Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Vacuum and Carpet Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Homebase.

Vax U88-AM-B Air 3 Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner.

Multi-cyclonic technology - constant, powerful suction. Powerful performance - 225 air watts.Multi cylonic technology.225 air watts.Side suction for edge to edge cleaning.No loss of suction.Length of hose 1.5m.Stretch hose for staircase cleaning.Capacity of dustbin 2 litres.Total capacity 2 litres.Easy and hygienic dustbox emptying.HEPA 12 filtration.Washable filter.Manual cord rewind.Manual on/off control.Adjustable floorhead.Includes 2 in 1 crevice tool/upholstery tool, dusting brush and metal telescopic extension tube.On-board tool storage.Metal telescopic extension tubes.Suitable for carpets and hard floor.6m power cord.Size H96, W31, D30cm.Weight 4.8kg.Manufacturer's 6 year guarantee.EAN/MPN/UPC/ISBN: 5012512134031.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
from 10 customer reviews
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Vax U88-AM-B Air 3 Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner.
Review 1 for Vax U88-AM-B Air 3 Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner.
Location: UK
Super Sucker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
27 October 2012.
I've been looking for a lightweight vacuum for ages - I'm nearly 6ft tall and I can't stand the pull along behind you models, but the uprights are either too heavy or don't have enough suction. This fits the bill. It is very manouvreable, has a brush you can turn on and off, and seems to be powerful enough. It has a narrow brush head and you can actually use it on the stairs without having to resort to the tools. It is really easy to assemble and doesn't take up a lot of storage space.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vax U88-AM-B Air 3 Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner.
Outstanding Little Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
16 October 2012.
The Air3 is the best vacuum cleaner I have had to date.
It was easy to assemble, and I was hovering within 10 minutes of its arrival.
The function that allows you to adjust the handle height is great, me and my husband are quite tall so have it up to the top, however it’s great to take it back down again for storage. It fits neatly into my cupboard under the stairs.
The weight is incredibly light, I always put off the hovering upstairs we have 3 floors and previous hoovers are heavy and bulky – I carried the Air3 up one handed with ease.
I did struggle for a few minutes to figure out how the release and lean the unit back to begin cleaning, there is no button you just apply pressure to the base and your away.
The suction is amazing, the hoover almost felt like it was pulling me with it at times.
I did find that there’s a learning curve to using a machine with this amount of manoeuvrability but the benefits are outstanding.
There is a button to turn the brushes on/ off, on being for carpets, off being for hard floors.
I was amazed at the results when using the brushes off and cleaning my wooden floors and laminate bathroom floors. My previous cleaner had a hard floor option but it did not give anywhere near the type of results the Air 3 gave – This is what pleased me the most, I can now easily go from carpet to hard floor at the push of a button and get the same great cleaning results without also having to brush up.
The attachments are fine, I generally don’t like to many but the crevis and brush are included for stairs, and hard to reach places.
The only thing I would change is the cord length, I would prefer it to be a little longer, but it was adequate enough.
Review 3 for Vax U88-AM-B Air 3 Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner.
Light and Airy!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
15 October 2012.
The Vax Air 3 is an impressively light and attractive vacuum cleaner. It is quite petite as far as vacuum cleaners are concerned which makes it particularly suitable for small flats and houses and for singles and couples who don't make that much mess.
The silver and orange colours are very familiar and it is quite a sleek object. It's also very easy to use because it is so light and manoeuvrable. It is particularly successful in its ability to swivel around corners and also to get under low objects such as coffee tables. This is because it has a dual axis that allows it to twist and turn. You simply gently pull back on the Air 3 in order to recline it and then twist the handle in order to move it around and under the furniture. It feels unusual as there is no button or lever to press in order to make the cleaner recline, but after I had realised this was the case, it was very easy to achieve the recline. Equally, when you want to restore the cleaner to its upright position, you simply push the handle back until it clicks back into place.
I was really impressed by how effectively the Air 3 picks up dirt. There are two brush-bar positions to use on either carpet or hard floors and it's very easy to swap between the two positions just by using the brush-bar on/off button that is at the top of the cleaner. I was also impressed by how quiet the Air 3 is. My youngest daughter normally hates the noise when I am vacuuming but she didn't seem to notice the sound of the Air 3 at all. Now, I'm not very technically minded but I have read that the Air 3 has multi- cyclonic technology which contributes to its powerful suction as it separates dirt from the air.
There is a hose attachment for awkward areas and stairs and this is also very easy to put together and use.
Because the Air 3 is such a small and compact machine, I expected to be constantly emptying the dirt container because it would fill too quickly. However, that is not the case, as it actually has a capacity of 3.0 litres which apparently is full size capacity. It is reasonably straight-forward to empty as there is a button to press in order to release the dirt container from the cleaner and there is a catch that allows the hinged bottom to open.
Because it is so small and compact, it is very easy to store virtually anywhere and so it's ideal for homes with little storage space. Also,it's light weight and manoeuvrability make it very suitable for people who have restricted movements or find it difficult to carry heavier objects. Overall, there is a great deal to recommend about the Air 3 and is well worth considering if you are looking for a smaller, lighter model.
Review 4 for Vax U88-AM-B Air 3 Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner.
Better then a Dyson!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
15 October 2012.
I've recently received a vax air3 to test and having used it we've easily decided it's better than our Dyson when it comes to suction. It's much lighter, smaller to store and it seems to have double the suction on it - what more can you ask for? The handle is adjustable, the brushes can be turned on or off by the click of a switch which makes it suitable for carpets or wooden floors and it works a treat. I used to spend ages sweeping up getting into the little nooks and crannies but the hose detaches very easily from the hoover & the combi brush attachment reaches into the smallest of places.
The hoover moves around very easily using two hands but I do find it a little more awkward if trying to hoover quickly with one hand but this isn't really an issue. It's easy to empty and easy to use.
Overall, a brilliant hoover and I would recommend it to anyone.
Review 5 for Vax U88-AM-B Air 3 Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner.
vax u88 air3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
15 October 2012.
This is the hoover to get if you need a light manoeuvrable hoover that dose a great job in all parts of the house i have used it and found no issues with it easy to clean and use
Review 6 for Vax U88-AM-B Air 3 Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner.
No Loss of Suction
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 October 2012.
Vax Air3 is extremely lightweight, very little and so easy to manoeuvre around and its performance is incredible. The suction power is great, and my carpets look amazing when vacuumed. It is simple to empty and the handle with the attachments makes a wonderfully long wand for cleaning places you can't reach. When the brushes get blocked the brushes stop working and a red light comes on, really easy to unblock and you just press the reset button and it goes back to green.
Review 7 for Vax U88-AM-B Air 3 Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner.
The Incredible Vac
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
11 October 2012.
The Vax Air 3 is extremely lightweight and very easy to use. My three year old can use it and enjoys it aswell. I like the adjustable handle bar as is helps me to change the height of the vacuum cleaner where I am comfortable using. I like knowing that I can now reach the places that I was struggling to clean before. Thanks Vax. It is highly recommended and enjoyable to use.
Review 8 for Vax U88-AM-B Air 3 Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner.
Vax Air 3
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
08 October 2012.
Wow the Vax Air 3 is a super lightweight yet extremely powerful cleaner. After the first vac up I was horrified to see the amount of dust etc... picked up. My old cleaner could never manage this!!! This vac is so simple and easy to use and restores the pile of your carpets and leaves them spotless. As the Vax Air 3 is super lightweight it makes it easier for me as I suffer from chronic back pain and find bulky, heavy vacs a nightmare to push around.The added bonus of a 6 year guarantee shows that you can have confidence in this machine. It has made a huge difference to my whole house and cleaning routine. I can strongly recommend this product to all.
 
