Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Lawnmowers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sovereign Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm

This powerful 149.4 cc Sovereign 40cm Self-propelled petrol lawn mower is ideal for the small to medium lawn (200-400m2). Lightweight and compact this Sovereign 40cm petrol mower moves itself is ideal for people with a straight lawn and limited storage space. With 5 cutting heights to choose from you select the right height throughout the seasons. The large collection bag of 45L means fewer trips to the compost bin. This Sovereign 40cm self-propelled petrol lawnmower comes with a one year guarantee and a comprehensive support package. Material: Steel, Plastic Features: 4 stroke self-propelled petrol lawnmower, central height adjustment lever, large 45L grass collection bag, 5 cutting-height positions. Self-propelled. Includes: Plug wrench Fuel type: Petrol self propelled Fuel capacity: 800ml Power: 150cc Length of blade: 40cm Cutting width: 40cm Cutting height: 5cm Cutting height range: 25 - 75mm Noise level: 96dB Collection capacity: 45L Weight: 24.5kg Colour: Red Additional information: 7 days a week Petrol Support Service - 01904 727503, Free collection and delivery of your product if we need to repair it- making sure you only have to miss it for one weekend, Online support and spares department. 3 second quick break safety mechanism. Guarantee: 1 year
Average Customer Rating:
4.22 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
from 59 customer reviews
51 out of 59(86%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Review 1 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Great little mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 July 2016.
This was a replacement mover for us, it's great for a medium sized garden. My husband loves that it self propelled. Effortless mowing
Review 2 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Super Machine
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 July 2016.
I was well impressed with this machine. I assembled it, filled with oil and petrol, and on the first pull of the cord it fired up.
Personally I would have liked the oil to be included in the price, as I imagine many people got it home and found no oil within the box.
Other than that I am looking forward to quite a few years of reliable use from it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Four words, brilliant and worth it
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
15 June 2016.
Brilliant motor and well worth the money it's a powerful engine and no complaints about it at all
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
excellent product as expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
19 May 2016.
easy to set easy for work excellent at all
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Fantastic mower!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 April 2016.
Bought this as my husband has had a stroke so I am mowing the grass! The self propelled version makes mowing so easy! Great product Great price!
This mower makes my life much easier!
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Really great cut
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
19 January 2016.
Great little mower just the job for our up hill lawns self propel action a god send real gem.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Dickee ,
Egham Surrey
propulsion queery
Posted 02 May 2016
Can the drive be disengaged to make it a push mower
for tight corners?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Good up to know.only used it once
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
18 August 2015.
Have cut 2 lawns allright.so I am happy up to now.
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Love it
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
19 July 2015.
Cuts the grass lovely
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Very happy with my purchase
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
29 June 2015.
I'm very happy with this mower the self propelled is a lot more powerful then I thought it would be and the lawn it had to tackle it did the job so great put it this way the grass was so long when I finally got around to getting this mower it was about 2 foot high and it went through it like butter and so easy I'm 5"1' and 100 pounds and it practically did the lawn by its self I just guided it. I can't say enough about this mower and I had wanted one of the other mowers but I noticed this one had a more powerful engine but for a better price and now very glad I got this one
21 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
20 June 2015.
very good value for money,,light and easy to start.the height adjustment is much easier than any of my previous mowers. overall I am very pleased with this new addition to my gardening equipment.
13 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Best Value for Money
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 January 2015.
After much research I found this one at Homebase. It has the best cc motor for its cutting width and a good sized grass collection bag. Lots of features including blade height adjustments. Overall, great value for money and I have bought from Homebase lots of times before and will buy from them again with confidence.
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Lawnmower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
23 August 2014.
A good buy, makes a change to follow it instead of pushing, should have done this a long time ago.
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
21 August 2014.
Very easy to use worth buying it
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
A good buy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
25 March 2014.
Decided to go for a low price self propelled after my very old machine gave up. The Sovereign self propelled seemed ok. Good service from my local Homebase it went together without any problem and started without fuss, that made a change compared with my old machine. Worked we'll even on damp grass. Seems to be good value and it works!
27 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
great mower ,easy to use ...
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
29 December 2013.
bought while in sale so 20% off made a difference, was unsure at first if would do the job as I have a large lawn , but I was very surprised how quick and easy it did the job, self propelled was a joy , never go back to electric ! use to take an hour now 15 mins max ,, starts up easy ,and doesn't need emptying as much.. all in all very happy ,
36 of 36 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
nice mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
01 September 2013.
I read all of the reviews before buying so i knew it was the mower for me, and yes, Its a great little mower indeed, no problems at all, be careful though as it does not come with any oil so read instructions before starting as its empty ! well happy with it !
19 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Great value.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
20 July 2013.
Only used it once so far, but coming from a hover mower to this is like night and day!
Followed instructions, filled it with oil and petrol and it fired straight away.
