Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Westland Westland Bone Meal - 10kg

Slow release organic plant food. Material: Granular Mixture Features: For use throughout the growing season - February to the end of October every 4-6 weeks. Weight: 10kg Coverage (per pack): 142sq m Maximum Usage: Ideal for use when planting trees and shrubs. Contents: NPK 5.5-7.5-0
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
from 17 customer reviews
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
Review 1 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
This review is from Westland Bone Meal - 3.5kg.
Perfect when planting shrubs and bedding plants
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
22 June 2016.
I have been using bone meal for many years as it encourages root growth and gives the plants a good start.
A smaller box would also be worth introducing as I have to transfer the bone meal into a plastic container to keep it away from moisture.
Review 2 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
This review is from Westland Bone Meal - 3.5kg.
excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 November 2014.
Everything price andvalue
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
Added, but no real results
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
11 April 2013.
Perhaps this review is too soon, Added it once into the soil, but no improvement to the state of my daffodils. I'll try a few more applications. This Winter wasn't the kindest.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
Good product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
08 November 2012.
This is a good all round garden fertilizer.Have had good results from using it .A generouse spread around
peonies did the trick for me as I have had some that have not flowered at all . This year they flowered and am looking for even better results in 2013.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
where's it all gone
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
09 May 2012.
well if you want half a bucket of bone meal than this is the one for you .
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
This review is from Westland Bone Meal - 3.5kg.
Excellent value for money
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
18 November 2011.
Westland Bone Meal - 3.5 kg is an excellent product. I have used it for all the vegetables I want to make good roots, and am pleased with the results. The price is very reasonable and I would recommend its use on allotments for large-scale use or just in the flower garden as a good food source.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
This review is from Westland Bone Meal - 3.5kg.
excellent product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
21 September 2011.
Good product, good price and did the job.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
Bone Meal
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
This is a great product if you have a lot going in at the allotment or garden. It's really easy to use, very effective and smells quite nice, in a malty kind of way!
Just mix it with your chosen compost, add generously to the hole you've dug, add water and put in your plant.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
Excellent Quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
Good stuff. The plants love it!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
Excellent Quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 May 2011.
Excellent garden plant, tree, flower & shrub additive, all natural ingredients. I used it to fertilise soil before planting 6 fruit trees. They have taken very well in 8 weeks and are already in full leaf with new shoots appearing. I have just added 2nd application as feed. I have never had or seen such rapid plant growth and although I have never used it before, I will certainly be buying it again, I have now started feeding my veg beds with it and cant wait to see the results. Nice big sturdy bucket that comes in use as a seat in the garden & will be used for watertight storgae after - bargain !
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
On Offer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
18 April 2011.
I have put it in the soil around and under bushes. Fingers crossed for a good summer!
Review 12 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
Poor attention to detail
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
06 November 2010.
We've bought several buckets of bonemeal over the years, this has got to be the most difficult one to get the lid off. It's so poor I dispense the bonemeal into an old fatball bucket.
We always get good results using bonemeal, we apply it as a top dressing, put in planting holes or mix it with farm manure or compost. As it breaks down slowly, the results are often seen 6-9 months later.
We are pro gardeners and use bonemeal regularly.
The bucket is essential to keep the bonemeal dry, but please 'Westland' think, how is the average customer going to prise the lid off? especially without hurting themselves?
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
Great Product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
05 November 2010.
Marvelous product great to mix with compost
Review 14 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
excellent additive
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
03 November 2010.
very good to dig in for new plants and spread over ground for established ones, so that strong growth is optimised
Review 15 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
As expected
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
16 October 2010.
I have been using this bonemeal while planting new shrubs and seems to be doing an ok job so far. Good value for money.
Review 16 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
As expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
05 August 2010.
The item came in a handy bucket with good instructions on how and where to use the product. I used the bonemeal on my privet hedge and it appears to have helped the hedge grow. Opening the bucket can be difficult. I have found the empty bucket very useful for storage after i used all the bonemeal.
Review 17 for Westland Bone Meal - 10kg
Best Buy!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 August 2010.
Really great buy! for such a large amount for such a low price and it brought out the best in my garden and veg, i strongly recomend anyone to try this more so what with climate change this really helps strengthern plants making them really strong and healthy all year round, one is all i needed for my large garden and veg patch for a year and for the price it is unbeatable for the tested and proven results, only a fool would not buy this product.