Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Decking Oil - 2.5L

Decking Oil - 2.5L
Average Customer Rating:
4.45 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
from 20 customer reviews
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Decking Oil - 2.5L
Review 1 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
Excellent Product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 November 2013.
Easy to apply and leaves an excellent finish!
Review 2 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
Change in specification
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
12 November 2012.
Bought a tin of this earlier in the year, and finally got round to putting it on the decking. Oil based treatment that soaked in well. Ran out before finishing so went and bought a second can. Despite almost identical packaging, seems to be a water based product now. Still seemed to soak in effectively, and no problems so far, but check you're getting what you expect.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
Decking Oil
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
16 November 2011.
uSED IT LAST YEAR AND WAS SO PLEASED WITH IT I BOUGHT AGAIN THIS YEAR - CAN'T SAY MORE THAN THAT !
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
preservation
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 November 2011.
I bought this last year and thought that it was so good that I bought it again this year! All through the winter the rain that fell on my decking beaded up. Can't ask for more
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
Good as its gets
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
05 October 2011.
Second application in 3 years. Goes on well and looks great. Applied second coat and looks even better. It soaks in, unlike these coatings that form a skin and look good for 2 weeks then start to wear with traffic.
Review 6 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
The perfect finish and protector
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
26 September 2011.
The Decking Oil was very easy to use, gave a great finish, and really protects the Decking!
It is also very economical, so the tin will last for years!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
Excellent stuff
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
22 September 2011.
built our own deck and after a week applied the decking oil. Very easy to apply and the results significant. Already the rain has arrived and you notice the wax effect in repelling the water.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
Something new.
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
21 September 2011.
New to decking I set out to find a product to treat my deck with. It just happened that Homebase was having one of its '10% off everything' weekends' and so I was able to get a superb product at a very good price. Having some Aberdonian blood this really pleased me - getting good value and a superb product!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
great product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
19 September 2011.
a good quality oil, the deck I' ve treated is looking like its just been oiled many months later. I will be using this product again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
15 September 2011.
this is a great product, its easy to use and goes a long way, brill value for money.
Review 11 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
Good value
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
05 September 2011.
Being £10 cheaper than the brand option is appealing and it doesn't let you down. Slightly more watery than the brand leaders but 2 coats is easy and saves money. Oil brings out the best of the wood and secures it against frost and water. I do find it needs a few coats about every 6 months but at this price it's well worth it.
Review 12 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
OK
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
20 July 2011.
On bare pressure washed decking - this product doesn't cover very efficiently, ie- you will need more than the tin suggests! The colouring is good, however, if your decking still has some staining it won't hide it (unless you choose a dark colour stain)
The oil is slightly patchy and smells of fish! Don't get it on your hands!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
decking oil
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
easy to apply i used a paste brush quick drying and low odour....tip....do it on a hot day with a can of lager at either end of the decking ,,you will get it done twice as quick......
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
better than named brands
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
used name brands before but went for the store named product to save money and was very suprised , more coverage than the tv advertised dearer option and a better and eaiser coverage
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
It does what it says on the tin
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
13 July 2011.
A suprisingly good decking oil, as good (I thought) as some dearer oils
Review 16 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
Great Stuff - So far so good!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 October 2010.
I bought a wooden garden table & chairs in the summer, and oiled them straight away. I'll be oiling them again before I cover them up for the winter just to make sure they are protected, though this may not be necessary. Oil soaked in well and seemed to waterproof the set in the rain.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
Just what was needed
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 October 2010.
The oil was very easy to use .Having stained my decking before, I was very pleased with the 'natural' effect the oil gave. As the decking had been power washed it took two coats to achieve the desired effect but it was worth it!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
Excellant quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
02 September 2010.
I bought this item for a friend after using myself on my garden chalet and finding it easy to use and longlasting. They also found that it was an excellent product and both of us will be buying it again when required.
Review 19 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
perfect
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
01 September 2010.
two coates brought our new decking to life, fantastic.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Decking Oil - 2.5L
Very Good
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
04 August 2010.
Decking Oil went on very easily and dried evenly. The next time it rained the water beaded on top of the decking instead of soaking in. Wasn't new decking so very pleased with result.