It used to take me 1 1/2 hours to do my garden and I would be knackered! - but I`ve just done it in 30 minutes with little effort.
The self propulsion lever is just like an on/off switch so it bumps forward as you pull it instead of releasing smoothly - but once moving the speed is slow enough that it does`nt feel like it`s taking you for a walk.
And it has a plastic deck for those worried about a metal one corroding away.
16 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Derek ,
Bristol
nice'n'easydoesit
Posted 17 March 2014
Couldn't agree more! Read instructions, built it, filled it, started it. Used it for first time today on new, still quite wet growth - medium cut setting - and it was a breeze. What a pleasure with the self propel after years of pushing! Half an hour after two hours previously. Neighbours watched enviously. Clutch is easy after a little practise. Easy to clean after use as well. One of those 'toys' that you look forward to getting out next week, which pleases my wife!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Mostly ok
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
12 July 2013.
Just used for the first time and it is a first class mower. Much lighter than my old McCulloch which refused to start. It really does cut very well and started first time. However a minor gripe, it is a tad underpowered and a few pounds on the price to provide an engine with a little more umph would be worthwhile and at the same time make the grass collector just a bit bigger. Having said that I am so far very very pleased with the product and would recommend as a good buy.
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Does a great job
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
02 June 2013.
Bought this mower based on the excellent reviews left by other customers. I got it when there was a holiday weekend 20% discount offer on so the purchase was even better. It was easy to set up and get started for its first use. It cuts very well and is a lot quieter than our old petrol mower. This one being self-propelled makes it so much easier to use as well.
One point to make though, the description says it is a 4 stroke engine, I am reliably informed by my husband who is an engineer that it is only a 2 stroke engine. Not that it effects its performance, just a mis-statement in the product description!
16 of 91 found this review helpful.
Comments (8)
Comments (8)
Customer Avatar
Written by: lloydie ,
bournemouth
lloydie
Posted 24 June 2016
the engine is a single cylinder four stroke configuration not 2 stroke or you would need to add 2 stroke oil to the fuel to use it
Customer Avatar
Written by: NewMowerRequired ,
Fyvie
Terrible!
Posted 23 June 2014
The motor struggles in even the shortest of grass and does not collect the grass but deposits it in clumps on the lawn. The only reason the grass looks shorter after you have finished is because you have walked on it!
Customer Avatar
Written by: Goodman ,
Basildon
Posted 08 June 2014
It is FOUR STR. Be careful of your husband's advice
Customer Avatar
Written by: Livvy ,
Aldershot
Livvy
Posted 03 May 2014
This is definitely not a 2 stroke engine as the petrol & oil are not mixed together. As with all 4 stroke engines the fuels (oil & petrol) have separate tanks.
Customer Avatar
Written by: Derek ,
Bristol
Sovereign Mower
Posted 16 March 2014
Having just purchased one of these mowers, I can confirm that this is definately a 4 stroke and
a) Putting a 2 stroke mixture in will not start it and
b) Putting 2 stroke engine oil in will damage the engine in any case.
Customer Avatar
Written by: Sunbeamer ,
Swindon
Sovereign Mower engine
Posted 10 June 2013
Having read the operating manual about this mower I can confirm that it is a FOUR STROKE engine, not 2-stroke as suggested by one reviewer.
Customer Avatar
Written by: Sunbeamer ,
Swindon
Sovereign Mower engine
Posted 10 June 2013
Regarding the comment about this mower being 2-stroke or 4-stroke. 4-stroke engines run on 100% petrol whilst the engine is lubricated by oil, which is kept separate from the fuel.
2-stroke engines on the other hand have 2-stroke oil mixed in with the fuel at a certain ratio (typically 40:1 )(i.e. 40 parts petrol to 1 part oil each time you fill the tank. 2-stroke engines are usually smaller capacity
(cc ) than 4-stroke ones..
Customer Avatar
Written by: Jimmy ,
Greenock
Engine Description
Posted 10 June 2013
No disrespect to your husband but the engine in this mower is definitely a 4 stroke motor and runs on neat petrol not a petrol mixture as 2 stroke engines require
Comments (8)
Comments (8)
Review 20 for Sovereign 150cc Petrol Self-propelled Rotary Lawnmower - 40cm
Superb!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
21 April 2013.
Just bought one of these and used it for the first time today. A lawn that previously took 2.5 hours to cut with an electric mower was done in an hour or so. Easy to assemble and use, and good build quality. Pretty quiet for a petrol mower and there's a large range of height adjustment. I was really impressed with the way it was carefully packed and the manual is really glossy and well written - great examples of a manufacturer who really does put quality first! Basically you get a first class, high quality mower that makes mowing a pleasure and you don't have to fork out much money for it all! Well done Sovereign - now going to see if they make a petrol strimmer..........
24 of 26 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>