Homebase Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Home of Colour Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L

Home of Colour Matt Emulsion creates a non-reflective finish which is ideal for hiding minor marks and imperfections Colour: Magnolia Size: 10L Coverage (per litre): 13sq m Coverage per tin: 130sq m Effects and finish: Matt Usage: Walls and ceilings Suitable surfaces: Multi surface Number of coats recommended: 2 Drying time: Touch dry in 2 hours Time to recoat: 4 hours Interior exterior usage: Suitable for interior use Coverage disclaimer: Coverage is dependent on the kind of surface being painted and should be used as a guide only
Average Customer Rating:
4.202 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
66
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
11
from 109 customer reviews
91 out of 109(83%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend
Sort reviews by: Customer Reviews for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Review 1 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
magnolia
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
15 June 2016.
great coverage. Easy to apply.
Review 2 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Magnolia
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
04 May 2016.
This value product appears to work just as well as one twice the price. The colour is more of a lemon Magnolia than Peach, which is perfect for my requirement. I have used this product before and the left over from my last tin seemed as good as the new tin even after 2 years of indoor storage.
Review 3 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Cheap and Cheerful
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
13 April 2016.
On moving out of rented accommodation in which we had painted the walls red (of all colours), we needed to repaint the room back to it's original magnolia. I walked into homebase and asked the man for a large amount of cheap and cheerful Magnolia, expecting to have to put about 4 coats on to cover the deep red, and he presented me with this. I was incredibly impressed to find that 2 coats was all that was needed to cover up the red, and I still have a ridiculous amount now left over! When first painting, the colour appears more of a gross beige and you can clearly see the colour you're trying to cover up through the wet paint. Fear not, when it dries, it becomes a lovely neutral creamy magnolia, just right for rented spaces.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Excellent value
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
18 August 2015.
This was a great product. Brilliant value and fab end result. Happy customer!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Excellent quality
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
21 May 2015.
would buy again, didn't expect to be a thick paint.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Good for the price
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
24 April 2015.
Good for the price and covers well.
Review 7 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Better than I expected
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By.
19 November 2014.
This is a budget paint and I expected a thin product which was OK as it was only being used as an undercoat. But it is really think, virtually non-drip and covers reasonably well - not as well as more expensive paints but better than I expected.
Excellent product for the price.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Location: United Kingdom
Really good quality!!
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
30 December 2013.
This paint is 'cheap as chips' to buy.....but I must say that its really good. I would suggest thinning slighty with water and mixing well to help with the rollering process,
Dont waste your money on more expensive options....its just not worth it!!
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Written by: kevin ,
chelmsford
great value
Posted 12 January 2014
This value emulsion is as good if not better than a lot of other more expensive emulsions it is thick and creamy and covers very good and easy clean brushes and rollers, I have been a painter and decorator for over thirty years so i know a decent paint when i see one
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Absolutely fantastic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
30 May 2013.
I do lots of decorating and bought this to decorate a huge rented flat, didn't expect much tbh and didn't wanted to spend a fortune. The walls were much the same colour but scuffed, stained, marked and generally tatty, thought I would have to give it 2 coats to smarten it all up. But I am hugely impressed with the results!! One coat did it all even using a value roller kit as well. Saved a fortune as I ended up using nearly 15 litres. I am SO impressed that I have bought some to decorate my own place.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Did the job
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
07 November 2012.
Bought this as I need a cheap paint to cover the walls.
Was happy with the end results and would buy this again.
Would recommend
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Other popular smart price paint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 September 2012.
If anyone is not impressed by this paint I suggest they either A. Try another supermarket smartly priced popular value brand or B: Use this product after learning how to paint walls using emulsion.
C: Go down the pub whilst a professional does the job for them and them complain about the price vs quality.
Excellent value in terms of coverage per litre and a fantastic finish.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
a very good emulsion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
05 September 2012.
This emulsion paint is great value for money and a single coat nearly always seems to be enough to get a good finish, it seems to be a high build emulsion
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
good price, good paint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 July 2012.
Did not expect this pain to be so good for the price. Really good buy
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Not impressed
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By.
04 July 2012.
Paint covered fairly well, but the colour is far to yellowish, not realy magnolia
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Poor quality
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
10 May 2012.
Whilst the paint was less expensive than 'branded' paint, it did not cover well and needed two additional coats to obtain an acceptable finish, therefore any saving was negated by the need to use more material and a lot more of my valuable time.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
disappointed
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By.
10 May 2012.
although this paint was cheap we had to use much more to get a good coverage,would have worked out better to pay more in the long run for a better quality paint
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Paint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 May 2012.
I applied this product to the wall so it covered the entire area and it turned the wall a magnolia colour.
Cant complain did exactly what I thought it would.
Cheap, cheerful and basic
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
exellent product
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 May 2012.
Exellent paint used about 10 large tubs in past three years
Review 19 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
value for money
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By.
09 May 2012.
covers well, colour was what we expected. 1 coat was all that we needed. Would buy again. Good with both roller and brush
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home of Colour Value Magnolia - Matt Emulsion Paint - 10L
Expect what you pay
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By.
05 April 2012.
Cheap quality paint. Like water and needed 5 coats to cover previous colour and still not done the job
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>