Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Lawnmowers or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Homebase.

Qualcast Qualcast 150cc Self Propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 51cm

51cm Ready-start Self-propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower, guaranteed starting within 2 pulls. Ideal for large gardens up to 1000 m2, this self-propelled lawn mower makes light work of mowing large lawns, with a 51cm cutting width and easy to start engine. No more priming or choking this Ready-Start engine is guaranteed to start within 2 pulls. It runs quiet and smooth and is simple to maintain. 7 cutting heights to keep your lawn healthy and pristine throughout the season. With 65L grass collection capacity there are few trips to the compost bin - or no trips at all, when you use the mulching plug. The mulching function mulches ultra fine clippings back onto the lawn which fertilizes it at the same time. For ultra quick mowing choose the side charge function. This Qualcast Easy to start 51cm Self propelled petrol rotary mower comes with a  two year guarantee and a 7 days a week comprehensive petrol support service for advice, spares and repairs.  Material: Steel Features: Mulching plug, 7 position central height adjustment lever, folding handle for compact storage and complete product support and after sales service. Includes: Plug wrench and mulch plug. Fuel type: Petrol Fuel capacity: 800ml Power: 150cc Length of blade: 51cm Cutting width: 51cm Cutting height: 7cm Cutting height range: 25mm - 75mm Noise level: 98dB Handle details: Soft grip handle. Collection capacity: 65L Weight: 31.5kg Colour: Green Additional information: 3 second quick break safety mechanism. Guarantee: 2 years
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
from 12 customer reviews
8 out of 12(67%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Qualcast 150cc Self Propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 51cm
Review 1 for Qualcast 150cc Self Propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 51cm
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
19 May 2016.
Exactly as described, one pull to start, easy to use.
A great lawnmower at a really good price.
Review 2 for Qualcast 150cc Self Propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 51cm
Excellent lawnmower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
13 April 2016.
Bought this recently due to my previous 9 year old petrol lawnmower giving up.
The build quality is so much better than my previous one. Assembly was straight forward and took about 10 mins.
Once I put in the petrol and oil, it started with the 2nd pull of the cord. No pumping of fuel etc like my old one. Very impressed.
I've only had the chance to cut a small section of my garden due to time and the British weather being against me, but had no issues, apart from it cutting out quite easily on uneven ground. Raising the cutting height seemed to get around this though.
Review 3 for Qualcast 150cc Self Propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 51cm
Excellent mower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
15 October 2015.
Good lawnmower and very pleased with it. However I was a bit disappointed with the delivery time, which took over a week from date of order, when I knew from the website that there were 4 of the lawnmowers in the Homebase store less than 2 miles away. Having said that the delivery charge was more than reasonable
Review 4 for Qualcast 150cc Self Propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 51cm
Good quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
13 September 2015.
A good quality mower, gives a tidy cut - could do with a better designed grass box but not a major issue.
Review 5 for Qualcast 150cc Self Propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 51cm
Extremely good
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
18 August 2015.
Excellent mower for larger lawns, leaves a good finish and is easy to handle. Just as good as others at twice or three times the price.
Review 6 for Qualcast 150cc Self Propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 51cm
lovely cut
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
21 June 2015.
nice cut easy to use fairly lightweight for this type of machine
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Qualcast 150cc Self Propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 51cm
As expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
24 May 2015.
After only one use a litte early to gtive a meaningful review but first impression is good.
My previous Mountfield mower was of stouter construction so I await with interes for its durability.
As promoted "started first time"
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Qualcast 150cc Self Propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 51cm
Poor on rough ground
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
02 September 2013.
I bought this mower to replace an 11 year old McCulloch that had finally given up the ghost after sterling service.
I have had good Qualcast garden tools before and this mower had 25% off so what could go wrong?
Firstly the mower was very easy to assemble, so a good start.
After filling with oil and petrol the motor fired first time - so far so good.
then the problems started as soon as I started mowing the grass. Even with the cut height on maximum the mower persisted in chewing up the grass and stalling the engine. The only way to keep it going was to push hard and not rely on self - propelling, very hard work!
Although described as being suitable for large lawns this machine does not cope with roughish terrain. I guess if you`ve got a bowling green it would be fine.
I took it back to Homebase and swopped it for another McCullough (M53) with no problem. This was about £100 more but is like a Rolls Royce compared to a Ford
 
