Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Homebase
Shop or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Monterrey Steel Chimenea

Monterrey Steel Chimenea
Average Customer Rating:
4.24 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
from 25 customer reviews
21 out of 25(84%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
Review 1 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
Junk
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byignored .
04 July 2013.
reviewed this product several weeks ago, and obviously, as it was so scathing, it was not posted. long story short, went to homebase, saw a cast iron monterray chiminea on display, bought what i thought was it, turns out it wasn't much more than sheet tin, took it back, pointed out the misleading display and suggested it be removed or relabelled so that customers would be aware of what they were getting, went back two weeks later and it was still there on the shelf. Check the weight on the box before you buy, if it says 14kg, it's not a cast iron chiminea you're getting.
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
you won't beet homebase
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybigjoe .
30 June 2013.
Hi me being Scottish I've looked everywhere for the best value for money on a chimenea on the internet .
The Monterrey is just what we were looking for and the best price so don't bother looking any more just buy this one in "HOMEBASE YOU DON'T HAVE TO GO ANYWHERE ELSE FOR THIS...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
MONTERREY CHIMENEA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTUPPENCE .
25 June 2013.
Went to local Newton Abbot Homebase on the off chance they might have have any decent chimeneas to see nearly closing time on a Sunday saw the Monterrey Spoke to an assistant who said he would check if they had any left. Now 16.10 hrs (closed 10 minutes earlier) he came back five minutes later with our chimenea. One hour later (we live 10 miles from shop) assembled 30 minutes later up and running. It is absolutely great, had to wait for the initial burning off of the paint smell but after that sat on the patio on the hammock and just enjoyed the view and warmth. It is very well made and easy to assemble, takes two to move safely, looks the business. We are very impressed even more so as they had 15% off on the Sunday when we bought it. Well done Homebase 5 stars for product and 5 stars for your customer service
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
Ok Quality - bit fiddly to build....
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByBoots .
28 May 2013.
Easy to assemble with two people!!
As expected from any product these days not all screw holes lined up so a bit of fiddling was required, well quite a lot!!
Screws fixing large chimney part to base went right through holes, as they were too big, so we swapped some washers around.
The hinge to fix the door on was completely missing from box, so had to return to Homebase next day for new one, they gave us one off display model.
Not really cast iron, very thin metal. Not too sure how long it will last, definately get a cover!!
Looks good in garden though. Wouldn't have purchased at full price but on discount days not too bad??
Yet to light it as its been raining eversince we got the door hinge thing fixed!!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
oh dear
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bystupid .
30 March 2013.
as a engineering craftsman I am actually quite ashamed that i (against my better judgement) bought this item, it is,at best, absolute tat, barely worth half the price!!!!!! as for the cast iron description, this thing is fabricated from pressed thin gauge steel painted to simulate a cast iron finish, to be fair the three legs are cast but thats your lot! also no air flow vent to regulate air into the coals to control burning so difficult to get started too. all in all poor i should have resisted and bought a real one fit for purpose, my own fault for being impatient!!!!!!!!!!!!!! at least i got 15% off and a few nectar points, mmmmm small consolation. i suppose i could put some plants in it !!!!!!!!!!!!! oh dear poor quality can turn a guy quite bitter.!
16 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCat .
06 August 2012.
Really nice quality, easy to put together and very sturdy.
Have only used it a few times so far thanks to the wet weather but it does put out a nice amount of heat. The last time we used it we even cooked baked potatoes in the bottom which turned out really nice : )
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
good value
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByJean .
04 July 2012.
We bought this chimenea and it was just as I expected,it was quite easy to assemble, looks good and does the job that it was bought for.
Good value for the money we paid.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysnuggle .
11 May 2012.
Gives off plenty of heat very quickly after lightening and a small amount of wood lasts a long time
Use hide work gloves when feeding wood or opening or closing the door to avoid burns
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
as expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byavid gardener .
09 May 2012.
love our new chimenea the only problem is we have only used it once due to the awful weather!!!!
Review 10 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
Excellent
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bycapoc .
09 May 2012.
Excellent Quality, Easy to put together and a worthwhile purchase, makes the patio area nice and warm in the evening (when its not raining!). Only down side is that its quite a smokey affair but we need to investigate different fuels I think. Looks great too.
Review 11 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
A brilliant addition to any garden
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPollyanna .
21 September 2011.
This chiminea is excellent value. If you want to add to the ambiance of your garden - you need one of these. On late summer evenings many an hour can be lost staring into 'it's belly' watching flames dance. In the autumn when the chill of the air hits you in the evening, you can spend endless hours entertaining friends in the garden without having to retreat indoors.
Above all this chiminea is sturdy, ellegant and incredibly ornamental with its rounded lines.
Practicality has been clearly though out by the designer as this chiminea has a hinged door allowing one to open and close it with ease - unluke others on the market that have doors which lift on and off.
In short - A brilliant and innovative design.
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
Big sturdy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCharles .
20 September 2011.
Easy to assemble unlike other chimineas, huge area for heat logs and not much smoke escapes making for a lovely crackling fire.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
Great Buy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEddie .
19 September 2011.
Great at night when the sun goe's down and you still have the glow of a warm fire to sit at really good buy and would highly recommend .
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
Good buy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMickey .
10 August 2011.
Clear instructions; Easy to assemble;
Gives off a good heat, and fire burns even in the rain;
We shopped around and this was the best priced.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybob .
09 August 2011.
very simple and quick to build some parts are a little heavy but my 5 year old was helping to assemble so not that bad, you just need 10mm and 8mm spanner or sockets if you prefer and a philips head screwdriver, probably could have done with washers for the 8mm bolts and all the front fixing if i was going to be picky. havent used it yet but certainly looks nice in the garden needs extra large chiminea cover large one is just to small in my opinion
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
Good quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByFrazzle .
24 July 2011.
Quite fiddly to assemble, and some of the parts could be more robust. However once assembled it is sturdy and when lit the chimenea emits comforting heat. Buying a cover is recommended as the screws have rusted through weathering.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
Brilliant
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByChiminea Fan .
17 July 2011.
Excellent way to enjoy garden of an evening. The large opening and body of the chiminea lets you use large logs so there is no chopping reguired. Gives off great heat so you do not have to huddle too close and the long chimnea disperses any spoke upwards. My husband assembled it without any problem and it is a solid and well constructed chiminea which is an attractive addition to our garden. Recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy their garden of an evening as well as during the day.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
Brilliant buy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHilljilly .
15 July 2011.
This chiminea not only looks great but the extra capacity means its not so tedious to keep topped up with wood. This is definitely the best we have come across and I am delighted with it.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
excellent product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byfred .
13 July 2011.
i bought this chimenea for my revamped garden , it fits in perfectly . my wife loves the cozy glow at night , it is our best buy for a long time.
Review 20 for Monterrey Steel Chimenea
Hot STuff
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byalexjohnw .
13 July 2011.
A quality Chimnea for any occasion. Wonderful as a centre piece in a garden party for friends or simply to create a relaxed/romantic feel for a loved one. Fits in perfectly to garden surroundings and gives off good heat coverage when lit.
1 2 next>>