Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

La Hacienda La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea

This large steel & cast Chimenea will add warmth, ambience and will undoubtedly become a great feature in any garden. Material: Steel and Cast Iron Features: Fabricated with steel for lightness, and cast iron for durability and generously proportioned for larger patios. Colour: Bronze Dimensions: (H)129, (W)55, (D)55cm Usage restrictions: For outdoor use only Assembly instructions: Self assembly Assembly instructions: 1 person recommended Weight: 11.5kg Safety details: Keep away from children. Suitable cover: La Hacienda Large Chimenea Cover (278588)
Average Customer Rating:
4.281 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
from 32 customer reviews
27 out of 32(84%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Review 1 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Slightly shoddy
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
27 June 2016.
This item was not as good quality as expected. The joints had gaps in them and there was a nut missing from one of the handles. I was able to find a nut the right size but this doesn't help when you have taken the product abroad to use.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Great value for money
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
15 June 2016.
I had seen this product in another well known DIY store which was a smaller version and then found this one in Homebase for much cheaper. It was easy to assemble and looks great in the garden. Gives off a lot of heat and looks great when lit up. Highly recommended.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Lovely
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
15 June 2016.
Pleased we chose this one (we were looking at smaller one), we got everyone sitting round it at the end of the night with it being big. It looks great too! Really happy with it.
The only criticism is that the lady in the store told us that even though the box had been taped up that everything would be in, guess what.... Yup, missing a leg! Popped back to store and they rectified the problem straight away. Fab!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
25 May 2016.
Looks lovely
Nice style
Good quality
Easy to put together
One person about 15-20 mins
Sturdy
Good price
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Good Quality
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
25 May 2016.
All parts arrived. It was easy to put together - the only downside was that the latch had been constructed the wrong way - but with a little engineering I redesigned it and it is now able to keep the door closed. It would benefit from information on what wood to use and/or how to keep it alight. I have bought wood - what I have been advised but it does not seem to be the right one - when lit it is very smoky before it calms down but then it only lasts about half an hour. Nice construction - fits excellently in my garden - yesterday sat out with it lit even when it got a bit cold.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Worth the effort
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
19 May 2016.
This product looks fantastic and once assembled does exactly what u'd expect, the only problem is the fiddly assembly, which takes far longer than I exp
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Excellent quality Chiminea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
14 April 2016.
Looked around for a nice looking Chiminea that was durable and reasonably priced. This fitted our criteria. It's nice looking, well made and being very robust it does exactly the job it should. Looks great in our garden!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Junk
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
04 July 2013.
reviewed this product several weeks ago, and obviously, as it was so scathing, it was not posted. long story short, went to homebase, saw a cast iron monterray chiminea on display, bought what i thought was it, turns out it wasn't much more than sheet tin, took it back, pointed out the misleading display and suggested it be removed or relabelled so that customers would be aware of what they were getting, went back two weeks later and it was still there on the shelf. Check the weight on the box before you buy, if it says 14kg, it's not a cast iron chiminea you're getting.
63 of 85 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Written by: Paco ,
Leeds
No lowe door to empty ashes
Posted 16 May 2015
Does not have a lower door to help empty out ashes from chimney.
Lousy design!
Customer Avatar
Written by: Buyer12345 ,
Leeds
Similar issues to junk comment
Posted 08 April 2015
Bought this item and used it for 2 weeks. Paint bubbled off item on 1st 2 burns. After two weeks all screws and joins rusted through. Entire burn bowl rusted. Seriously bad paint job as not high enough heat rating. Screws are cheap and can't deal with a no rain period of two weeks before oxidising.
I wouldn't touch with a barge pole. Looks nice lasts a week and then a rust chiminea.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
you won't beet homebase
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
30 June 2013.
Hi me being Scottish I've looked everywhere for the best value for money on a chimenea on the internet .
