Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Paint or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Homebase.

Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L

This Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation is ideal for use before painting any wall.Coverage: 2.5L covers 28 sq m.For exterior use: Yes.For interior use: Yes.Colour: White.Drying time: 24 hours.Suitable surfaces: Walls.Volume: 2.5L.Coats recommended: 1.For use in kitchens and bathrooms: Yes.VOC level: Minimal.
Average Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
from 18 customer reviews
14 out of 18(78%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
Review 1 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
Does what it says on the tin
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
08 November 2012.
Base coat is great for those walls with distinct colours to cover or cracks to hide! It covers them all and with little fuss!
Review 2 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
pollycell
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
14 March 2012.
Its the best stuff i have every used to cover all the smokers ceilings with a coat or two. Also as great on wood boxing in, and coved most of the grain.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 February 2012.
ideal to cover some crack or uneven wall or ceiling to give a good / smooth wall or ceiling without making a mess.
I have use it nearly every room, the outcome of the result is very good.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
Good finish for poor walls
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
01 February 2012.
Used this on several walls in our house now and it helps to make poor finishes smooth.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
very disappointing
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
04 December 2011.
I wouldn't waste your money on this product. Although it covers hairline cracks, other small imperfections still show clearly. We found that for some reason the basecoat bubbled up leaving a kind of orange peel effect in places. For us this has proved to be a work creator rather than a work saver!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
disappointing
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
Didn't cover imperfections or dark colours as promised, even after appling two coats. Very difficult to paint over, lots of drag.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
Slightly Disappointed
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
11 May 2011.
I bought this because i thought it would fit all my needs, but to be honest it will only do what the name of the product says "Basecoat" don't expect anything more from it.
It will cover paint but you will probably need 2 coats.
It might cover the smallest of hairline cracks but do not expect it to cover the minutest of wall imperfections.
Pollyfilla technology it claims on the tub but what that actually equates to I'm not sure.
So in summary not great but not terrible, I would look at alternative options next time.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
Good quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
13 April 2011.
Excellent finish and easy to work with. Overall a good product.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
Brilliant
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
04 February 2011.
This stuff really works! Hair cracks covered and provides a lovely surface for painting. Would recommend it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
great product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 December 2010.
excellent product for that covered all my small cracks and blemishes gave my walls a much smoother finish
Review 11 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
Paint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
02 December 2010.
This does exactly what is says it will do - cover up hair line cracks in walls. Use prior to painting preferred colour.
Review 12 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
better than expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
01 December 2010.
I am a keen DIYer and i was a little wary of this product because when do products actually do what they say they do? In my experience not very often. So i gave the basecoat a go and sure it enough it did everything and more. Easy to apply with roller and good covergae. An excellent product that saved me hours having to re skim. I would highly recommend this product to anyone with small cracks to be covered with ease.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
Excellent result
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
03 November 2010.
The Polycell base coat is easy to apply (i use a small roller to get an even texture - no brush marks :( ).
You will be delighted with final emulsion finish. Especially good if using silk or satin as it removes any 'edges' from filled areas. Do make sure all the filling and rubbing down is done before applying Polycell base coat and that the surface is clean, grease free and dry, Sugar Soap is good for cleaning.
The product may seem a little pricy but well worth the investment. it doesn't take very long to apply either.
Happy decorating!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
truly great
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 October 2010.
proberly the very best base coat that money can buy
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
As expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 October 2010.
It does exactly what it says on the tin. It covers all minor cracks perfectly
Review 16 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
Location: United Kingdom
Does the Job
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
08 August 2010.
It may have taken several coats, but this poduct covered a badly water-stained wall before putting on 2 layers of the final colour. You wouldn't know there had been any staining now.
Review 17 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
Good to ondercoat but not as good as I'd hoped.
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
05 August 2010.
I bought this to sort out uneven walls before I painted. It was okay and sorted out some hairline cracks on the ceiling but not what I expected. There's no way it will cover the cracks it suggests it can on the tin......
Review 18 for Polycell Basecoat Surface Preparation - 2.5L
Does what it says it will
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
05 August 2010.
Good basecoat & covers dark colours very well. Easy to apply by brush, but avoid over spreading.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.