Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm

Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
from 36 customer reviews
32 out of 36(89%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Review 1 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Lawnmower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
23 August 2014.
A good buy, makes a change to follow it instead of pushing, should have done this a long time ago.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
21 August 2014.
Very easy to use worth buying it
Review 3 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
A good buy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
25 March 2014.
Decided to go for a low price self propelled after my very old machine gave up. The Sovereign self propelled seemed ok. Good service from my local Homebase it went together without any problem and started without fuss, that made a change compared with my old machine. Worked we'll even on damp grass. Seems to be good value and it works!
20 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
great mower ,easy to use ...
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
29 December 2013.
bought while in sale so 20% off made a difference, was unsure at first if would do the job as I have a large lawn , but I was very surprised how quick and easy it did the job, self propelled was a joy , never go back to electric ! use to take an hour now 15 mins max ,, starts up easy ,and doesn't need emptying as much.. all in all very happy ,
31 of 31 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
nice mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
01 September 2013.
I read all of the reviews before buying so i knew it was the mower for me, and yes, Its a great little mower indeed, no problems at all, be careful though as it does not come with any oil so read instructions before starting as its empty ! well happy with it !
16 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Great value.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
20 July 2013.
Only used it once so far, but coming from a hover mower to this is like night and day!
Followed instructions, filled it with oil and petrol and it fired straight away.
It used to take me 1 1/2 hours to do my garden and I would be knackered! - but I`ve just done it in 30 minutes with little effort.
The self propulsion lever is just like an on/off switch so it bumps forward as you pull it instead of releasing smoothly - but once moving the speed is slow enough that it does`nt feel like it`s taking you for a walk.
And it has a plastic deck for those worried about a metal one corroding away.
13 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Derek ,
Bristol
nice'n'easydoesit
Posted 17 March 2014
Couldn't agree more! Read instructions, built it, filled it, started it. Used it for first time today on new, still quite wet growth - medium cut setting - and it was a breeze. What a pleasure with the self propel after years of pushing! Half an hour after two hours previously. Neighbours watched enviously. Clutch is easy after a little practise. Easy to clean after use as well. One of those 'toys' that you look forward to getting out next week, which pleases my wife!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Mostly ok
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
12 July 2013.
Just used for the first time and it is a first class mower. Much lighter than my old McCulloch which refused to start. It really does cut very well and started first time. However a minor gripe, it is a tad underpowered and a few pounds on the price to provide an engine with a little more umph would be worthwhile and at the same time make the grass collector just a bit bigger. Having said that I am so far very very pleased with the product and would recommend as a good buy.
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Does a great job
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
02 June 2013.
Bought this mower based on the excellent reviews left by other customers. I got it when there was a holiday weekend 20% discount offer on so the purchase was even better. It was easy to set up and get started for its first use. It cuts very well and is a lot quieter than our old petrol mower. This one being self-propelled makes it so much easier to use as well.
One point to make though, the description says it is a 4 stroke engine, I am reliably informed by my husband who is an engineer that it is only a 2 stroke engine. Not that it effects its performance, just a mis-statement in the product description!
16 of 82 found this review helpful.
Comments (7)
Comments (7)
Customer Avatar
Written by: NewMowerRequired ,
Fyvie
Terrible!
Posted 23 June 2014
The motor struggles in even the shortest of grass and does not collect the grass but deposits it in clumps on the lawn. The only reason the grass looks shorter after you have finished is because you have walked on it!
Customer Avatar
Written by: Goodman ,
Basildon
Posted 08 June 2014
It is FOUR STR. Be careful of your husband's advice
Customer Avatar
Written by: Livvy ,
Aldershot
Livvy
Posted 03 May 2014
This is definitely not a 2 stroke engine as the petrol & oil are not mixed together. As with all 4 stroke engines the fuels (oil & petrol) have separate tanks.
Customer Avatar
Written by: Derek ,
Bristol
Sovereign Mower
Posted 16 March 2014
Having just purchased one of these mowers, I can confirm that this is definately a 4 stroke and
a) Putting a 2 stroke mixture in will not start it and
b) Putting 2 stroke engine oil in will damage the engine in any case.
Customer Avatar
Written by: Sunbeamer ,
Swindon
Sovereign Mower engine
Posted 10 June 2013
Having read the operating manual about this mower I can confirm that it is a FOUR STROKE engine, not 2-stroke as suggested by one reviewer.
Customer Avatar
Written by: Sunbeamer ,
Swindon
Sovereign Mower engine
Posted 10 June 2013
Regarding the comment about this mower being 2-stroke or 4-stroke. 4-stroke engines run on 100% petrol whilst the engine is lubricated by oil, which is kept separate from the fuel.
2-stroke engines on the other hand have 2-stroke oil mixed in with the fuel at a certain ratio (typically 40:1 )(i.e. 40 parts petrol to 1 part oil each time you fill the tank. 2-stroke engines are usually smaller capacity
(cc ) than 4-stroke ones..
