Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Hobbies and Crafts or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Homebase.

Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml

Bostik Sew Simple is a permanent adhesive for clothing, fabric repairs and alterations.Effect and finish: White effect.For interior use: Yes.Drying time: 60 seconds.Volume: 40ml.Suitable surfaces: Cloth fabric.
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
from 14 customer reviews
11 out of 14(79%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
Review 1 for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
Does what it says
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnnabel .
09 January 2013.
Never used SewSimple before. Used it to repair some suede on slippers and did the job perfectly. Stuck sheepskin onto suede.
Review 2 for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
Excellent quality but...
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPatchit .
01 February 2012.
I have used SewSimple for several years to pat;ch denim jeans. It has worked very well. Recently I used SewSimple that my wife bought in August 2011. I found that this tube, which had been opened, did not stick as well as when the tube was initially opened. This leads me to believe that the shelf life of an opened tube is not as great as it says on the packet.
Tips: I do a lot of heavy work using work gloves. Invariably I wear holes in the fingers of the gloves. I found that I can successfully repair the gloves by cutting a small circular patch of leather, carefully placing it on the inside of the hole and gluing the two together, adding several months of life to the gloves.
I am not a seamstress so using SewSimple has been very helpful to me.
Review 3 for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
So simple
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMary .
13 April 2011.
Easy to use, clean. Does exactly what it says with no fuss or mess.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
works wonders
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMo .
01 December 2010.
This really does work really well and easy to use. Would buy it again.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
absolutely brilliant
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBusy Mum .
01 September 2010.
This is a fantastic product if you are like me and hate sewing, it's quick easy and fool proof a def must for busy people !!
Review 6 for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
It works so far!
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByEgham mummy .
04 October 2012.
I used this it glue fabric onto a bag. It was very easy to apply. It's not been through the wash, but does get thrown around a bit. So far so good....
Review 7 for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
WORKS BUT.......
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byjenny wren .
09 May 2012.
MAKE SURE YOU TEST IT FIRST - DOES SHOW THROUGH THIN FABRIC.
OTHERWISE DOES WORK.
Review 8 for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
Excellant
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bypiglet .
05 February 2012.
Just what is needed - much better than that iron on stuff.
Keeps my trousers up, with no marks, no stiffness.
Review 9 for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
Easy Peasy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByPeter .
30 November 2011.
I washed the old curtains and the linings ripped. A few minutes spent with this glue soon had them back together again ready for a few more years. Very simple to use and very effective.
Review 10 for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
Excellent
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTiger Lilly .
02 December 2010.
A repeat buy for me. This is excellent for craft work and the flow can be controlled so as not to put too much on an item.
Review 11 for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
A product long awaited
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByMike .
01 September 2010.
This product fills a hole in the market for those such as myself without sewing ability. It works quickly as claimed. ( I have not yet tested the washability of garments on which it has been used).
I have two caveats though: I had to store it spout-downwards for some time before the glue and not just the solvent came out; if it does get onto other parts of the garment it is not easy to remove, so care is required.
Review 12 for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByAnonymous .
01 February 2012.
The product is easy to use, however its bleeds thought the material and leaves white marks.
I only now use a small amount to hold things in place, then sew them on in the nornal way.
Review 13 for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
Disappointing and messy
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByAnonymous .
13 April 2011.
I was disappointed with this product. I used it in an "emergency" situation where my trouser hem had come down. The product is very runny and does not dry clear so if you get it on the wrong side of the fabric it shows- or if, like me, you drip a bit and do not notice. It would probably be best used when at home with a proper surface to lay the garment out flat. To be fair I have washed the trousers twice now and the hem has stayed up.(I coloured the "drip" with permanent marker).
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bostik Sew Simple - 40ml
disappointed
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByAnonymous .
13 November 2010.
did not find it easy to use.It says that is washable & iron proof but have already found it is coming apart after only applying it approx 4 weeks ago.I knew it was only a short term fix but expected it to last longer than it has.