Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Sovereign - Petrol Grass Trimmer - 26cc

Sovereign - Petrol Grass Trimmer - 26cc
Average Customer Rating:
2.25 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (4 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
from 4 customer reviews
1 out of 4(25%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Sovereign - Petrol Grass Trimmer - 26cc
Review 1 for Sovereign - Petrol Grass Trimmer - 26cc
WILL NOT START
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
29 June 2013.
The Sovereign - Petrol Grass Trimmer - 26cc is a waste of money.
After a few hours use last year it now WILL NOT START.
No spare parts are available for this Chinese made machine.
The spark plug is not standard size.
Use Once and Throw away.
18 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Alan ,
Glenrothes
I want my money back, this is a very poor product.
Posted 21 July 2014
I bought one from Homebase last year. The spool line breaks every few seconds, the feed does not work. I followed the instructions for re-loading and after trying many different ways, not any successfully, I contacted the telephone help line to be told that the written instructions were wrong, I followed the verbal instructions given and guess what they did not work either. It is impossible to use. The head swings freely even with frequent tightening of the joint nut. I reckon I have given it all of the chances I am going to. Off to by a new one.......perhaps not from Homebase this time though.
Customer Avatar
Written by: Osbod ,
Wolverhampton
Cheap price, cheap quality!
Posted 24 June 2014
Very poor quality, not up to the job! Head and spool mechanism very flimsy. Coarse throttle, engine cuts out unless on full throttle. Very noisy.
Best to spend more money and get something that works.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Sovereign - Petrol Grass Trimmer - 26cc
Very Poor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
26 June 2013.
Have used for about an hour,
Very disappointing. Every few minutes grass gets clogged around the head and you have to stop and free head, The connecting joint is loose and is impossible to tighten using the hand nut resulting in the cutting head twisting and falling off.
On plus side starts ok.
Am returning to Homebase for refund.
Do not buy.
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sovereign - Petrol Grass Trimmer - 26cc
unexplained stoppage
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
30 May 2013.
bought one last year used it on long grass at the back of my garden once, cut really well, stored it away in my shed, got it out 3 days later and it just refused to start, checked all the leads,plugs etc, tried again,nothing just sat there looking at me, i am Lantra qualified and can maintain them too.
took it back, staff were superb gave me refund no problem,shame as my first impression was that it was a good piece of kit for the price.
i think it was just a dud, no disrespect to the model. go for it if you like it
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: andy ,
fort william
Posted 10 July 2014
i had same thing......first time used stopped after about 1/2 hour and refused to start again. Checked everything and discovered that ht lead had broken inside cap.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sovereign - Petrol Grass Trimmer - 26cc
good quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 May 2013.
performed better than I expected, read start up instructions carefully, this strimmer started on the very first pull of the cord .easy to assemble, you will need the harness as it is a little heavy. excellent value for money. you must remember this is an entry level model. this is a powerfull piece of kit.spares may present a problem in the future if needed hopefully not.
29 of 33 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Anonymous ,
London
Good but loud
Posted 28 May 2013
Used a few times cutting is ok. While being used is loud , for enter level petrol trimmer dose what you need
Customer Avatar
Written by: tin tin ,
Glasgow
Aftersales
Posted 27 May 2013
Purchased the previous model to this and damaged the head and guard in storage. Can`t seem to get a UK spares dept for it and having problems trying to locate parts for it so its still sitting in the garage virtually unused.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)