Customer Avatar
Written by: Jimmy ,
Greenock
Engine Description
Posted 10 June 2013
No disrespect to your husband but the engine in this mower is definitely a 4 stroke motor and runs on neat petrol not a petrol mixture as 2 stroke engines require
Comments (7)
Comments (7)
Review 9 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Superb!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
21 April 2013.
Just bought one of these and used it for the first time today. A lawn that previously took 2.5 hours to cut with an electric mower was done in an hour or so. Easy to assemble and use, and good build quality. Pretty quiet for a petrol mower and there's a large range of height adjustment. I was really impressed with the way it was carefully packed and the manual is really glossy and well written - great examples of a manufacturer who really does put quality first! Basically you get a first class, high quality mower that makes mowing a pleasure and you don't have to fork out much money for it all! Well done Sovereign - now going to see if they make a petrol strimmer..........
18 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Excellent for the Price
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 April 2013.
Needing a petrol mower for a large garden that we have just acquired my husband, as a push cylinder mower fan was cynical about buying a rotary mower. But, as a petrol cylinder was out our budget, we opted for the Sovereign self propelled petrol rotary.
My husband has been the first to praise this machine. Easy to assemble, started first time, easy to start (even for a girl!) easy to use and produces an excellent neat cut which rivals any cut a cylinder could muster. The lawn looks lovely and the mower is a pleasure to use.
It doesn't run away with you like my father-in-laws very old petrol cyclinder that we have been using. Furthermore, it doesn't dig in and take chunks out if the lawn like rotary mowers can.
All in all we would thoroughly recommend this mower.
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Excellent Purchase
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 July 2012.
This is an excellent purchase. I bought it to replace my old Sovereign and it is even better. Lighter, more powerful and with the auto-drive, a real joy to use. Only grumble? the grass box is slightly smaller, so requires more frequent emptying. A minor point.
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Chunky ,
Bury St Edmunds Area
Sovereigh Petrol Mower
Posted 25 April 2013
Relative purchased this mower, Has Arthritis so found it difficult to use, I offered to cut his grass, Took 10 minutes to start it, Underpowered, every time it ran into an extra thick area of grass almost stalled, After 30 minutes it Stopped, Pulled my guts out to restart but couldn't get it started again, Gave up and told him to take it back, Bad buy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
great bit of kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 June 2012.
really happy with this mower, was a little bit worried but does the job brilliant, starts first time. top mower
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Great mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
12 May 2012.
Replaced a broken electric mower with this petrol mower and loved the freedom to move around without worrying about the cable!
Mower is (relatively!) light and manoeuvrable and works very well in straight lines. The curves around our garden edges were more of a challenge but, as the mower is quite light this wasn't too difficult to deal with.
Our garden is on quite a slope and I have struggled with other mowers in the past. The power-drive on this one takes all the effort out of mowing. I just use the power-drive uphill and let it free-wheel downhill.
Seems quite well built but time will tell how long it lasts!
20 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: imp 1 ,
scotland
free wheel
Posted 21 July 2012
my 4 month sovereign mower has never free wheeled and now the height adjustment handle just broke off its going back to homebase to be fixed so hopefully mine will freewheel as its a good mower when it was working
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Does what it says on the box!!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 May 2012.
My first venture in to petrol mowers. Easy to assemble, worked first time - really pleased with the cut of the grass - some people might find it a bit heavy to move without the engine running.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
ALL GRASSED UP
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 May 2012.
THIS MACHINE FOR THE MONEY, QUALITY AND PERFORMANCE IS EXCELLENT.
IT STARTS WELL ,IS EASY TO ADJUST CUTTING HEIGHT AND COLLECTS THE GRASS UP INTO THE COLLECTION BAG AS EXPECTED
FOR A FULL SIZE MACHINE THE HANDLE CAN BE FOLDED IF STORAGE OR TRANSPORTATION IS A PROBLEM.
A WORTHY 9 OUT OR 10
Review 16 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
22 April 2012.
just bought sovereign self propelled mower fantastic buy,.its light and easy to push around normally i would need to use rear motorised wheels this one i dont as its so light in weight,also easy to start and cuts lawn quite short ,alot shorter than my last mower ,if i had to criticise this product then i would have preferred a solid plastic grass box rather than hesian type ,,but other than that fantastic great buy great price
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Excellent value
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2011.
Good quality mower for a medium sized garden at a sensible price.
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Great Value
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2011.
We bought this after our electric mower burned out on the first cut after our summer holiday. As senior citizens we decided to go for a driven mower this time as we have a slight incline on two of our lawns. After a search on the internet we found our local store had one of these left in stock. It was the cheapest self driven power mower we had found with reasonable reviews.
After asembly and filling the mower started on the third pull. It now starts first time when taken from the garden shed. Initially my wife was unable to start it and I had to go to the garden each time, but now she has found the knack and can operate it without any problems.
The speed of the mower drive is ideal, not too fast and not too slow. The power is such that it will not run up the incline on its own but with the least push will move forward at a nice walking pace, no need to run either uphill or downhill. The weight is ideal for manoeuvering as we have many corners and curves. All in all a GREAT BUY and can be used in damp conditions.
One warning, if you purchase one make sure you have at least a litre of engine oil handy as it does not come filled with oil.
51 of 51 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Brilliant
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
17 July 2011.
We used to have an electric mower which broke and then we bought this one. It is fantastic and so much handier than the electric lead getting in your way all the time when trying to mow. Its light and easy to lift in and out of the shed. Would definitely recommend it!
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sovereign Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Mower - 149.3cc - 40cm
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
A smashing piece of equipment my brothr-in-law borrowed it and has gone out and bought the same from you!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>