Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Qualcast - PC40 Chainsaw - 35cc - 16in/40cm

Qualcast - PC40 Chainsaw - 35cc - 16in/40cm
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (4 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
from 4 customer reviews
4 out of 4(100%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Qualcast - PC40 Chainsaw - 35cc - 16in/40cm
Review 1 for Qualcast - PC40 Chainsaw - 35cc - 16in/40cm
Excellent quality.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
30 March 2015.
I purchased this saw as my old Mc Culloch had packed up. I was happy with the quick delivery and very happy at the ease of starting and general performance of this saw. Just a couple of pulls had the motor running and it made very short work of two fallen trees. It does seem to get through the fuel and chain oil fairly quickly, but it has been doing a lot of work. I found the saw to be more than enough for the job in hand. It also seems to be quieter than my old saw. All in all a very good saw for the money. On the downside, the book of words advises that the air and fuel filters need to be changed fairly regularly as does a spark arrester screen. I searched high and low to find a source for these parts and so far have only found one supplier for the air and fuel filters, and absolutely nobody supplies a spark arrester screen as far as I know. This is the only problem that I have encountered. This apart, it is a great value, well made and very efficient little saw which I fully recommend.
Review 2 for Qualcast - PC40 Chainsaw - 35cc - 16in/40cm
Great little saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
14 December 2014.
This is my first petrol chainsaw, had an electric one in the past but this little thing is so much better. For someone who uses it for cutting logs up for our burner it is just the job.
It really is best to read the full little booklet that comes with it and get an understanding of just how it works.
Once ready to use it started without any problems and I really was shocked just how easy it cut through logs about 15 in diameter
I'm really pleased with it
8 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Qualcast - PC40 Chainsaw - 35cc - 16in/40cm
Works well
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
15 March 2014.
This is the fourth chain saw I have had its got to be one of the best. The last one was cheap rubbish I bought on the net that was a nightmare to start, I was actually glad when it was stolen. This one has an easy start option and if you follow the rules it starts about third pull and glides through foot thick wood with ease. The chain tensioner is a dream, on the first cut you need to stop after about two minutes as the chain stretches quite a bit but after that its every use. Can't recommend this unit enough for occasional loggers its superb.
48 of 70 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Qualcast - PC40 Chainsaw - 35cc - 16in/40cm
So far so good!!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
24 September 2013.
I bought this saw to chop logs for my fire. Came built up and ready to go. I added fuel and chain oil and it started easily. The easy start is really good. I have not used it much yet but it seams good for the money.
57 of 93 found this review helpful.
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Anonymous ,
peter
Posted 03 March 2015
I bought this chainsaw about 4weeks ago and it would not start at all took it back exchanged it no problem thankfully this one started so I started cutting up an old fence cut through the thin stuff ok but struggled on the 4inch posts after about 15mins the chain came off could not put back on as the bar and chain tensioner had come away from the main housing very disappointed got my money back
Customer Avatar
Written by: Gibbonrat ,
Bicester.
Posted 19 January 2015
Bought mine in October and it has been used hard over the last 3 months.
Absolutely brilliant if treated with respect.
Very easy to start except for the toe hold when starting up on the ground is a little small when wearing safety boots.
It does what it says on the box,fully recommended.
Just make sure the fuel mix is clean and of the correct ratio,and it should last for years.
Customer Avatar
Written by: DrSyn ,
Bradford
Excellent for garden work
Posted 07 June 2014
Cuts through trees like butter. You'll need 2 stroke oil and chain oil and petrol of course, tighten the chain and use it straight from the box.
Remember to switch the off switch to on though
Customer Avatar
Written by: James ,
Waterford Ireland
James
Posted 22 April 2014
Like the chain saw but can not work out how to tension the chain keep turning the ring but it will not change the chain tension any one on you tube that could show me how it is done
Starts a dream running smooth just one thing some of the screws fell out and got lost first time I used it so you need to watch that one.
Customer Avatar
Written by: Roger ,
Kent
Mr
Posted 26 December 2013
I BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT AND THE CHAIN WAS FAULTY. NOT IMPRESSESED AT ALL, IT IS NOT GOOD QUALITY. I WOULD NOT BUY OR TOUCH THIS PRODUCT AGAIN.
Customer Avatar
Written by: Dave ,
Sittingbourne
Great Purchase
Posted 03 November 2013
Bought this chainsaw recently, got it out of the box and it was ready to go. Its great value for money and it works a dream. Cuts through thick logs like cutting through butter. Really pleased with the purchase. And it comes with 2 year warranty for all parts - brilliant.
Comments (6)
Comments (6)