Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Power Tools or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Homebase.

Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w

Entry level tool for planing timber to size and chamfering edges.15000rpm.0-2mm.Dust Extraction Facility.Aluminium base.650w.Available for delivery to mainland UK and Northern Ireland.  Unfortunately we cannot deliver to the outlying islands.
Average Customer Rating:
3.967 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
from 30 customer reviews
26 out of 30(87%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
Review 1 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
Messy but Good
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByOneway .
10 April 2013.
Four star as, though planes really well, most sawdust does not go in the bag, so you will need to vacuum clean afterwards.
Good tool, but messy.
Review 2 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
Magnificent piece of kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNeOsage .
10 April 2013.
I don't know how I've managed 47 years without one of these and I was a little sceptical given the low price but it feels reassuringly solid and performs admirably. The depth adjustment is quick and simple and it doesn't weigh a ton like others I looked at . The handle is comfortable and at the right angle and it does exactly what it says on the tin. The dust collector is very tight to fit, but that also means it doesn't blow off during use. I'm very pleased with this very handy tool.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
excellent value for money
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByShy Talk .
09 November 2012.
Having never owned or even used a planer previously, I was delighted with the results it gave me. I was planing recycled timber to make a fire surround, not really knowing how it would turn out. Happy to say, the planer did a great job. I reckon the money I've saved on not having to buy prepared timber, more than paid for it.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
very poor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byjm .
12 September 2012.
bought this planer to do 2 doors as i got new carpets and doors were tight on carpet , broke before i could finish first door. I AM NOT IMPRESSED. TOOK IT BACK FOR REFUND NEXT DAY.
Review 5 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
Very poor indeed
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByFredFazer69 .
05 September 2012.
Poor quality planer , wondered why it came with a replacement belt included, belt snapped or melted without one door completed at minimal depth of cut.
Took it back for refund and bought a Bosch instead. Twice the price but immeasurably better.
Review 6 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
good quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bypeckham girl .
02 August 2012.
easy to use, value for money just as good as expensive models
Review 7 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
Plane enough
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bygoodwira .
02 August 2012.
I bought this to do a small job and it was on offer at the time and so was very good value. It did the job quickly and with our vacuum cleaner plumbed upto to it it was very clean. I have not painted over the new surfaces and am very happy with the finish. The tool itself has done what I expected it to and I would happily say that this is not a bad tool at all.
Review 8 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byno-name .
09 May 2012.
easy to use.
just plug n go.
simple to use.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
broke during first use
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByRedFred .
04 April 2012.
We had several doors to plane so decided to purchase this. Unfortunately it stopped working half way through the first door and we had to take it back and purchase a hand planer instead which was much more effective.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: fazer69 ,
Chester le Street, County Durham
Mine broke too !!!!
Posted 19 July 2012
Absolutely agree, motor stopped driving cutter after only half a door edge planed and only 1 mm cutting depth. Drive belt had melted. Wondered why a spare belt was included in box ?. Avoid !!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
Excellent quality and price
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJC .
16 November 2011.
This electric planer is ideal at efficiently undertaking household chores and is much cheaper than so called recognised brands where a premium is paid for the name. I initially purchased this planer to plane down a side of my front door which was sticking - the electric planer did an excellent job in no time whatsoever. I was impressed not only by the competitive price but also the robust build which gives a more confident feel to undertaking such tasks. Highly recommended.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
Much better than expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByFrontline .
16 November 2011.
As I have said the planer was much better than expected, for the price I expected it to be quite flimsy but no it is made and put together very well. There was only a couple of negatives i could say about the product, the first is that the motor housing is a bit wide and bulky and sometimes got in the way, the second was that it could do with a motor hold on mechanism, it got a bit tiring holding the power switch on all the time.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
Great machine
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySteve .
16 November 2011.
A Good quality machine.Not used one up till now but proved easy to use and very quick,Much better and more accurate than a hand plane
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
Great product
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByV26 .
09 November 2011.
This was a really great price.we have currently planed 4 doors and it makes it really easy.definately would reccomend.very easy to use,only one problem is the planer makes a mess with its dust.the dustbag doesn't help at all.
Review 14 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
Good Tool
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bycommodore128d .
05 September 2011.
with 9 internal wooden doors to fit and only a hand planer. i decided it was time to upgrade to a power unit. shopped around and found this unit within my budget and at 650 watts quite powerfull. found it to be light yet robust for the home. easy depth setting for larger cuts,although i would not reccomend too big a cut for obvious reasons. found trimming from bottom to top easy but a bit awkward when you reverse cut. comes with a dust bag to collect the shavings which tended to block up on occasion but a quick clean seemed to fix the problem. probably i let the bag fill up to much. comes with a spare drive belt,brushes for the motor and a nice tool/jig for sharpening the blades which cames as a pleasant surprise. all in all it did a very good job at a reasonable price.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
Works well
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByAPT .
19 July 2011.
I've got to admit - this is a great plane. Takes all the hard graft out of planing. A major upgrade on the manual one (even better if you plug it in - batteries not included). Took the top off the door with ease - shame 'cos I was supposed to do the bottom, so I've just turned the door upside-down! (The handle's a bit awkward now but it's fine when you get used to it). Would like to think it'll be useful again in the future, but the wife has barred me from having another go, muttering something about "destroying her home, etc, etc......"
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
Delighted
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByScotty .
13 July 2011.
Extremely pleased with the quality and effectiveness of the product. easy to use and minimal mess while using
Review 17 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
did what it was supposed to do
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byicky the firebobby .
13 July 2011.
got it out of the box "plugged & Planed" to my hearts content. Great little plane - suitable for light jobs - made short work of the door - saved loads of time and energy. light and easy to use.
Review 18 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCelica .
04 May 2011.
Found the planer very good for planing across the end grain of the wood. The dust extracter does not work very well.
Review 19 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
Suitable for odd jobs
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByBadger's Wife .
04 May 2011.
Found to be suitable for short and simple jobs, i.e. bottom of doors, but wouldn't recommend for extended use or with expensive woods
Review 20 for Powerbase Planer Kit - 650w
plain planer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bychris .
13 April 2011.
great value for money
robust
1 2 next>>