My Product Recommendations
Vax U88-AM-B Air 3 Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner.
4.8 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 9 for Vax U88-AM-B Air 3 Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner.
Location: England
Amazing suction
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
08 October 2012.
This is my first ever time of owning an upright vacuum, and I must say over all I am very impressed. The suction is absolutely brilliant, I have a very deep pile rug, which usually I can only clean properly the old fashioned way, by taking it outside and beating it, with the Air 3 I don't have to do that, its breathed a new lease of life into it. Very easy to use, so lightweight and easy to empty, I've never used vacuums with bags so this is great. My only gripe is I would like a longer pipe on it, for those thorough once a year spring clean of the ceilings
Review 10 for Vax U88-AM-B Air 3 Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner.
The Vax Air 3 U88-AM-B
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 October 2012.
The Vax Air 3 U88-AM-B
This works really great. The first time I used it I was amazed to see the colour of my carpet so clearly.
Any part I missed was clearly visible. My hair, which I have difficulty lifting off the carpet was no problem. I managed to clean the house in half my normal time.
The light weight and the flexible body makes it easier to manoeuvre around the furniture; however it doesn’t clean very close to the edge of skirting as I would like it to, one has to use the hose with the small nozzle attachment. The attachments are all fitted snugly around the Vax so easier to change whilst cleaning. Whats more its Bagless.
The flexible hose is too short for stairs and it feels bulky carrying up the stairs; but the 6yrs guarantee without additional charge, gives you a peace of mind if anything goes wrong.
A great item to purchase.
 
My Product Recommendations
Vax U88-AM-B Air 3 Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner.
4.8 out of 5(10)