Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Advanced Mouse Trap

Advanced Mouse Trap
Average Customer Rating:
4.202 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
8
from 84 customer reviews
75 out of 84(89%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Advanced Mouse Trap
Review 1 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Works a treat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
14 January 2012.
Had a mouse visiting one particular cupboard for nightly feasts on chestnuts and sweet potatoes. Spent 5 days/nights trying to trap it with a basic snap trap, only to find the bait gone and the trap unsprung each morning - one morning the blighter even did it's business on the trap itself, showing utter contempt.
Bought this trap today, caught the mouse this evening. Well pleased. Trap is back in place in case we have more little visitors.
Trap is easy to bait, easy to set, and easy to later release the poor confused little blighters afterwards.
Bait was nutella. Placed it along the back wall of the cupboard - but not in the corner after advice found online.
26 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Simple, effective, awesome
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
17 April 2011.
I doubted how effective this could be but the reviews persuaded me it was worth a shot. It was hardly a big capital investment. Our intention was not to kill anything; just trap and release a suspected unwanted lodger. It was so easy to set up and a very basic design...my expectations were not great. I now type this review utterly amazed at how effectively it had captured the mouse. Within a few hours of set up, I was down the bottom of the garden having successfully captured "Mickey". Unfortunately it turns out that there are a few of them but we have yet to see a mouse get dinner and make it back to base!! I would recommend this product to anyone. Brilliant.
15 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Great product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
16 March 2014.
Had an issue with mice getting into our kitchen through hole behind work units. Within 3 hours of setting trap with peanut butter I had caught a little fella. Since then I have caught a mouse every time I have set trap. Really simple clever product. Would definitely recommend
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Great value for money and it actually worked!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
19 January 2014.
Our cat brought a mouse in one Thursday night which managed to evade capture despite our best efforts and it ran down the side of the washing machine and out of our reach. I got this mouse trap the next day but never expected it to actually work. I used peanut butter and cornflakes as the bait. I'd left cornflakes out for it on the night it came in so it had developed a taste for them and I also thought if/when it went in the trap it could be there for hours and might want a snack. I had to make sure I pushed the flakes inside the trap though and not just at the entrance where it could grab one and run off. We came back from a night out on the Saturday to find the trap on the other side of the kitchen and discovered the mouse inside. The poor thing had yet again become the cat's plaything. When we released it, it had eaten the peanut butter and the cornflakes and appeared to be unharmed. Good result all round. Except for the cat who looked very disappointed!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Very effective
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
23 September 2013.
Put this trap down on the Thursday evening with peanut butter as the bait. By Friday lunchtime the mouse had been caught and released. So easy to set up and effective.
Review 6 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Perfect
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
23 July 2013.
I live in an old house and a few years back my neighbour had a mouse tinkering round our connecting wall. She gave me one of these and within two days the little guy was caught and set free. I left the trap in place and nothing.....until two weeks ago (we were having work done on the house).
I immediately re-purchased two of these traps and within 12 hours caught two mice. Phenomenal product. My house is an 18th century building with big cavity connecting walls, also near fields etc so this is a must have for me. No mess. No fuss.
This product does exactly what it says on the packaging.
I used peanut butter as bait and plugged gaps with steel wool after the work was complete.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Brill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
23 April 2013.
Was having trouble with a mouse for a few weeks and it was getting far too brave for my liking was hiding out in the space in our wall, so we brought the live capture mouse trap. Set it by the opening it was using to get out with a little chicolate that night we caught it and let it go next morning down the road. Left the trap set up for a few days just to make sure it hadn't brought any friends along then plugged up the hole. Touch wood have had no trouble since. Brilliant product easy to set up and worked first night. RESULT!!!
Review 8 for Advanced Mouse Trap
as expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
12 April 2013.
used this type of mousetrap for years to catch them humanely. they work a treat. had to lend mine out and never got back so treated myself to 2 new ones.
Review 9 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Humane mouse trap
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
27 January 2013.
Excellent product I caught and released about 8 mice (not the same 1) before I was rid of my problem. Effective and easy to use.
Review 10 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Brilliant
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
03 January 2013.
This trap is great. After two nights of not catching a thing with lesser humane traps, we've caught five mice with a single trap in the last two nights.
One suggestion: I built a simple MDF container for this trap, to ensure the mice have to go in the front door and can't trip the trap by climbing on top of it or pushing it over. Set it five times, caught five mice. Flawless.
Review 11 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Mouse Hotel !
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
26 October 2012.
Had a tiny visitor so bought two traps, one upstairs and one down. Used peanut butter and first night caught the little critter ! Unfortunately because mice are so light and the trap is black I couldn't be sure he was in there even after giving it a shake, so opened it inside the house and - Yes he was in there but escaped - they move VERY fast ! Re-set it but no luck for a few days until I baited it with a piece of Twix bar ! Worked immediately and this time put the closed trap into a plastic bag and drove to work where I opened it in the hedgerow and off he went. Highly recommended trap but would maybe suggest they put a clear plastic window in it somewhere so you can see if you have caught the culprit or if it just closed accidentally as it it very sensitive.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Don't give up!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
29 September 2012.
The reviews were mainly good, but I was a bit skeptical. Bought our trap at 5pm last night and had it set by 7:30pm. This tricky mouse tripped the trap THREE times before we went off to bed (or you could say "tipped"). But he wasn't so crafty this morning. Mouse was set free 2.5 miles from home before 8am. I debated giving it 4 stars instead of 5 - but really it did work perfectly. Just had to reset it a few times and have some patience. Thrilled beyond belief really! Simple design, easy to use, east to clean, and will keep it in a drawer waiting for the next unwanted visitor - after I leave it for a few days to verify there are no mice friends hanging about, of course.
Review 13 for Advanced Mouse Trap
magic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2012.
Bought this trap so I didn't have to extricate ex mice from a spring-loaded device. I primed it with wild bird seed and caught seven critters over three days. I released them in nearby fields and my conscience is clear
Review 14 for Advanced Mouse Trap
As it say on the box
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2012.
We have had to use this twice now. Out new cat brings pesents in for us. Now and again they are alive and run off. Both times I have use this it has worked on the first night. It is quiet and safe. works well. You can see just by looking if it has worked no mess to clean afterwards.
Review 15 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 July 2012.
Caught the little blighter cleanly and humanely - once in could not get out - excellent design - let him/her go a long distance from the house - well worth considering if you do not want to kill mice!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
24 June 2012.
Went to Homebase at 11am sunday morning and by 4pm had caught the mouse and released it over the park - wonderful. Simple design, very good value for money and did exactly what is was supposed to - what more can I say.
Review 17 for Advanced Mouse Trap
As expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
10 May 2012.
Robust, unobtrusive, can be checked at a glance and great value; This is the second purchase of this item and it still delivers.
The snag is it delivers a live mouse which can, be released unharmed but the question is where?
A neighbour places the occupied mouse trap in a bucket of water preferring to dispose of a wet corpse.
Worth thinking out before the event.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Utterly Astonishing!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 May 2012.
This mouse trap did exactly what I wanted it to. I baited it with a little bit of chocolate spread, went to bed and bingo! One very confused but completely unharmed mouse, ready to be released, by breakfast time. I am very impressed... highly recommended.
Review 19 for Advanced Mouse Trap
very good
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 May 2012.
Bought this and within a few hours had caught it! A humane way to catch them, no harm to it at all.
Review 20 for Advanced Mouse Trap
Mouse mover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 April 2012.
Great design, quite easy to set up and it works. A bit expensive for a few plastic mouldings, but if you want to get rid of a family of mice without hurting them it is worth it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>