Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Interior emulsion paint or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Home of Colour Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L

Home of Colour Matt Emulsion is a high quality emulsion creating a non-reflective finish, which is ideal for hiding minor marks and imperfections Colour: Neutral Size: 2.5L Coverage (per litre): 12sq m Coverage per tin: 30sq m Effects and finish: Soft matt Usage: Walls and ceilings Suitable surfaces: Multi surface Number of coats recommended: 2 Drying time: Touch dry in 1 - 2 hours Time to recoat: 4 hours Interior exterior usage: Suitable for interior use Coverage disclaimer: Coverage is dependent on the kind of surface being painted and should be used as a guide only
Average Customer Rating:
3.98 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
6
from 51 customer reviews
41 out of 51(80%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Review 1 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
poor
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
15 October 2014.
You will need at least 3 coates
Review 2 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
shockingly bad
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
23 February 2014.
Having shopped at Homebase for over 20 years, this is the first review I have felt that I needed to write.
I used Homebase Duracoat on a landing & stairs & said to myself 'never again'!! Even after 3 coats, the finish was patchy & rough in places.
But, I bought Duracoat soft latte (not on the website yet) for a downstairs toilet. I was hoping that as it was a smaller room it may go on easier without the roller sticking to applied paint & removing it all.
Sadly I was wrong. Experience showed me that all cutting in has to be done first & allowed to dry before the walls were rollered. I bought a good quality roller for the job & stirred the paint for 3-4 minutes. As soon as you touch applied paint, the roller lifts it off & deposits it elsewhere ruining a smooth surface. The paint starts to congeal in the tray within minutes & this is applied to the wall. Whether I put it on thick or thin, it does not like touching fresh paint as it will lift it. If you have to paint around a window or any obstacle, you'll have problems.
So unless you can paint with both arms at the same time or you are doing a very very small wall, I'd leave it alone.
Just waiting for it to dry now so I can sand the walls & start again!!!
Review 3 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Good quality paint.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
11 April 2013.
Went on evenly and looked great.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: marie ,
feltham
great
Posted 24 February 2014
great colour went on nice looks very homley
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Eventually got the right colour !
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 April 2013.
After buying various match pots which I thought "were the right colour in the shop" but looked nothing like the colour once I put them on the wall, I eventually found the right one.
The paint was good to apply and covered the wall, just as it said it would on the tin.
Review 5 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Not a bad paint
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
06 March 2013.
Despite mixing with a mechanical mixer there were lots of irritating black dots which turned to streaks which took a lot of fiddling to get rid of. Not properly mixed.
Shame it's a nice colour.
Review 6 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
Great quality and value, two coats - job done
Review 7 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 January 2013.
we used stone colour as rcomended to go with the wallpaper we picked and found it complemented the wallpaper picked.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Great Quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
Easy to apply. Does what it says on the tin. Really pleased with the finish.
Review 9 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Nice paint
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
09 January 2013.
Nice colour, looked very goog. Coverage good and even
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Poor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
07 November 2012.
Wasn't happy with the paint didn't cover very well did about three coats.
Review 11 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Lovely
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
03 October 2012.
Leaves a lovely, homely warm colour on the walls. Has made all the difference to our lounge!
Review 12 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Nice finish
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
04 July 2012.
Colour matched well to that in leaflet and on tin. Looks lovely in our kitchen, nice finish on it, took a couple of coats though but I guess this is normal. Overall nice.
Review 13 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Thin and splattery
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
09 May 2012.
This my favourite colour and I have used Homebase stone paint in many rooms in the last 2 houses I've had and always been happy with colour and coverage. I think in the past I used duracoat which was fine. This time I got regular Matt emulsion and it was thin and splattered all over me and everything else in the room, no matter how gentle or heavy handed I tried to be. Very frustrating and it took 3 coats on a cream wall!
I will not buy this again.
In fact I have over 3/4 of a tin left but can't bring myself to use it in the bedroom as it was such an awful paint to use.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: DorsetDecorator ,
Dorset
Agree!
Posted 06 October 2012
I was so disappointed in this paint. It took 3 coats to cover properly and still had a patchy look to it. Gave up eventually and bought reliable Dulux which did it in one go! Never again will I use Homebase paint.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Terrible
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
07 June 2012.
Useless. Too much acrylic in paint. You cannot touch up. Pulls paint back off wall if you leave it too long before cutting in.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
27 April 2012.
Lovely coverage, lovely paint!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Rubbish
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
05 April 2012.
I would not buy this paint again, it needed two coats to cover a pastel green wall. Poor quality worth spending extra on better quality product.
Review 17 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Good Value
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
04 April 2012.
Delighted with product, particularly as it was on a two for one offer. Excellent application and covered wall with one coat.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
paints ok
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
04 April 2012.
its ok to apply but seems darker than on the tin
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
good quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
04 April 2012.
good thick paint which went on the walls easily and without much 'splashback'
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home of Colour Stone - Matt Emulsion Paint - 2.5L
Good Quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
04 April 2012.
Good Quality product for the price payed. Went on nicely, and colour was true to illustrated on tin
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>