Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc

Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
from 18 customer reviews
15 out of 18(83%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Review 1 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
20 August 2014.
a nice light weight but sturdy mower - easy to start & handle & leaves the lawn looking great! highly recommended!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Outstanding
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
22 March 2014.
Purchased this Lawnmover fantastic in price and quality, runs really well. purchased extra cover just in case but overall fantastic product.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Excellent mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
28 September 2013.
Purchased this mower today,easy to set up,added oil and petrol,primed it and started on first pull,cut the lawn in 15 mins and the lawn looks great,well happy
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Very good
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2013.
A very nice mower and easy to use plus lightweight. The only two faults i found is that the fuel button needs about ten pushes before it will start from cold. plus the screw nuts on the handle for folding could do with being a little longer. I would recommend this mower
8 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Jonesy ,
Cardiff
Don't buy this mower
Posted 29 September 2013
6 months old and the pull cord jammed. Warranty requires me to take it to a dealer or arrange a pick up. If picked up I have to drain the oil.
All I want to do is mow my lawn. What a palaver!
Qulalcast, you have not lived up to your name or reputation. I will not buy your brand again.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Superb!
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
02 September 2013.
Why I didn't buy one of these years ago is beyond me.
This mower is outstanding. Great cut, light and surprisingly quiet.
Was a tad difficult to start at first but soon got the hang of it. Once warm a small pull on the starter and it's off no problem.
I can honestly say going from a corded mower to a petrol is an absolute pleasure. Spend the extra and go for a branded one like the Qualcast over a no name budget one....the engine is everything and with a Briggs and Stratton in board you can't go wrong.
Without a doubt I would have given this 5 stars but for the collection basket being a bit too small. I haven't got a huge garden but I had to empty it 4 times.
Otherwise I would whole hearty recommend this to anyone. It's a joy to use honestly.
23 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
wow lawnmower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
29 August 2013.
a incredible mower, just right for a meudium garden and is powerfull .Its colection basket is a bit small but it is sturdy.Not bad looking either!!!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Excellent Buy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 August 2013.
I bought this after using the electric mower for one day, I got so fed up with moving the wire out of the way.
I read lots of reviews on different Petrol mowers, I decided to give this one a try, I am so glad I did.
It was very easy to fit together, it started first time and made the job of cutting the grass a lot easier.
Excellent product, very strong, highly recommended.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
spend more
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
08 July 2013.
Utterly frustrating. It had done one season, but has been temperamental on the second one, being moody about re-starting when warm. Needs strength to start it at all. I would not buy another mower of this sort and am clearly going to have to spend at least twice as much next time, hopefully to get something that will last. It's early July, 2nd year of use and there was a ghastly noise this morning two minutes into mowing and it's totally dead. Yes, of course it's full of oil and petrol. Waste of money in all respects. False economy.
6 of 29 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Mechanic ,
N. Ireland
Needs tuned
Posted 02 May 2014
Hi just some advice, most lawnmowers cheap or expensive need retuned/serviced after first season as carburettors etc settle in also important to refill tank with fresh new petrol at first use every season
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Great purchase!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 July 2013.
Brilliant mower, wasn't expecting much for the price but it exceeded expectations!
I've read reviews on here saying that the oil cap wasn't easy to take off - well although the instructions don't say, if you look at the silver tool they give you in the box, it very efficiently fits over the raised portions of the oil cap and you can twist it open! It's obvious where the petrol and oil go and very easy to get started!
It took less than 15 mins to finish with this mower whereas my old electric one used to take me over an hour!
Great buy and I highly recommend!
13 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: jinty ,
blanytr
lawnmover
Posted 23 June 2014
got this lawnmover on saturday 21/06/14. and used it on Sunday 22/06/14 and the paint has started peeling off it already. not at all happy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Nearly 10/10 .. but not quite !
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
12 June 2013.
On the whole a brilliant purchase and a brilliant lawnmower. I did however have 3 issues. The instructions tell you to check the oil level by "removing dipstick", which I would expect...but they dont tell you how to remove dipstick !! I'd expect to remove it by hand, but yuou need a screwdriver !!! Then, be VERY CAREFUL not to put oil in the fuel tank !! I would suggest to Qualcast that putting a picture of a BLACK petrol pump on a BLACK fuel cap wasnt a great move. VERY easy to miss. The other thing which everyone will have an issue with is that to change the oil...you need to turn the lawnmower upside down !! Not easy turning a 25kg mower over !! - especially if you're not that strong. Some have said thouhg I won't need to ever change the oil !! Mmmm. I think it may need changign at some point !
Other that that, very pleased with it. Metal body, Briggs & Stratton engine, 2 year guarantee, easy to change the cutting height with a long handle. The grass box is slightly cumbersome to empty but I use a large plastic dustbin with black sack inside that makes the job far easier than wrestling with a black sack in the wind !!
Dont forget to get the lawnmower starter kit though as it doesnt come with oil or fuel can (..or fuel !!)
oh...and also bought it on 15% day to make it even cheaper !!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Written by: yorkylad ,
west yorkshire
oil change
Posted 06 July 2014
i have a briggs and stratton 3.75 engine on my lawn king had it 15 years never changed the oil, and used it as part of my gardening services too so its had plenty of use and hard use at times. You do need to check the oil and add to if required, sadly the metal deck on mine is now rusting.... its been parked out all year in all weather for 15 years.