My Product Recommendations
McCulloch M53-140WF - Self Drive 2 in 1 Petrol Wheeled Mower
5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
42 of 47 found this review helpful.
Response from Homebase:By DavidGarden Maintenance Team13 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and apologies for any inconvenience caused. Customer reviews are an essential tool to help us establish any common themes as part of our product development. With that in mind we have shared your comments with our suppliers and they have assured us this will be looked in to as part of their quality control process. We are confident that significant improvements have already been made to this model which will deliver the desired results with minimum effort.
The Qualcast Petrol Lawnmower for 2015 is now fitted with a new Briggs & Stratton ready start engine, which is now more efficient and easier to start. We also improved the quality of the wheels and addressed the robustness of the springs to help improve the experience using this tool.
Review 9 for Qualcast 150cc Self Propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 51cm
total disapointment
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
27 August 2013.
having used it for 6 mths I found it to be very poorly made. a spring on the height adjustment broke, a hole wore in the grass box, the drive was inadequate on the rear wheels and a wheel on the front snapped off. A very poor product from what I thought a reputable company. Thank you Homebase they gave me a full refund.
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Written by: jack ,
w.sussex
dreadful mower.
Posted 15 July 2014
As with all the other people I have to say this is the worst mower I could have bought. Engine lacks power and chokes up with the slightest height of dry grass. Cannot do a fine cut as chassis grounds so blade is still to high. Cannot pull mower back as body grounds out. Grass collection is pathetic, fills front of catcher, then blocks up ( dry short grass !! ) Removal of collection basket could be easier. The whole thing is not built to last..
Customer Avatar
Written by: Anonymous ,
unhappy
Posted 22 May 2014
bought ower in november 2013 , used it a couple of times , all ok . started useing it this year and so far both front wheels have broke, hav had to sharpen blade twice and have had to straighten the blade mounting plat as well . have been unable to get through to the spares centre , luckeiy homebase had a returned mower in store so swopped the wheels . not impressed .
Customer Avatar
Written by: joey ,
cheshunt
qualcast self propelled mower
Posted 20 April 2014
not a bad machine but have already gone throught 2 front wheels very cheaply made a slight bang on something and they snap i also have a push model which the front wheels are very solid why didnt they fit the same ones
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 10 for Qualcast 150cc Self Propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 51cm
Poor on drive power
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
13 August 2013.
Have had this mower for a couple of months, It is well made and starts easily, My one problem is that it does not have a strong enough drive on the rear wheels and I have to push to keep it going.
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Qualcast 150cc Self Propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 51cm
Good but....
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
24 June 2013.
Bought this last year and was immediately troubled by poor starting -esp when hot...really annoying and got worse. faced with the fuss of taking the thing back, decided to have a look at engine - the coil was about 5mm away from the flywheel ignition sensor. Adjusted this to much closer, and has started first time ever since! Poor quality control from Briggs & Stratton - not good. Also, found the cutting height a bit longer than I like - simply cut another notch in the adjustment bar with a hacksaw, and now it cuts 1/2inch shorter with no probs - why the ... didn't Qualcast do this????
Otherwise - effective, strong, but heavy, and with big wheels and one hand height adjust which help when wheeling it over steps etc - too heavy to lift over!
18 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Hoffmanthenoo ,
Falkirk
Posted 23 May 2014
I bought the 48cm model last year and from the outset it wasn't very good. I knew that if I took it back to Homebase they would offer me a like for like but the 48cm was discontinued so I looked at 51cm. The reviews put me off but I decided to go for it. My garden is a difficult one with all of the challenges the other reviews mention but it went through it without a cough or splutter. Early days but this is like night and day to the 48cm and a great bargain if you get it with the 15% discount.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Qualcast 150cc Self Propelled Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 51cm
not impressed
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
12 May 2013.
I wanted a reasonable size mower my old champion had lasted 6/7 years and needed replacing, I had a good look around and as much as i would have liked ,i could not afford a more expensive make better quality etc .so i plumbed for a reasonable priced alternative. The first mower i assembled would not start. I spoke to the help line who went through different checks and they finally agreed no spark needs repairing. I took it back to Homebase who replaced it straight away no problem, i got the new one home assembled the handle etc 10 minutes and it started first ampull and cut the grass great. The third time i used it to cut a small area of rough grass the drive belt came off, after some fiddling around i managed to get it back on took me nearly a hour probably a 10/15 minute job if you know how. So at the moment i am not over happy!! The mower starts, is powerful, cuts the grass well, collects well, height adjustment easy to operate. I just hope the belt stays on otherwise its going back!!
24 of 24 found this review helpful.