Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Lawnmowers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Qualcast Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm

This Qualcast push petrol rotary lawn mower is powered by a Briggs and Stratton 450 Series engine and has a steel chassis for durability and strength. Weight: 23.0kg Guarantee: 2 years manufacturers guarantee Collection capacity: 45.0L Cutting width: 41.0cm Colour: Green Material: Steel Fuel type: Petrol Cutting height range: 5 settings (25-75mm) Feature: Height adjustment lever, folding handle for compact storage and complete product support and after sales service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
from 27 customer reviews
24 out of 27(89%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Review 1 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Good
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
03 June 2015.
Very good mower. Best I have ever bought. After having a problem with a bent wheel, which I sorted out myself
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Exactly as described, great lawnmower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
25 May 2015.
Easy to setup, lightweight and lots of adjustment, makes mowing the lawn much less of a chore than any mower I've ever owned previously...don't know why I didn't get one sooner!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Good so far
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
23 May 2015.
Used once so far and seems fine.
The "missing" screws which were not in the bag with the other bits and pieces were found screwed onto the machine itself - very confusing. Also screwdriver was missing.
Very easy to assemble, much better than our last one.
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Great first petrol mower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
18 May 2015.
I recently purchased the Qualcast Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 125cc from Homebase.
The mower is good quality, easy to put together and much more convenient than my previous electric mower. I now can mow 2 strips of my lawn before needing to empty the basket, and the mower handles the task easily.
I would recommend this mower for small - medium sized lawns.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Great performer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 May 2015.
This is an excellent mower. Easy to assemble (did it on my own) and simple instructions. Having got the fuel and recommended oil, I followed the starting instructions and it fired up first time! It is well made, light to use and cuts beautifully. Really couldn't be happier with this mower.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Seems to be well made
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 May 2015.
Used twice.Starts ok.Does the job Handle when folded over longer than my previous mower, just goes in shed. Well worth the money so far.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
06 May 2015.
it cuts the grass well
but qualcast instructions and briggs stratton engine instructions differ on anount of oil to fill.E mail to qualcast support who advised follow the engine makers instructions.!!!! so not a good beginning. . if the mower is tipped to one side engine oil runs out through the airfilter,there is a warning about this in the instructions but didnt expect it to happen on sideways slope of maybe 40 degrees.
The design of the collector bag means it does not fit easily between the mower handle shafts and has to be lifted backwards and upwards instead of straight up.
The angle of the mower handle which is not adjustable means it takes up quite a large space in the shed.
One lever adjustment of cutting height is a good point.
Thought I was getting a quality product with the Qualcast name but think cheaper ones may be just as good although 2 year guarantee is impressive/
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Anonymous ,
Mr Matthewson
Posted 26 June 2015
Completely agree with this review - my thoughts EXACTLY regarding slope and spillage, non adjustable handle and the collection bag (which also, because of a slight angle up means it doesn't collect anything near it's capacity). That said, I have a lawn and meadow and orchard to do and considering the price I think it still provides very good value. 3 stars for actual performance, 5 stars for the price.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Delighted
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
27 April 2015.
Love this lawnmower, very easy to use, lovely cut to the grass. very happy.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
As expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
24 April 2015.
A good buy and well worth the money. It doesn't always start first time but once it gets going it is fine for my small lawn.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
20 August 2014.
a nice light weight but sturdy mower - easy to start & handle & leaves the lawn looking great! highly recommended!
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Outstanding
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
22 March 2014.
Purchased this Lawnmover fantastic in price and quality, runs really well. purchased extra cover just in case but overall fantastic product.
11 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Excellent mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
28 September 2013.
Purchased this mower today,easy to set up,added oil and petrol,primed it and started on first pull,cut the lawn in 15 mins and the lawn looks great,well happy
14 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Very good
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2013.
A very nice mower and easy to use plus lightweight. The only two faults i found is that the fuel button needs about ten pushes before it will start from cold. plus the screw nuts on the handle for folding could do with being a little longer. I would recommend this mower
12 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Jonesy ,
Cardiff
Don't buy this mower
Posted 29 September 2013
6 months old and the pull cord jammed. Warranty requires me to take it to a dealer or arrange a pick up. If picked up I have to drain the oil.
All I want to do is mow my lawn. What a palaver!
Qulalcast, you have not lived up to your name or reputation. I will not buy your brand again.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Superb!
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
02 September 2013.
Why I didn't buy one of these years ago is beyond me.
This mower is outstanding. Great cut, light and surprisingly quiet.
Was a tad difficult to start at first but soon got the hang of it. Once warm a small pull on the starter and it's off no problem.
I can honestly say going from a corded mower to a petrol is an absolute pleasure. Spend the extra and go for a branded one like the Qualcast over a no name budget one....the engine is everything and with a Briggs and Stratton in board you can't go wrong.
Without a doubt I would have given this 5 stars but for the collection basket being a bit too small. I haven't got a huge garden but I had to empty it 4 times.
Otherwise I would whole hearty recommend this to anyone. It's a joy to use honestly.
30 of 34 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
wow lawnmower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
29 August 2013.
a incredible mower, just right for a meudium garden and is powerfull .Its colection basket is a bit small but it is sturdy.Not bad looking either!!!
7 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Excellent Buy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 August 2013.
I bought this after using the electric mower for one day, I got so fed up with moving the wire out of the way.
I read lots of reviews on different Petrol mowers, I decided to give this one a try, I am so glad I did.
It was very easy to fit together, it started first time and made the job of cutting the grass a lot easier.
Excellent product, very strong, highly recommended.
16 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
spend more
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
08 July 2013.
Utterly frustrating. It had done one season, but has been temperamental on the second one, being moody about re-starting when warm. Needs strength to start it at all. I would not buy another mower of this sort and am clearly going to have to spend at least twice as much next time, hopefully to get something that will last. It's early July, 2nd year of use and there was a ghastly noise this morning two minutes into mowing and it's totally dead. Yes, of course it's full of oil and petrol. Waste of money in all respects. False economy.
17 of 64 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Stew7 ,
Sheffield
Guarantee!
Posted 12 February 2015
If it's only the 2nd season then surely the guarantee is still valid, it's a 2 year guarantee!!
Customer Avatar
Written by: Anonymous ,
me
Posted 28 September 2014
Rubbish mower wouldnt pull the skin off a rice pudding.may aswel have used my 2yr old sons toy flymo
Customer Avatar
Written by: Mechanic ,
N. Ireland
Needs tuned
Posted 02 May 2014
Hi just some advice, most lawnmowers cheap or expensive need retuned/serviced after first season as carburettors etc settle in also important to refill tank with fresh new petrol at first use every season
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 18 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Great purchase!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 July 2013.
Brilliant mower, wasn't expecting much for the price but it exceeded expectations!
I've read reviews on here saying that the oil cap wasn't easy to take off - well although the instructions don't say, if you look at the silver tool they give you in the box, it very efficiently fits over the raised portions of the oil cap and you can twist it open! It's obvious where the petrol and oil go and very easy to get started!
It took less than 15 mins to finish with this mower whereas my old electric one used to take me over an hour!
Great buy and I highly recommend!
16 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: jinty ,
blanytr
lawnmover
Posted 23 June 2014
got this lawnmover on saturday 21/06/14. and used it on Sunday 22/06/14 and the paint has started peeling off it already. not at all happy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Nearly 10/10 .. but not quite !
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
12 June 2013.
On the whole a brilliant purchase and a brilliant lawnmower. I did however have 3 issues. The instructions tell you to check the oil level by "removing dipstick", which I would expect...but they dont tell you how to remove dipstick !! I'd expect to remove it by hand, but yuou need a screwdriver !!! Then, be VERY CAREFUL not to put oil in the fuel tank !! I would suggest to Qualcast that putting a picture of a BLACK petrol pump on a BLACK fuel cap wasnt a great move. VERY easy to miss. The other thing which everyone will have an issue with is that to change the oil...you need to turn the lawnmower upside down !! Not easy turning a 25kg mower over !! - especially if you're not that strong. Some have said thouhg I won't need to ever change the oil !! Mmmm. I think it may need changign at some point !
Other that that, very pleased with it. Metal body, Briggs & Stratton engine, 2 year guarantee, easy to change the cutting height with a long handle. The grass box is slightly cumbersome to empty but I use a large plastic dustbin with black sack inside that makes the job far easier than wrestling with a black sack in the wind !!
Dont forget to get the lawnmower starter kit though as it doesnt come with oil or fuel can (..or fuel !!)
oh...and also bought it on 15% day to make it even cheaper !!
 
