturdy.
Did everything it said it would on the box.
Five star product.
Review 8 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
superb machine
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 October 2010.
This "chomps" any branch that fits cutting down to heavy mulch suitable for paths and heavy ground cover. Chops smaller items and leaves but you need to reverse to clear cutter if too much green or wet leaves. Don't forget to clean and oil down the cutter sides when putting away to keep running smooth.
Review 9 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
lasted one day
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
03 October 2010.
LASTED LESS THAN ONE DAY, THE ADJUSTER DIDN'T WORK CORRECTLY, IT SIMPLY DID NOT ADJUST ANYTHING ALLOWING MATERIAL STRAIGHT THROUGH ALMOST UNTOUCHED.
Review 10 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
very good build quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
01 September 2010.
Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder is a very powerful piece of kit when it comes to shredding lights branches. It runs very quietly and the slide in bin that comes with the shreder is extremely handy use and empty
Review 11 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
Shredder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 August 2010.
What can i say, one of the best buy i've made.
Review 12 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
No problem
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
28 March 2010.
Having first read reviews on this product i went ahead and purchased one.I note the comments on the machine sustaining damage in use and would advise any prospective purchaser that this machine is very good as long as the right pressure setting is applied.I can imagine damage being caused if set for lightweight use and heavier material being inserted but by the same token one cannot expect effective shredding of lightweight material if set for heavier use.A good all rounder that has reduced my compost heap to material ready to use as a soil dressing.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
Top Quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
15 February 2010.
I brought this item as my father in law very kindly lopped my trees in my back garden and left me with 3 skips worth of trees lying on my lawn that needed disposing of, thanks alot i thought. This product is unbelievable it chewed through nearly all of the branches i had and whilst it took some time to do it, the whole process was effortless really, realy easy to empty when full, very easy to load the branches into the top and then stand back and leave it alone to do it's thing, probably the best garden power tool i have ever owned ! Well worth the money i paid for it
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
Good in parts
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
09 December 2009.
First time in use, seemed very good,very quiet.
Second time, not quite so good.
Third time, it burst the case.
Total life, 2 months.
Homebase allowed a full refund, very friendly.
Review 15 for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
Wow
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 October 2009.
Well, I thought that this machine might not be good enough for the job that I was expecting it to do. plenty of conifers to be lopped, two 50' trees to trim down, shrubs to go to make way for the new vegetable plot. Finished 3 huge piles of shredding material over a few days and my shredder handled it all. Best garden piece of equipment I have purchased
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sovereign Quiet Electric Shredder - 2500W
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Average customer rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
from 1 customer review
Would recommend? Yes1 out of 1