Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Garden Power Tools or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Homebase.

Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w

Qualcast GT25 350w Grass Trimmer is ideal to trim and shape the edges of your lawn.Features:25cm Cutting diameter for medium duty trimming, edging function, auto-feed dual line, telescopic shaft and adjustable handle.Type: Electric.Wattage: 350w.Length of cable: 6m.Weight: 2.0kg.Material: PP+ABS.Colour: Green.Noise level: 96db.Handle details: Adjustable handle for added comfort and balance.Safety details: Safety guard.Guarantee: 2 years.
Average Customer Rating:
1.308 out of 5
1.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
12
from 13 customer reviews
1 out of 13(8%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w
Review 1 for Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w
Rubbish
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByKlingon Borg .
01 October 2012.
Strimming line keeps getting jammed causing you to have to remove the spool and untangle. The line will not autofeed at all. The power lead is too short even for a small lawn, causing my cable reel to be dragged across the lawn, flowers beds etc. I thought Qualcast were experts in lawn equipment - obviously not! I wish I had paid more and stuck with a B&D model (which I had previously)
Review 2 for Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w
Useless
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bymattyr .
23 August 2012.
Seems the same as everyone else.
worked fine the first time. 2nd time out the line feed keeps snapping. Even if manually rethreaded snaps again after a few feet and is completely unusable.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w
Awful!!
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bysmc .
30 July 2012.
This has to be the worst strimmer I have ever used. Not fit for purpose. The spool line constantly breaks, the spool doesnt re-thread at all and is so difficult to change it took me forever to do my strimming. It has to be the worst garden product I have ever purchased and for the money is disgraceful! Its going back....I had to give it 1 star as you have to post something but quite frankly its not worth that!
Review 4 for Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w
shocking
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byryan .
29 July 2012.
i to brought this product and worked perfectly well the 1st time, so i binned the box and the receipt as thought this worked perfectly well but since then Ive had the same problem with the wire and after 100's attempts to get the wire on the reel with no success of it staying on there for more than a minute at max so now stuck with a useless strimmer, would recommend to stay away from this product
Review 5 for Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w
Very Disappointed
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByTaramax .
25 July 2012.
I bought this item without reading any reviews.I have had several grass trimmers over the years but never one so useless.The twine keeps breaking every few feet to the point that I gave up completely.Hope to return item but I certainly wont replace it with a Qualcast.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: ryan ,
hants
shocking
Posted 26 July 2012
i to brought this product and worked perfectly well the 1st time, so i binned the box and the receipt as thought this worked perfectly well but since then Ive had the same problem with the wire and after 100's attempts to get the wire on the reel with no success of it staying on there for more than a minute at max so now stuck with a useless strimmer
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w
Absolutely useless
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByBob .
12 July 2012.
The twin lines don't feed out automatically and after a few seconds use break off inside the spool which meant continually having to remove the spool and re-thread the lines. This happened all the time not just on odd occasions.
I tried fitting a stronger "single" line but the same thing kept happening.
The safety guard cannot be adjusted so can only be used left handed.
The strimmer was cheap enough so I wasn't expecting too much but at least it should have worked.
All in all a disgraceful product which was a complete waste of money.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w
superb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybobbyjohn .
07 July 2012.
An excellent product and just what was needed to replace the old one which had died. Very swift delivery as usual.
All in all excellent product and very good service
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w
Awful
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BySGrif .
05 June 2012.
Bought without doing any research.
Had problems with spool line disappearing on first use.
All line gone before I had finished strimming a small area!!! Dreadful
No replacement spools appear to be sold by any one
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w
Not fit for purpose
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bygardener .
12 April 2012.
Wish I had read reviews BEFORE buying this useless item. Only managed 10-15 seconds of use before line cuts and had to keep taking it apart to re-thread the spool which is fiddly and takes ages anyway. Gave up after 5th time in 20 minutes Taking it back today to exchange for a product by different manufacturer.
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: jean ,
cornwall
strimmer
Posted 12 May 2012
wish I also read the reviews, having the same problem. The line snaps after a few inches. It is almost impossible to rethread and it snaps again straight after!
Back to homebase tomorrow!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w
Disappointing
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByFat geezer .
06 April 2012.
It looked good out of the box and I was quite encouraged by it's features listed in the user manual. Sadly it is just not fit for purpose and I have to agree with all the previous reviewers, its downfall is the fact that you can't get more than a few yards without the cord snapping. This has proved too frustrating so will retun it for a refund or exchange for something that works. Surprised at such a poor offering from a well known manufacturer.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: big a ,
gourock
doesnt do exactly as it says on the tin!
Posted 08 April 2012
as all the other comments say, cant get more than half a metre before you have to feed more gut out manually as the automatic way is rubbish! thought i was buying quality but its going back tommorrow!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w
Very disappointing
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByAnonymous .
31 March 2012.
Have just bought this and tried it out. Very disappointed. The line keeps breaking and disappearing back inside the spool meaning you have to stop to take the spool apart and rethread the line. This has happened every few feet along the border and has made what used to be a 10 minute job take about an hour! I never had any problems with my previous strimmer (a Flymo) and only every had to open its spool when it ran out of line.
This initially appears to be great value for money and the features like the adjustable handle and telescopic shaft are excellent, but the strimmer itself just does not work making the whole item totally unfit for purpose. I shall be returning it to the store I bought it from as soon as possible for a refund.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w
Very poor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByPete .
28 March 2012.
This Strimmer is very poor, the cord continually snaps (11 times so far) and I have only managed to strim around 10 feet of border, this strimmer is not fit for purpose. Also rethreading it is not easy. I am suprised that Qualcast could put this on the market.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Qualcast GT25 Grass Trimmer - 350w
not good
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByRocket .
05 March 2012.
I have just purchased this strimmer and find it very poor because every so often the cord just dissappears back inside and too thread it through again is a nightmare,it makes the job twice as long as it should be.My conclusion is it is no improvement on my previous tool.
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Frustrated Gardener ,
Devon
Posted 16 April 2012
I too wish that I had read the reviews on this product before purchasing.It is surprising that a quality company with a very good reputaion has made such a poor product. It is going back to the shop ASAP.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)