I am not advocating to neglect servicing, just been lucky with mine i guess
Customer Avatar
Written by: Weejohn ,
Glasgow
MR
Posted 06 July 2013
Bought this as an alternative to an electric one after watching getting a loan of a petrol one. Easy to set up out the box but remember to get oil as well as it doesn`t come with any. Filled with fuel, primed as per instructions and on the second pull away it went (was quite hard to pull initially but after it had run and the oil got around then it`s really easy) . Made short work of my medium sized garden (less than half the time it took me with my electric one before it gave up on me) and really fuel efficient having done my back garden and the front gardens a few times and its still to be refilled with fuel. Overall I`m really pleased with this machine and would recommend it to anyone looking to purchase a petrol lawnmower that`s not much dearer than an electric one.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 11 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Value for money.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
24 May 2013.
After looking at various other models in the bargain prices, this appeared to be the best quality for the money. It has a very reliable engine, metal deck and was simple to assemble from the box.
Some people have complained about the tightness of the oil filler cap. I just put the screwdriver supplied into the hole in the middle of the cap, turned it and it opened.
The cut height is easy to adjust. One lever for all of the wheels, unlike the cheaper McCulloch that you have to adjust each wheel individually.
The cut from this mower is brilliant. Very happy.
If you have a larger lawn a bigger collection bag would be a bonus. Overall, great value, quality and performance.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Jeff ,
West Lothian
first class product
Posted 26 May 2013
looked at a number of petrol mowers but to have to say this was the best value for money. 10 mins to assemble and 15 mins to cut the grass with little or no effort. Would highly recommend this product. The service from the gentleman in the homebase we used was 2nd to none!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
great value
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
18 May 2013.
made the change to petrol and should have years ago
My expensive electric bosch packed in and decided to replace with this model, better built than comparative models with a 2 year warranty - took ten mins to set up ( dipstick is very tightly fitted) and made light work of tidying up wet grass that hadn't been touched for a fortnight if your new to petrol make sure you get a funnel to fill oil and petrol - just wish it had packed in next week when the 15% offer was on !
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Location: swinon
great lawn mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
16 May 2013.
A superb lawnmower,great quality and very nice to handle.The motor is powerful and does the job quicklyand has 5 level ajustments.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Draining Old Oil
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
14 May 2013.
This machine sounds Ok for the price......Problem is having to turn machine on its side to drain old engine oil....It comes out from where you fill it.....A messy job......Cannot understand why there is no drain plug under the engine.....Silly mistake Briggs&Stratton.....Qualcast.
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Written by: skybluegaz1 ,
dorset
Draining Oil
Posted 20 April 2014
I find the trick with this particular model is,only ever fill it up a quarter full as it tends to produce a lot of smoke otherwise.run till the oil runs out then re-fill.works on mine.
Customer Avatar
Written by: Anonymous ,
paignton
john
Posted 22 May 2013
This is very simply overcome. Buy a medium sized syringe and place a short length of plastic tubing over the spout. Extract the oil through the filler hole. Or, buy a car engine oil extractor, expensive, but will do both the car oil change and the mower! (the Smart car also has no oil drain plug!!)
Customer Avatar
Written by: fles ,
swinon
draining old oil
Posted 16 May 2013
don't take the mick it's very good
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 15 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Brilliant!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
12 May 2013.
Very nice petrol mower.
Light and easy to control.
Easy to put together ,engine runs really nice and solid construction.
Perfect for medium sized gardens,
Plus i bought it over bank holiday so got 20% off,
Bargain!
2 year guarante is brill.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: richard ,
cambridge
decent quality mower.
Posted 02 June 2013
firstly, the mower was a lot lighter in the box than I had imagined, and I didnt even need a trolley to get it from the store to the car - quite handy really. In terms of assembly, it couldnt be easier, as this basically meant simply attaching the handle. I stopped off at the garage to get some petrol and thought I would be away, but the mower doesnt come with any engine oil ( I didnt expect it in the engine, but a 500cl starter bottle would have been a nice touch), so it was back off to the garage, which I could have done without.
Started up on first pull, and cut our medium/large and a bit long, lawn beautifully.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Sturdy mower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
12 May 2013.
I purchased this mower yesterday and assembly was easy and completed with 20 minutes. Like many mowers it doesn't come with oil so if wish to use immediately make sure you purchase one. I have used it this morning and it started very easily. It is light and the large rear wheels make it easy to steer. The soft grip also makes it comfortable to use. Single lever for height adjustment a bonus. The 45 litre bag does mean you have to empty more if you have a large garden. Unfortunately there is no inspection recess into the collection bag when you want to check how full the bag is. Overall very pleased with my purchase especially as it comes with 2 years warranty and the HomeBase staff were incredibly helpful
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Tollesbury ,
Tollesbry
Tollesbury
Posted 11 April 2014
Update on early post. I had to return the mower as the pull start machinism seized and then the replacement mower had to be returned last week as the engine wouldn't idle and kept cutting out. Homebase Customer Service were brilliant and allowed me to exchange the mower. Needless to say it wasn't Qualcast.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Poor Quality, Poor Service
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
23 April 2013.
When I opened the box, the 4 handle bolts and the throttle retainer were missing, also the oil filler was screwed on so tight it would not unscrew, even with mole grips. Qualcasts technical support was less than helpful and basicly said "what do you want me to do about it, just take it back and change it" I will but I wont be changing it for another Qualcast.
5 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc
Perfect for a medium size garden
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
01 April 2013.
Nice looking machine, light & easy to push. Collection bag fills up very quickly so its not really that good for a large garden. Overall it seems ok after my first use. Got it at a reduced price & its got a 2 year guarentee so not a bad deal. Easy to put together in 5 mins.
23 of 23 found this review helpful.