Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop Paint or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Homebase.

International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml

This International Magnetic Blackboard Paint creates a noteboard anywhere in the house and wipes clean to make space for new notes.Effect: Matt finish.For interior use: Yes.For exterior use: No.Suitable surfaces: Wood, metal, and MDF.For use in kitchens and bathrooms: Yes.Coverage: 750ml covers 7.5 sq m.Drying time: 3 hours.Coats recommended: 2 - 3.Coverage is dependent on the kind of surface being painted and should be used as a guide only.
Average Customer Rating:
3.056 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
6
from 18 customer reviews
10 out of 18(56%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
Review 1 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
hopeless
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByAnonymous .
05 October 2012.
This paint does not work "fact." After 2 tins = 7 coats there is no magnetic pull whatsoever. Do not buy people.
Review 2 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
Good for chalk
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BySj .
03 October 2012.
Its good for chalk but not for magnets. I used it in my daughters bedroom and had to air the room for nearly a week.
Review 3 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
not as expected!
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bytally .
21 May 2012.
This paint had to be coated about 8 times to get the over all magentic quality I wanted. This wasnt much either as my daughter only wanted to stick her "word" magnets on them which arnt heavy at all.
However, it was quick drying as stated which was useful for the many coats I had to apply!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
As expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMr happy .
30 April 2012.
For anybody who reads the instructions on the tin before using and then does as instructed, this paint will work fine - if you don't it won't -
I've given an mdf board 8 good coats and it has excellent magnetic strength.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
Brilliant
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFingers .
04 April 2012.
great product and price.Kids think its MAGIC!!!
Review 6 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
Very poor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bysign man .
14 November 2011.
After many smelly coats applied over many days, there was virtually no discernable magnetic properties.
Also, there was an oily film that would not allow the chalk to stick.
Review 7 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
Location: United Kingdom
Weakly magnetic
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByStan .
10 November 2011.
After applying 3 coats, to fresh wood, the surface was a deep matt black and looked good. However, the magnetic effect was neglibile. Admittedly, I can't remember how many coats were recommended, hence I haven't rated the product as poor. This paint works great as a blackboard paint, the chalk writes on well and wipes off easily. Be warned though that many coats will need to be applied in order to achieve any realistic magnetism.
Review 8 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
Magnetic Blackboard Paint
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bygp .
02 June 2011.
The effect is ok, but it takes several coats to achieve and may well need re-treating after use. The magnet is a little weak, ok for light items.
Review 9 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
Does what it says on the tin
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJFD .
04 May 2011.
Needs a good few coats to hold a larger magnet, but has transformed a couple of doors in our kitchen with no oxidisation I've had with similar products
Review 10 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
Great idea - not as good as hoped
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByHome Jobber .
04 May 2011.
Magnetic blackboard paint seemed like a great idea, and I have previously used and trust International paints. However, after 6 (smelly) coats of paint and only minimal magnetic hold I gave up. It's great as blackboard paint, but don't expect it to hold anything other than very light magnets. The more surface area the magnet has the better. Overall I was disappointed.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
Back to Black
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bygabz .
14 April 2011.
I painted a Blackboard in my teenage son's room in stead of a Mirror over a Victorian Fireplace. It looks really funky. I'm very pleased with the result.It was quick and mess free to use, my teenager helped with the painting. The added bonus is it is Magnetic too.
Review 12 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
24 Hrs on and STINKS :-(
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bydiyer .
16 January 2011.
I bought this and now wish I had not, it goes on a treat but the smell is vile, 24hrs later and it still smells very strongly, it is so bad that I am going to have to buy a matt black low odour paint just to get rid of the smell, I am very disappointed.
Review 13 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
Excellent Quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bysammy .
03 November 2010.
The paint is high quality and had a good coverage - the magnetic properties are what attracted me to it - all in all a good product
Review 14 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
not quite what i expected
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bybangers .
03 November 2010.
I was really pleased to find this paint as i had been looking for some time.... the blackboard bit of it is really good - although i had some problems with it being very patchy (gloss and matt finish) - and i had to use 4 coats. it is not magnetic in any way - so i would recommend it if you want a straight blackboard - but not if you want to use magnets!!
Review 15 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
Better than expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBez .
01 September 2010.
Quality was better than I expected. Easy to use and gives excellent results after three good coats.Would recommend to anyone wishing to create a good surface for their children/grandchildren to write/draw on.
Review 16 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
As expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLottie .
05 August 2010.
Fantastic fun product! Really useful but hard not to get carried away with it.
Review 17 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByClairebear .
04 August 2010.
Item was recommended by a friend and I have also recommended it. My son loves his new blackboard.
Review 18 for International Magnetic Blackboard Paint - Black - 750ml
Do not buy!!!
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByDisappointed .
02 January 2010.
This works fine for just the blackboard, 2 thin coats are all you need, but if you want this so your surface is magnetic (as I did), then I recommend you seek a different solution. I have painted a small wall area (less than 4 sq m) and it has taken the whole pot (7 thick coats) to even make it slightly magnetic. Small magnets do now stick, but the magnetic force is not strong enough for them to hold any paper to the wall, which was obviously the intention in the first place.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.