Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Peru 4 Seater Round Garden Furniture Set

Peru 4 Seater Round Garden Furniture Set
Average Customer Rating:
2.2 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (5 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
from 5 customer reviews
2 out of 5(40%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Peru 4 Seater Round Garden Furniture Set
Review 1 for Peru 4 Seater Round Garden Furniture Set
Very good value
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
19 August 2014.
This product exceeded expectation, was easy to put up and a pleasure to use.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Peru 4 Seater Round Garden Furniture Set
Splitting wood
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
12 September 2013.
I've had the same issues as the other reviewers. Such a shame as it is a sturdy feeling and attractive looking set. One section of the table started splitting after a few weeks. The rest of the table was fine so I can only assume that section wasn't properly heat treated. Lots of deep cracks appeared and the wood split at the edge, leaving raw splintering. Despite this I'm tempted to re-buy online because it was just what I wanted, but I think this is would be daft.
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Response from Homebase:By James Homebase Trading28 May 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your purchase of the Peru 4 seater garden furniture set. This set is one of our best-selling lines and you can see 5 star reviews for the same set under article code 087536. This set is made from FSC Eucalyptus wood which is widely considered as an excellent choice for outdoor furniture. We recommend treating the wood with hardwood oil (not teak oil as this can drastically darken the wood) before use and then annually from then on. Before treatment, the wood should be cleaned and allowed to dry thoroughly. Please note that Eucalyptus wood has a loose grain, therefore using a pressure washer can cause the grain to lift which can allow water in and can cause the wood to split if it freezes.

Hardwood as a living material will always continue to react in the outdoor environment. Especially when extreme weather changes occur the wood fibers can be impacted, and even splits can occur. Small splits do not negatively impact the overall strength of the item, however we would advise to observe that no splits occur on chair legs. Raw splintering should be sanded off with sand paper to avoid any injury. We do hope that you decide to continue shopping at Homebase and please feel free to contact our Customer Services team if you require any further assistance.
Review 3 for Peru 4 Seater Round Garden Furniture Set
Poor quality
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
10 August 2013.
Very disappointed as I liked the look of this set of table and chairs when I checked it out at the store before ordering by phone. After a couple of months, however, the wood is beginning to splinter and crack in a few places despite oiling. Very light-weight, obviously not sturdy enough. I wouldn't recommend buying.
14 of 19 found this review helpful.
Response from Homebase:By JamesHomebase Trading15 August 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your purchase of the Peru 4 seater garden furniture set. This set is one of our best selling lines and you can see 5 star reviews for the same set under article code 087536. Due to the very high volume of sales on this particular Garden Furniture set, we know that most of our customers have been very satisfied with their purchase. We do hope that you decide to continue shopping at Homebase and please feel free to contact our Customer Services team if you require any further assistance.
Review 4 for Peru 4 Seater Round Garden Furniture Set
Location: Twickenham
Rubbish Quality
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
14 July 2013.
Got this set just before the summer, the quality of the wood is very poor, after very lite usage two of the chairs have broken, one on the joints and the other, one of the seat timbers split so now only worth fire wood.
The table, even after 4 coats of danish oil, which you have to do, has started to split and lift at the joints, the furniture has been protected from any really wet weather.
Unfortunately the chairs are the same quality whatever garden set you buy of this sort. Wood is far to soft and the quality of manufacture is poor. Save your money. Unfortunately, I no longer have the receipt otherwise the whole lot would be going back.
I can not recommend this product and certainly tell my clients to steer clear.
34 of 38 found this review helpful.
Response from Homebase:By JamesHomebase Trading15 August 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your purchase of the Peru 4 seater garden furniture set. This set is one of our best selling lines and you can see 5 star reviews for the same set under article code 087536. Due to the very high volume of sales on this particular Garden Furniture set, we know that most of our customers have been very satisfied with their purchase. We do hope that you decide to continue shopping at Homebase and please feel free to contact our Customer Services team if you require any further assistance.
Review 5 for Peru 4 Seater Round Garden Furniture Set
forget 90mm screws
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
18 May 2013.
instead of 90mm screws which are far too long, and will just split the wood. Use 60mm.
30 of 52 found this review helpful.
Response from Homebase:By JamesHomebase Trading28 May 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your purchase of the Peru 4 seater garden furniture set. This set is one of our best-selling lines and you can see 5 star reviews for the same set under article code 087536. We take your advice seriously and will check back with the original manufacturer. For now we would still advise you to keep using the supplied hardware because the product had been tested for safety and to comply with regulations using those fittings. Using any other fittings could lead to other adverse effects on your furniture. We do hope that you decide to continue shopping at Homebase and please feel free to contact our Customer Services team if you require any further assistance
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Rutlandartist ,
Rutland
Poor response from Homebase
Posted 21 August 2013
Appalling response from Homebase - just a standard, pat reply without addressing the 90 mm screw issue that the customer tooktime to point out. READ the review Homebase and don't just paste your usual reply - customers want action!
Customer Avatar
Written by: designrules ,
Twickenham
Rubbish Quality
Posted 13 July 2013
Unfortunately I brought this set pre summer and didn't keep the receipt. Everything is bad quality, the wood, even after four coats of danish oil started to lift on the table and the chairs are not fit for purpose.
I had one break at the joints, which I managed to fix with six wood screws and another just snapped along the seat. This was only after very light use.
Do NOT buy, you will be disappointed or at the very least expect it to last ONLY one year.
Shocking product.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)