The Monterrey is just what we were looking for and the best price so don't bother looking any more just buy this one in "HOMEBASE YOU DON'T HAVE TO GO ANYWHERE ELSE FOR THIS...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
14 of 32 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
MONTERREY CHIMENEA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
25 June 2013.
Went to local Newton Abbot Homebase on the off chance they might have have any decent chimeneas to see nearly closing time on a Sunday saw the Monterrey Spoke to an assistant who said he would check if they had any left. Now 16.10 hrs (closed 10 minutes earlier) he came back five minutes later with our chimenea. One hour later (we live 10 miles from shop) assembled 30 minutes later up and running. It is absolutely great, had to wait for the initial burning off of the paint smell but after that sat on the patio on the hammock and just enjoyed the view and warmth. It is very well made and easy to assemble, takes two to move safely, looks the business. We are very impressed even more so as they had 15% off on the Sunday when we bought it. Well done Homebase 5 stars for product and 5 stars for your customer service
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Ok Quality - bit fiddly to build....
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
28 May 2013.
Easy to assemble with two people!!
As expected from any product these days not all screw holes lined up so a bit of fiddling was required, well quite a lot!!
Screws fixing large chimney part to base went right through holes, as they were too big, so we swapped some washers around.
The hinge to fix the door on was completely missing from box, so had to return to Homebase next day for new one, they gave us one off display model.
Not really cast iron, very thin metal. Not too sure how long it will last, definately get a cover!!
Looks good in garden though. Wouldn't have purchased at full price but on discount days not too bad??
Yet to light it as its been raining eversince we got the door hinge thing fixed!!
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
oh dear
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
30 March 2013.
as a engineering craftsman I am actually quite ashamed that i (against my better judgement) bought this item, it is,at best, absolute tat, barely worth half the price!!!!!! as for the cast iron description, this thing is fabricated from pressed thin gauge steel painted to simulate a cast iron finish, to be fair the three legs are cast but thats your lot! also no air flow vent to regulate air into the coals to control burning so difficult to get started too. all in all poor i should have resisted and bought a real one fit for purpose, my own fault for being impatient!!!!!!!!!!!!!! at least i got 15% off and a few nectar points, mmmmm small consolation. i suppose i could put some plants in it !!!!!!!!!!!!! oh dear poor quality can turn a guy quite bitter.!
52 of 57 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: disapointed ,
shrewsbury
La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Posted 11 May 2016
i agree made out of steel poor quality i purchased one today got it home opened the box looked at the contents checked quality closed the box taking t back tomorrow for a full refund
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
06 August 2012.
Really nice quality, easy to put together and very sturdy.
Have only used it a few times so far thanks to the wet weather but it does put out a nice amount of heat. The last time we used it we even cooked baked potatoes in the bottom which turned out really nice : )
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
good value
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
04 July 2012.
We bought this chimenea and it was just as I expected,it was quite easy to assemble, looks good and does the job that it was bought for.
Good value for the money we paid.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Excellent
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
11 May 2012.
Gives off plenty of heat very quickly after lightening and a small amount of wood lasts a long time
Use hide work gloves when feeding wood or opening or closing the door to avoid burns
14 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
as expected
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 May 2012.
love our new chimenea the only problem is we have only used it once due to the awful weather!!!!
Review 17 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Excellent
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
09 May 2012.
Excellent Quality, Easy to put together and a worthwhile purchase, makes the patio area nice and warm in the evening (when its not raining!). Only down side is that its quite a smokey affair but we need to investigate different fuels I think. Looks great too.
Review 18 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
A brilliant addition to any garden
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
21 September 2011.
This chiminea is excellent value. If you want to add to the ambiance of your garden - you need one of these. On late summer evenings many an hour can be lost staring into 'it's belly' watching flames dance. In the autumn when the chill of the air hits you in the evening, you can spend endless hours entertaining friends in the garden without having to retreat indoors.
Above all this chiminea is sturdy, ellegant and incredibly ornamental with its rounded lines.
Practicality has been clearly though out by the designer as this chiminea has a hinged door allowing one to open and close it with ease - unluke others on the market that have doors which lift on and off.
In short - A brilliant and innovative design.
17 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Big sturdy
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
20 September 2011.
Easy to assemble unlike other chimineas, huge area for heat logs and not much smoke escapes making for a lovely crackling fire.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for La Hacienda Monterrey Chimenea
Great Buy
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
19 September 2011.
Great at night when the sun goe's down and you still have the glow of a warm fire to sit at really good buy and would highly recommend .
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>