My Product Recommendations
4 Stroke Engine Start-up Kit
4.2 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
 
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Written by: yorkylad ,
west yorkshire
oil change
Posted 06 July 2014
i have a briggs and stratton 3.75 engine on my lawn king had it 15 years never changed the oil, and used it as part of my gardening services too so its had plenty of use and hard use at times. You do need to check the oil and add to if required, sadly the metal deck on mine is now rusting.... its been parked out all year in all weather for 15 years.
I am not advocating to neglect servicing, just been lucky with mine i guess
Customer Avatar
Written by: Weejohn ,
Glasgow
MR
Posted 06 July 2013
Bought this as an alternative to an electric one after watching getting a loan of a petrol one. Easy to set up out the box but remember to get oil as well as it doesn`t come with any. Filled with fuel, primed as per instructions and on the second pull away it went (was quite hard to pull initially but after it had run and the oil got around then it`s really easy) . Made short work of my medium sized garden (less than half the time it took me with my electric one before it gave up on me) and really fuel efficient having done my back garden and the front gardens a few times and its still to be refilled with fuel. Overall I`m really pleased with this machine and would recommend it to anyone looking to purchase a petrol lawnmower that`s not much dearer than an electric one.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 20 for Qualcast 125cc Push Petrol Rotary Lawn Mower - 41cm
Value for money.
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
24 May 2013.
After looking at various other models in the bargain prices, this appeared to be the best quality for the money. It has a very reliable engine, metal deck and was simple to assemble from the box.
Some people have complained about the tightness of the oil filler cap. I just put the screwdriver supplied into the hole in the middle of the cap, turned it and it opened.
The cut height is easy to adjust. One lever for all of the wheels, unlike the cheaper McCulloch that you have to adjust each wheel individually.
The cut from this mower is brilliant. Very happy.
If you have a larger lawn a bigger collection bag would be a bonus. Overall, great value, quality and performance.
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Jeff ,
West Lothian
first class product
Posted 26 May 2013
looked at a number of petrol mowers but to have to say this was the best value for money. 10 mins to assemble and 15 mins to cut the grass with little or no effort. Would highly recommend this product. The service from the gentleman in the homebase we used was 2nd to none!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>